We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Inn at the Lake

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Inn at the Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Bella Vista
Reviewed 8 October 2016

My wife and I have been lots of places in our many years together, but our visit to the "Inn at the Lake" was the ultimate relaxing experience! Just the view from the deck as I drank my morning cup of coffee made it first class! The beauty of the lake, the mountains, everything! And a walk up the county...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rickstrack46
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

David & Rosie Whitelock are gracious hosts. They can point you to all the great outdoor activities that Lake City offers. They serve a hot & hearty breakfast. The Inn looks out over Lake San Cristobal and gorgeous mountain scenery. Open for business May to September.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
innatthelake, Owner at The Inn at the Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for coming to be with us in these gorgeous mountains. We look forward to having you here again very soon. We were so pleased to get to know you.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 8 September 2016

One of the most painted scenes in North America can be seen out the window of all rooms at the Inn at the Lake, Colorado. That is just the tip of the mountain... Not only is the scenery superb, but the air is crisp and clean. Enough about the atmosphere. The real reason to book a room here is to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael1955-A
innatthelake, Owner at The Inn at the Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for coming to be with us and for your kind words describing the Inn. We DO love what we do: making people feel like they are "at home" in the mountains. We wake up everyday thanking God we get to live in such a gorgeous place and that we get to share it with our guests. We look forward...

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

More like a B&B, the Whitelocks welcome all guests to their small inn as family. With their experience running a Christian youth camp for many years, this does feel more like a retreat house than mere accommodations. The inspirational messages given at breakfast (and what a big, diverse, breakfast it is!), match the uplifting setting of the inn by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank victoria s
innatthelake, Owner at The Inn at the Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such an encouraging review of the Inn. We were very glad you came to stay for a while so you could unplug from your world and relax for a bit in this beautiful setting. We are sorry about the televisions but cannot find any company who will provide service since the cable company...

Canton, Texas
Reviewed 18 August 2016

This was our first time to stay at The Inn at the Lake and it was probably the best place we have every stayed. It is right beside Lake San Cristobal with a beautiful view. It is a small lodge with only 10 rooms which make it very nice and peaceful. The host "David and Rosie" are some of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MickeyandBonnie
innatthelake, Owner at The Inn at the Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. We sure were glad you came to be with us so we could share these beautiful mountains with you. We look forward to having you back next summer. Until then...we'll save you a place at the campfire!

Oklahoma
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We spent 5 nights in the scenic and friendly lodge run by Whitelock Ministries. David and Rosie Whitelock and the volunteer staff were extraordinarily friendly and gracious. The inn is situated at the north end of Lake San Cristobol and is at the southeastern end of the Alpine Loop, an extraordinarily beautiful dirt and primitive road loop that traverses mountain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snsokstan
innatthelake, Owner at The Inn at the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you came to stay with us. We are deep in the mountains so can't do much about the internet and phone reception. Still we hope it is good to get away from it all for a few days to just enjoy this amazing country and our incredible view. The 8:30...

Cypress, Texas
Reviewed 3 August 2016

David, Rosie and the volunteers go above and beyond to make your stay special. You can't help but feel like you have new family members when you leave the B&B! No, there's no tv but who needs it? Time should be spent outside enjoying the beauty that God surrounds the inn with. I personally LOVED the fact that there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kbissell
innatthelake, Owner at The Inn at the Lake, responded to this review

We were thrilled you came to be with us and became a part of the Inn family! We sure enjoyed getting to know you and look forward to many more good times together next summer. We can't wait to have you back in these beautiful mountains with us.

aptos
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Tranquil Setting... Terrible Chemical Fragrance - The Room Reeks of Fragrance! This is a Christian establishment. Expect to have preaching and pray for your breakfast. We were given a room that was not private. There was no TV even though it was advertised, limited cell phone reception, no wifi. Nice location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AptosAmy
innatthelake, Owner at The Inn at the Lake, responded to this review

We knew you weren't happy with your room when you were here and offered to get you a room in town which might better suit your needs. However you told me it was fine and you did not want to move. So sorry about the "terrible chemical fragrance". I wish you would have told us so we could have fixed...

Stillwater, Oklahoma
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

An awesome week for us to escape, relax and recharge. Christian based Bed and Breakfast, with the most amazing Breakfast - we always want to bring Rosie home with us. Breakfast is followed by a quick devotion that warms our hearts. Beautiful view of Lake San Cristobal for Fishing and wildlife, just a step outside. In the evening, relax by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chacems
innatthelake, Owner at The Inn at the Lake, responded to this review

We were so happy you came to celebrate your anniversary with us. We enjoy having you here so much. Thanks for your kind and encouraging words about your stay at the Inn. You bring so much joy to us as guests. Can't wait for next year!

kentucky
Reviewed 12 September 2015

David and Rosie run a great establishment! The Inn at the Lake is a non-profit Christian owned and run bed and breakfast. The Inn has been renovated and it is a great retreat along the banks of Lake San Cristobal - a short walk away. Hand carved railings, wooden outdoor furniture and log benches, a fire pit for an evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rscb-boof

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake City
34.7 km away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
853 reviews
34.3 km away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#8 of 15 in Ouray
137 reviews
34.2 km away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#9 of 15 in Ouray
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Texan Resort
Texan Resort
#13 of 22 in Lake City
45 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Join us at the Inn at the Lake, a cozy mountain retreat situated a few steps from Lake San Cristobal just outside of Lake City, Colorado where each of our ten rooms reflects the charm of a mountain lodge and has a stunning view of Lake San Cristobal and the mountains beyond. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Inn at the Lake

Address: 600 Co. Rd. 33, Lake City, CO 81235
Region: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Inn at the Lake staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Stephenville, Texas
13 days ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Inn at the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are a dream!”
 of 5 bubbles rickstrack46, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are not bad rooms here. They all have the same view.”
 of 5 bubbles Michael1955-A, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are small but you aren't in them very long. Scenery is to pretty to stay inside!”
 of 5 bubbles MickeyandBonnie, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I suggest the upper floor for better views from the Adirondack style chairs on the balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles snsokstan, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't get the room under the stairwell”
 of 5 bubbles AptosAmy, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5