We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hideaway Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arugam Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hideaway Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 319: English reviews
Start your review of Hideaway Resort
 Click to rate
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arty chalets among tree laden garden, but far too pricey for the facilities offered. We would rate this hotel two stars at the most. Not beach front either. It's on the land side and even the beach on the opposite side across the road is used as a landing spot for fishing boats and cannot be used for swimming. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank totsym
Sharon A, Owner at Hideaway Resort, responded to this review

My sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. Just to set the record straight we do not advertise being on the beach, nor do we rate ourselves with any stars! We are a B&B that is evolving into a hotel, as such our category on tripadvisor. I suggest you speak to the Tourist Board about doing something about the beach...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a great time at Hideaway. I loved the place. It had a rustic style architecture and furnishing that I like. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They attended to all my requests promptly and helped me with my sightseeing and activities in the area. Some of the staff came with me for a sunset swim and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rjfernando
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Looking at the Hideaway Resort pictures on the website, the place look absolutely magnificent. But when I went there, what I saw was the most disgusting place I have seen, catering to the tourists. The caretaker/Manager, took me to show two Chalets. Both were very depressing, dirty, bed linen & towels, looked used or never washed, had two wooden windows,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gamkula
Sharon A, Owner at Hideaway Resort, responded to this review

Please scroll down to a review of January 1st, read the review and my response. Not sure why you have it in for us, however you belonged to the same party and are on a slandering kick! Firstly we DO NOT advertise beach front: we are not into deceiving our customers. Your comment of catering to "tourists" is simply misinformed....

Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hideaway was a great first beach stop for us! Can't say enough about the people, the food and the hospitality! We stayed in a cute stand alone bungalow with an open air bathroom. Our room had A/C as well. The place was cute the pool was nice and the food was excellent but the people are what make this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cera206
Sharon A, Owner at Hideaway Resort, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure having the two of you stay with us at Hideaway and thank you ever so much for taking the time to give us a shout out. I am thrilled that you had such a good time and hope to see you again in our neck of the woods sooner than later. We hope the rest...

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Out of season so quiet and couldn't comment on the difference in high season, our hosts where laid back and really friendly happy to chat or leave you to your own devices. Staff where attentive and friendly, food was outstanding and reasonably priced for what you got. Near to beach and in the heart of the town but really felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoepross
Sharon A, Owner at Hideaway Resort, responded to this review

Such a pleasure to have you stay and Thank You for your review. Hope to see you back in the Bay in the not too distant future and do stay for a tad longer the next time around. Would have loved for you to have discovered the true beauty of the Bay, but trust you will be back after your...

Europe
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We stayed at this hotel last summer and had a really bad experience. The woman at the front dest was really unkind and arrogant. We were given rooms in the "hotel" which are actually not rooms at all. They didn't have closed walls which meant we were awake until late due to the loud music in the bar and had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DappereReiziger
Sharon A, Owner at Hideaway Resort, responded to this review

Its so evident that you cant please all of the people all of the time!! My sincere apologies that you had such a bad experience at Hideaway. Our main bungalow was built in 1978 when there was no electricity in the bay and as such has a wall which is a wooden lattice that leads to a common balcony. It...

Paris, France
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We chose one of the double cabanas & decided to extend our stay from 5 to 8 days. While not on the sandy beach, but just on the other side of the road, it is probably the best place to stay in Arugam Bay. Gorgeous, spacious, immaculate & very comfortable cabana with an overhead fan and a/c, set amidst lush...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hima D
Sharon A, Owner at Hideaway Resort, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for choosing to stay at Hideaway and for taking the time to review us. I am sorry I was not here to meet you, but so glad the staff and my folks took good care of you. I do hope you will return to the bay when it is a bit busier when you can...

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

I stayed here last June after being recommended it if travelling alone - my sister and I had arranged to meet in Sri Lanka to do a safari but stay solo either side of our trip. We both felt very safe and looked after at Hideaway and happily wiled away most evenings at the bar chatting to the lovely Tavish,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LittleLoudLucy
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The entire hotel and premises had a bad odor (smelt of old fish). The rooms were not at all maintained and not cleaned. There were gecko droppings all over the room and the linen and nets were stained. Even the towels smelt musty. The soap in the bathroom looked to have been bitten into by rats during the night. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Channagn
Sharon A, Owner at Hideaway Resort, responded to this review

This is such an inaccurate review, it is not even funny. You went into the bungalow that was assigned to you for all of 5 minutes and it was not to your liking. My manager seeing your dissatisfaction took you across the street immediately and checked you in there as theirs is a standard hotel room. We transferred the funds...

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Myself and my partner went here just for breakfast and this is one hell-of-a classy joint. So stylish and perfectly run. We had amazing pancakes here. Leafy, quiet, eco friendly, beautifully decorated. Very well trained staff. Top notch and not wildly expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FolkestoneTripper
Sharon A, Owner at Hideaway Resort, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for dropping in for a meal and giving us a shout out. Delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast and everything else we had on offer. Do come back and perhaps next time, enjoy more of our facilities. Hope the rest of your trip in Sri Lanka was fantastic. Warm Regards from the Bay!

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arugam Bay hotels
0.8 km away
Upali Beach Surf Resort
Upali Beach Surf Resort
#3 of 11 in Arugam Bay
63 reviews
1.0 km away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Arugam Bay
210 reviews
0.4 km away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 11 in Arugam Bay
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 11 in Arugam Bay
77 reviews
0.1 km away
Arugambay Surf Resort
Arugambay Surf Resort
#7 of 11 in Arugam Bay
122 reviews
0.6 km away
East Surf Cabanas
East Surf Cabanas
#5 of 11 in Arugam Bay
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Hideaway, we are small enough to get to know you personally and big enough to give you room to breathe. We've opened the doors of this magical place we've lovingly called home for 30 years and we invite you to join us here and discover its very special charm. Hideaway is primarily a family owned and run entity and has its own distinct personality and style of service and is not for everyone. The relaxed and homely atmosphere has a certain panache and all our guests receive sensitive and personalised attention. Hideaway comprises 14 rooms in total: four double rooms and one triple room within the main villa, three family bungalows, four double bungalows and two air-conditioned double rooms - all discretely situated within the resort's gardens, furnished with a rustic charm that will nourish your mind and soul. We are now delighted to provide our guests with facilities for wellness and healing. We have added a pool, yoga pavilion and treatment center - the latter two operate daily during the season. Let us feed your body too! The quality of our cuisine is renowned for miles around and we are proud to share it with our guests and visitors. Our inviting restaurant, open for a relaxed breakfast, lunch and dinner, delivers the finest gastronomic encounters, courtesy of Sharon and her skilled team and carefully selected ingredients. Whatever your reason for visiting Arugam Bay, we have the knowledge and a whole host of local contacts to ensure you make the most of your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hideaway Resort

Address: Ulle, Arugam Bay 32500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay
Number of rooms: 14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hideaway Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hideaway Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We happened to be there while the neighbors were doing construction but it wasn't that bad.”
  • View from our room on a rainy day
  • Front door
  • ceiling
  • Cool painting on the door to our Bungalow
  • Sunset with the crew
  • Our window
  • Our cute bungalow!
cera206, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we used 3 rooms 2 doubles and a single and they were all quiet and comfortable”
zoepross, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in the hotel! If possible book a chalet.”
DappereReiziger, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If possible, choose 1 of the cabanas instead of a room in the main house”
HimaD_13, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you stay in the main house try to get one of the end rooms so you get the breeze”
LittleLoudLucy, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5