We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

De Vere Wokefield Estate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Vere Wokefield Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,768 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,752: English reviews
Start your review of De Vere Wokefield Estate
 Click to rate
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

Great thing about this hotel was all on paper. Booked through groupon and thought the package was good value but ended up being a disappointing stay. Stayed in the mansion house for two nights. Lift out of order for our stay which meant it was a real struggle getting bags up two flights of stairs. Free coffee station was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chh89
Reviewed today NEW

So just before i get into this i want to say that as a 24 year old i have had a lot of experiences in terms of visiting different venues and hotels.This is the first occasion where i felt writing a review was necessary and earned.I myself looked at reviews of the hotel before hand to find a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ridgo58
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a 2 night stay through Groupon as a surprise for my husbands 30th birthday. We were welcomed by happy and polite staff. Our room was very spacious with a glorious view of the grounds. We had a bottle of wine in ice waiting for us in our room. Our dinner was spectacular! 2 courses and it was enough....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jadejasonchapman
Howard L, General Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to send in your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us at De Vere Wokefield Estate. I am so pleased you and your husband enjoyed your stay and do hope your husband had a wonderful 30th Birthday. I am very pleased to hear you found our staff happy, polite and welcoming...

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked direct on De Vere website for a birthday & valentines one night break a week before we stayed in the Winter Sale + got an extra 10% off for joining loyalty club. We had a delux room in the Management centre overlooking the rear golf course; newly refurbished, clean and luxury zip n link King bed with fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig T
Howard L, General Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to send in your valued and detailed feedback regarding your recent return visit to De Vere Wokefield Estate. I am so pleased this stay lived up to your previous experiences and you enjoyed staying in one of our newly built Executive Centre deluxe bedrooms overlooking the golf course. I have to agree...

Wallingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a bargain package (under £100) for 1 night which included a double suite in the mansion building, a bottle of wine on arrival, a 2 course meal for 2 people and full buffet breakfast.On paper this sounds excellent. We had requested a room with a view, unfortunately our view was over the car park and towards the BMW...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daviesrusu
Howard L, General Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to send in your valued and important feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you expected to due to the view out of your suite and the rather disappointing meal experience, but i am pleased to hear...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately not a pleasant stay. All rooms (conference and bedrooms) seemed to be either really cold or really hot. Same applies for the shower. The pool and gym are both tiny. Gym equipment was totally inadequate. One evening I had to call the restaurant 8 times to get room service as it kept ringing out. Food is average at best....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mitesh C
Howard L, General Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and found the temperature inconsistent in the rooms and showers and our 17 x 6 metre pool and gym too small. I also apologise that you had...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I really enjoyed my recent stay here for many reasons, all of which were positive. The room was clean and spacious, the food was lovely and the team were engaging and polite. Special mention to Barry for walking me to the exec centre so I didn't get lost!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seoirse1983
Howard L, General Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to send in your review re your recent stay at De Vere Wokefield Estate. I am so pleased to hear you found your room to be clean and spacious, the food lovely and our team engaging and polite. I have shared your feedback with my team and can confirm Barry has been...

Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our night away didn't start well as there was a problem with our Delux room. The staff handled the issue quickly and professionally and moved us to a far better room plus a nice bottle of wine so we were well impressed. Clever move giving us a bottle of wine mid afternoon as we were not fit to venture out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
Howard L, General Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at De Vere Wokefield Estate. I am so pleased to hear that you found our staff professional and efficient and you are definitely coming back to revisit us soon, despite some minor issues which were dealt with quickly and to your satisfaction. When you are ready...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were attending a birthday party and stayed in the mansion house We were very disappointed by the standard of our room The room was very cold and the air conditioning when adjusted did very little to change that. The bathrooms overhead shower was a hit and miss affair with the jets coming out at every possible angle except the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
Howard L, General Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was most concerned to read about the challenges you experienced with the heating your bedroom and bathroom fittings and condition. I can assure you that I have personally followed up with our chief engineer who has looked at all points raised. Thank...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary in December. When we got there we had to prove our reservation as they did not believe us-very rude and unhelpful. Our room was nice apart from the fact the beds where fitted incorrectly and could not sleep next to my Husband. The restaurants in both venues were closed all weekend for functions and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhoda86
Howard L, General Manager at De Vere Wokefield Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I believe a member of our team has been personally in contact with you and I am disappointed to read that the resolution offered was not to your satisfaction. I still do hope that you will reconsider your decision, and allow us...

422 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (405)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (151)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Mortimer
32.8 km away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,372 reviews
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Reading South Hotel
5.0 km away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
1,680 reviews
5.4 km away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
9.2 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 32 in Reading
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park blends the charm of a traditional mansion house hotel in Reading with the amenities of a modern executive centre to offer a fabulous choice of accommodation and superb leisure facilities, including a US PGA-standard 7,000-yard championship golf course, boasting elevated tees and nine lakes for the ultimate golfing challenge. As you would imagine with 250 acres of landscaped grounds, outdoor activities are well catered for at Wokefield. From weddings to business events, our Wokefield Park venue is perfectly equipped to fit your every need. Wokefield Park is a great base to explore Berkshire with its many attractions and places of interest and is easily accessible from the M4 and close to Reading for direct trains from London, making Wokefield Park an obvious choice of hotels in Berkshire. It is with regret that the Wokefield Park Mansion House Spa is closed until further notice. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Wokefield Estate

Address: Goodboys Lane, Stratfield Mortimer RG7 3AE, England (Formerly De Vere Wokefield Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stratfield Mortimer
Price Range: $103 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Vere Wokefield Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your De Vere Wokefield Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Wokefield Park Hotel Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Wokefield Estate staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Wokefield Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Free tea & coffee, fruit & biscuits facilities in the public areas. Free parking.”
 of 5 bubbles 479craigt, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing out to the front of the mansion will have a pleasant view.”
  • Our suite viewed from the bathroom and looking towards the bedroom
 of 5 bubbles daviesrusu, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“202 in the Mansion house”
 of 5 bubbles stevenp925, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The only tip I can give is not room 143.”
 of 5 bubbles flashcat61, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose end-corridor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Sergeant1980, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5