We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

O-Bar-O Cabins

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
O-Bar-O Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 435: English reviews
Start your review of O-Bar-O Cabins
 Click to rate
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 3 March 2017

All the comforts of home, plus the luxuries of a 4-star hotel, and your four-legged family members are just as pampered as you are. Great location, 10 minutes from downtown Durango and all of its amenities. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiltonsMom
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. All the comforts of home is important when traveling and we try to make special for you. I know Milton liked it too! See you next time......with more scones......

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Where do we begin? O-Bar-o was simply perfect. My wife and I found like by chance while looking for a get away. With two weeks notice, we had a cabin (birds nest) booked. The cabin itself was extremely clean and well kept. Decorations really made us feel at home. Everything you need is right in the cabin - from towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShaneHD
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this review

Blob had fun too! Thank you for the awesome review. We had too much fun visiting while you were here. It was serendipitous that you found us and we had availablity when you were looking to stay. I think we were the ones that ended up on the better side of that arrangement! Can't wait for your return visit.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

O Bar O was such a perfect spot! It was so beautiful and the cabin was just perfect for our family! There were five of us. We loved our entire visit and will def go back! There was tons of brewery's with great food! The hot springs were great. We took the kids sledding at a nearby place called Chapman...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review! We have to agree that there is tons to do around here both in the winter and summer. Can't wait to see you again!

Frankfort, Kansas
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This is a wonderful place. Quiet, calm, relaxing, comfortable. I can't say enough how beautiful the area is, the cabins and the scenery. The cabin was perfect, cozy and couldn't have been more comfortable. Very clean. Well stocked with thoughtful amenities - like homemade cookies upon our arrival. You need to put this wonderful place on your bucket list. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CherylShepherd1
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome review! It is wonderful to hear that you had a relaxing time. One of our tag lines is Relaxation has an address....We enjoyed your visit and hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 27 November 2016

I've never done a TripAdvisor review, but this place is so special to me that I want to write something! In 2010, my husband and I discovered O-Bar-O cabins and immediately fell in love with everything about it. The cabin is decorated in such a fashion that I wished I could ditch the kids and live in it forever. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennica C
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this review

Hardly the Griswald's! I think you and the kids should ditch Texas and come stay here. We always enjoy having you here. Watching the kids grow up is a treat, as well. I do have to say the animals were in a bit of a funk after the kids left! Thanks for the review. We appreciate it! We can't wait...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

My sister and I spent 3 nights in Riverview for my birthday. It was perfect! The cabins are an approx 15-20 minute drive from the heart of Durango. The cabin itself was wonderful - heaps of room for the 2 of us, with a large back deck with a bbq/griller. The hot tub was only 50 metres from our backdoor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ozziegirlz
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this review

You said it all! We aim to please and make sure your stay is the best it can be. Mike and I are always happy to come help what ever the problem or time might be....Well, I might be a little groggy at 2 in the morning! Thanks for taking the time for the review. We enjoyed having you stay....

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

A last minute find! Just wish we could have had more time to spend in this wonderful part of the woods! Cabin was perfect! Very very clean, comfortable, and beautifully furnished. Beautiful trout stream flowing beside cabin...nothing else needed....perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this review

We are so glad you found us! Thanks for the great review. Music to my ears to hear nothing else needed. As I have said before, that is my goal. Next time you can spend a few extra days, right?

East Rockaway, New York
Reviewed 21 October 2016

My husband and I stayed here last week in the Chipmunk Cabin. Our unit was part of a duplex in the cabin; there were about four or five cabins on the property. You can see the care and pride that was taken in the appointments in the cabin, from the lush linens, the toiletries, the beautiful cabin decorations the cozy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this review

I couldn't have said it better myself! We try to make sure you don't need anything and can simply enjoy the soothing sounds of the river. We want you to rest, relax and rejuvenate while you are at the O-Bar-O. Thanks for the review!

Reviewed 19 October 2016

We had such a wonderful stay at O-Bar-O! Needed a respite, and this was the perfect place. Cabins right on the river...not crowded. Mike and Maria do a great job and are very welcoming. Short drive to Durango or Vallecito Reservoir. I've been coming to this area for 50 yrs...will plan to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! I told all the other guests to be quiet while you were here! No, not really. It is the river that makes us all calm and tranquil. We are glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you next year.

Reviewed 11 October 2016

O-Bar-O Cabins was not our first choice for a place to stay near Durango. Nor was it our second…nor even fifth! We had a set timeframe for our getaway and finding a cabin in nature was extremely difficult. I tried to make an online reservation with O-Bar-O and was asked to call since the cabin I wanted (the least expensive)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron K
obaro, Owner at O-Bar-O Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and for the suggestions. We appreciate them very much. We have looked into the lights on the sign. They currently work but are dim. We have ordered new ones to make sure everyone can see us! What can I say about the Wi-Fi. We are in the middle of the mountains so we don't have...

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (223)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
0:27
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
18.2 km away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
431 reviews
19.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
18.2 km away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
18.0 km away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 33 in Durango
254 reviews
18.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rustic cabins under the clear Colorado sky. Deer and elk roaming through nearby alpine meadows. Tall pine trees stretching to the horizon. Cool mountain streams bubbling with trout. The O-BAR-O Cabins, situated on the Florida River, has all of this and more. Located just outside Durango, we're a stone's throw from the national forest, two large lakes, and horse trail rides. Plus we have the best trout fishing you'll find in these parts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O-Bar-O Cabins

Address: 11998 County Road 240, Florida Road, Durango, CO 81301
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Price Range: $222 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
o-Bar-o Cabins Hotel Durango
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O-Bar-O Cabins staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Otorohanga, Waikato, New Zealand
TEXAS
7 months ago
TEXAS
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from O-Bar-O Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are amazing. We've stayed in most of them.”
397jennicac, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't think you can go wrong with any choice.”
MicheleWarren, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Several of the cabins are pet friendly...welcoming.”
969bethg, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Ponderosa is the one we like.”
BUDCARTER, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all seemed to be good.”
juliev9162016, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5