We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Black Dog Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phippsburg
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Dog Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

10 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 10: English reviews
Chicago, ILL
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Fresh in from another adventure out west. The Black Dog Inn was great as always! We had originally planned to stay for a lengthy tour of the Rockies and to do some bear fishing and even a little rustic treepunching, but our plans were limited by the weather. No worries, the Black Dog had everything we needed to stay entertained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FranFran232
Rifle, Colorado
Reviewed 3 March 2011

A little unsettling to find the tiniest room with the tiniest standing shower ever! ESPECIALLY when i read other reviews of the bathrooms being spacious and nice. which the doors were broken and made a huge crashing bang when opened. false advertising of having plasma screen tvs and satelite tv, the tv is an old box tv with 8 channels!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank latuacantante8
Colorado
Reviewed 18 March 2010

This hotel does not state anywhere online nor did they advise me during my reservation phone conversation that they have a 48 hour cancellation policy. When I had to cancel due to unforseen events they were very rude and hung up on me and immediately charged my credit card for the upcoming stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jummy_77
blackdog10, Manager at Black Dog Inn, responded to this review

The Black Dog Inn would like to respond to this review, as there are many incorrectly stated items mentioned. Firstly, it should be known that the reviewer cancelled with less than 48 hours notice, which is hotel policy, as stated on our reservations web page. He was advised that unfortunately cancellations of less than 48 hours are charged for one...

Kansas City
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I booked this place online as part of a getaway my mom and I took to the Rockies. We're the cheap kind of travelers. When we got there the owner let us upgrade the room to one of their King size rooms, because we picked the smallest room orginally. She also gave us a discount on the room since we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hooleelia
Arlington VA
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Manager became emotionally stressed out to the point of seeming fragile when asked for what would be routine in other hotels even in this small scale, very local accomodation ,There are many better options withis a few miles in the same price category.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaisal9
Management response:

I apologize if the manager was not accommodating to your needs however as I understand the situation, there was a need to store a large item while you had already checked out. As my manager had explained we do not not have the space for this type of request. I am sorry for this inconvenience and hope that you can...

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Quite frankly, when we made the reservations for the night it was because nothing was available in Steamboat Springs for a resonable fee. Then when we arrived and saw that the town of Phippsburg, Co. was no more than a very simple crossroads, we thought well here we go again. We had just spent the previous night at a motel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sportfuryman
Grand Junction, CO
Reviewed 8 May 2009

I've travelled through Phippsburg countless times and finally decided to try staying overnight in town. The Black Dog Inn is definitely not a full service motel. You can't even get in the building before 3:00 if you're not already checked in. But the Inn is clean, comfortable, and very friendly. Not to mention that the wall art in the lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjg
Montana
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We are writing in regards to our stay at the Black Dog Inn at Phippsburg, CO. The room was very clean and very comfortable. The owner went out of her way to make us comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay anytime that you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MT-Todds
Crested Butte, Co
Reviewed 7 March 2008

We came for Hockey games in nearby Oak Creek. We have stayed there twice in the last month. Rooms were clean and owners were very nice. It would have been better if we had won all of our games. We will be back next Hockey season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cementcreek
Thornton, Colorado
Reviewed 5 February 2008

This was a very wonderful, small hotel. The owners were extremely nice and helpful with our stay (and dogs)! They have a lovely room setup with kitchen and plenty of space for an individual or a family. The outdoor dog run was absolutely wonderful. Super close to Steamboat and extremely easy access off the high way! The bathtubs are to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank foreverlostmoose
blackdog10, owner at Black Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phippsburg
9.7 km away
Oak Tree Inn - Yampa
Oak Tree Inn - Yampa
#1 of 1 in Yampa
21 reviews
29.8 km away
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Spring...
#1 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience our Phippsburg Colorado hotel - The Black Dog Inn. We’re located next to Steamboat Springs with free wireless internet, kitchenettes, and dogs stay free! Explore awesome fishing, snowboarding and more. Book online now. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Dog Inn

Address: 21601 Highway 131, Phippsburg, CO 80469
Region: United States > Colorado > Phippsburg
Price Range: $85 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Black Dog Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Dog Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?