We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 123: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 30 September 2015

The good: the hotel is over a 100 years old; located just blocks away from the DAM, The Denver library, the Colorado History Museum, among others; the room is cheap, clean and very simple, staff were nice, and within walking distance of good eating places: Dj's Cafe, Burgerfi, and Brennan's Pub. The Bad: There is a nightclub directly across the...

1Thank Almaz A
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for a balanced review. I am glad that you enjoyed the location and all that we have to offer in the surrounding neighborhood, it can be both culturally vibrant with a million things to do, and it can also be culturally vibrant with things that are not your speed and I understand that. That diversity is what makes...

Reviewed 29 September 2015

We loved this place for its location, in walking distance from great food, art, history and views. Airport shuttles or buses are convenient. I will warn though, it isn't for everyone: it is primarily a hostel, and very basic. Heat in the winter but no air conditioning in summer (there are fans in every room though). No maid service during...

2Thank Mary N
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, your review shows that you are exactly the type of value minded customer we strive to attract and please. Because of the value pricing of our Hotel/Hostel we are not like the pricier chain's, and we don't have the frills that one may or may not use, thank you for recognizing that. I hope that your travels are...

Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

This accommodation is more hostel than hotel, so if you are expecting a hostel, you will be fine. The rooms are sparsely furnished but they are clean. My room was a bit noisy that is to the air conditioner outside, but it was a continuous noise so I could sleep. I probably would have given this a more negative review...

1Thank Elizabeth B
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, yes we are more of a Hostel than a Hotel and we provide an economical stay thus the opening of windows to let a fresh breeze in the room. I will let the staff know that you found them helpful, that is what we strive to provide. Thanks again for choosing us for your stay in Denver Colorado.

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

If you want to be treated like garbage, go to this hotel. The night lady screamed and cursed at us while my 5 month old son was sleeping strapped to me. When we told her she was rude and that our baby was sleeping, she got in my face and screamed more, then threatened to call the cops and told...

7Thank babylovefamilytime
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, that is a scathing post. I really do not know how best to respond. I would like to know what the simple misunderstanding was that led to this was. I will investigate as best I can.

Reviewed 2 September 2015

We booked a private room (unfortunately only had the shared bath option). We had tours planned all day so didn't want to spend above a 100$/night just to sleep in.. Yes sleep is all we wanted. Out of the 3 nights we didn't get a wink of sleep on any of the nights, because of loud thumping music blasting from...

2Thank Ambience B
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that some of your expectations went unmet, this is not what we strive for. I see that you found us clean, convenient, and a good staff, as far as the nightlife, and the heat I am sorry that those items were less than what you expected. We are working on those items and hope to have...

Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Was a little nervous after reading reviews. No air conditioning a big minus first day there but next nights were cool enough. Never stayed in room in daytime, too much to do in Denver sovwe were gone til dark. Great location, one block to bus. Coffee shops, good bar right around corner, library up the street. Had a room with...

Thank jusyelf
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a chance on us and being surprised that we actually were worth your investment. I am glad you found us safe, clean, great staff, and an unbeatable location. We will never rest in trying to meet these expectations from our guests. Thanks again.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2015

I had a 'European' style room, room with sink and public washrooms down the hall. This is not a high end hotel, but if you are on a budget, and have experience with budget hotels, this is a good one. Staff is friendly, it's reasonably clean, and it's efficiently run. No air conditioning, another typical budget hotel detail, but the...

Thank RichardfromToronto
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing. We are a budget hotel and trying to provide a good value for your stays. We have now placed fans in the rooms instead at the front desk, thank you. Our staff thanks you for the mention of them as well. Thank you again.

Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with my adult daughter. We had a private with bunk beds and sink. It never dawned on me being from the south that Denver shared 98 degree temps and it was "sweltering" in the room. There was no ceiling fan, but a small table fan. My mattress was covered in plastic so it was so much worst. They...

1Thank ttmb
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your stay with your daughter. The new mattresses that the hotel just installed do incorporate a protective cover, topped by a mattress pad, and then a top sheet to protect our guests from any unwanted visitors. Thank you for seeing the value we have to offer, and I apologize for the items that were...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 19 August 2015

SRO would be a better term for this place than a hostel. Had to take a single room as the dorm spaces were full. $50 for a room with no air-conditioning, not even a fan on a 90 degree night with a window that opened on to a noisy alley way. Non functioning power outlets. Needless to say I will...

1Thank JMLReview
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a reply, I ask that if there is a concern in a room like a power outlet, please let the front desk know so we can fix the guests concern. We have since placed fans in each room where they used to be available at the front desk for anyone who asked. Sorry that we did...

Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed in a private room, shared facilities (probably with 50 others) ...... A bed that had some kind of plastic sheet, I just laid on top of the covers. A window only half covered by a blind, the lower portion opaque glass, nice silhouettes being cast onto the busy street outside. No A/C really hot, but GIANT fans roaring in...

2Thank tomtraubert
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the reply, we do try to keep the hotel as cool as possible by employing fans to move hot air out of the building. Our new mattresses do have a protective cover for guest safety to prevent any undesirables, and are then covered by a mattress pad, then a fitted sheet for your comfort. Please let us...

261 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (17)
Room/Suite (4)
Bathroom (2)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (9)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (231)
Amenities (38)
Double Twin Room (19)
European (20)
Female Dorm (30)
In Suite (20)
Shower In Suite (21)
Six Bed Dorm (31)
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (13)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Room/Suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
1.4 km away
Ramada Denver Downtown
Ramada Denver Downtown
#94 of 150 in Denver
1,233 reviews
12.8 km away
The Timbers Hotel
The Timbers Hotel
#93 of 150 in Denver
301 reviews
0.8 km away
TownePlace Suites Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Denver - Cherry Creek
3.7 km away
La Quinta Inn Denver Central
5.5 km away
Quality Inn Central Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 11th Avenue Hotel and Hostel caters to travelers from every corner of the world. We strive to provide a clean, safe and economical place to reside while visiting Denver. Our goal is that you will not find a better value for the same money anywhere else. We have male and female dorm rooms to provide a bed for your head and a locker for your valuables at very little cost to you. If you are looking for a more private room, try our European Rooms. These are private rooms with a double bed and a common shared restroom in the hall. If you want a private restroom, our ensuite rooms are for you. These provide a double bed and a private restroom. We have a community room for you to meet fellow travelers going hinder and yon, and being in the heart of Downtown Denver, we are within walking distance of almost everything. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel

Address: 1112 N Broadway, Denver, CO 80203-2107
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Capitol Hill
Price Range: $55 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
11th Avenue Hotel And Hostel
11th Avenue Hotel Denver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hostel Dorm is very clean!!”
 of 5 bubbles uglyduckling3456, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Free parking on street after 5 pm”
 of 5 bubbles iseult72petunia, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Away from the main road!”
 of 5 bubbles Pawlok, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you're on a budget, go for a dorm room”
 of 5 bubbles JemSC123, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask if room has amenities you may specifically need like a shower, bathtub etc. If noise sensitive ask for room NOT on the Broadway side.”
 of 5 bubbles Magickraque, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay