We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Absolute Backpackers Mission Beach

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Absolute Backpackers Mission Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 243: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Even for the relatively low price we found this backpackers to be very disappointing. Our stay wasn't off to a flyer as we discovered dirty sheets and towels on the springy uncomfortable bed. On request these were replaced but the poor cleaning standards extended to the kitchen and the toilet. In general the place looks very worn and in need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
bradabsolute, Manager at Absolute Backpackers Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi Ross Thank you for the feedback, I apologise that the standards were a little down on your visit. Unfortunately, you were here when we were really quite before we got busy for Xmas. I had more staff than guests. I was going through a change of staff. The staff live together so are close and may have seem a...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights here so we could do rafting and skydive! Mission Beach itself is a bit small and quiet but the beach is very pretty. Stinger nets so you can swim. The hostel is in a great location for the greyhound and also the woolworths/liquor shop. The town is further away but they offer a shuttle bus....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
Mission Beach, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We were originally booked to stay three nights but very quickly we cancelled the third night and decided to move down to Townsville earlier. Our room was at the front of the property and was disgusting. Cobwebs everywhere. Sheets stained. Bunk beds felt like they would collapse. No aircon so had one very warm sweaty night. I got bitten by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank becks773
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately Absolute backpackers wasn't the 'resort disguised as a hostel' as it claims to be. We had a 4 bed room for 3 people which was nice. However, we had no air con in our room, just a fan that didn't help at all. We were in what appeared to be an old garage room converted into a dorm. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Okay so we were looking for value for money so we booked this hostel because it was cheaper than our other alternatives. We were only there for one night but it suited us perfectly. It was a 3min walk from the greyhound bus stop, 5min walk to Woolworths and the hostel run free pick up and drop off to mission...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MollsB94
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend this hostel to all travellers! It was very clean, shuttle buses were great, staff were helpful and friendly. Free BBQ on Sunday wich was very scrumshous! Thank you for the lovely stay. X

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

6 of us in a 10 bed dorm. Check in was ok with staff being helpful and welcoming. Room was very warm as only one fan to cool a large, high ceiling room. Insects crawling around the rooms and surrounding area is something that needs looked at..I think it is a result of a poorly followed cleaning schedule. Plus points,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bossman88
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Absolute backpackers is by far the most amazing place to stay in mission beach with great cleanliness helpful and super fun staff a free bbq on a Sunday a fully equipped kitchen a pool and so much more it's an absolute must

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here twice in quick succession in a double room with shared bathroom. Rooms were small, but adequate and air conditioned with ceiling fans. Shared kitchen is ample to prepare meals, though could be improved with some more cutlery. There are heaps of stove tops available, so no need to queue to prepare food. One fridge was out of service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mongol_Bear
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

It's a great hostel. There're a lot of free activities like free shuttlebus or free bbq. The stuff is also friendly and anything is clean. I stayed about 3 nights in a 4 bedroom. The kitchen is used but very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sascha P

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
8.2 km away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
147 reviews
1.2 km away
Scotty's Mission Beach YHA
Scotty's Mission Beach YHA
#12 of 24 in Mission Beach
197 reviews
3.0 km away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach
1.0 km away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 6 in Wongaling Beach
117 reviews
0.2 km away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Mission Beach
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shhh...A Resort disguised as a Hostel... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Absolute Backpackers Mission Beach

Address: 28 Wongaling Beach Rd, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia (Formerly Mission Beach Backpackers Lodge)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Price Range: $41 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Absolute Backpackers Mission Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Absolute Backpackers Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Absolute Backpackers Mission Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I slept in a van in the carpark. it was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles BrunswickFisherman, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“great for group travellers or travellers wanting to meet new people”
 of 5 bubbles bellebond1994, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with AC, Do a skydive!”
 of 5 bubbles geroge4982, 23 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Best hostel”
 of 5 bubbles travelistheway2015, 21 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Ask if they have a room with air con as it is very humid up here :) Otherwise they hostel is nice :)”
 of 5 bubbles 983piam, 2 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay