We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal George Hotel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millport
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Royal George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 105: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spent one night in the Waverley suite which we had booked some time ago for a birthday treat. We didn't let the fact that it must have been the wettest Saturday this year deter us and we enjoyed a few drinks in the bar before heading out to sample the local delights before returning to enjoy the music and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Cheech2014
Perth
Reviewed 27 May 2014

To be honest I am undecided on this place............ prices of drinks fantastic BUT running out of draft lager on a bank holiday weekend begs more than one question. Shabby bar area which severely needs a lick of paint and new carpets. Staff brilliant and very helpful..............but will they stay under this regime!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ScotlandFramed
meganIsleofCumbrae, Manager at The Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We did run out of draught lager at the end of the bank holiday but given that we are on an island and have limited storage space unfortunately we ran out despite having ordered the maximum that we can store - however this shows how busy we were over the weekend. Our prices are very...

Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Having stayed here a few times I can only say that the rooms are lovely, the views spectacular ( if you're at the back) and the staff friendly. However, I feel that the breakfast lets it down. There is no fresh fruit, a lack of choice of cereals and the cooked breakfast is inadequate and not good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tricia M
meganIsleofCumbrae, Manager at The Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; I am glad that you enjoyed the most of your stay at the Royal George - however I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your breakfast. There should be fresh fruit, 2 choices of fruit juice and breakfast is cooked to order; we have never had a complaint about breakfast - if anything...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I was at the same birthday weekend and would just like to say that the food was good too. So good that Jackie the manager thought that I'd licked my plate. The curry was lovely. Would return for a quieter weekend too!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caulieflowerlettuce
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My whole family stayed here last weekend for my son's 30th birthday. There were 21 of us and we were made to feel most welcome. The staff organised tables for us and kindly brought out the birthday cake after dinner. The rooms were equipped with towels /toiletries etc . The bar staff were very friendly and helpful despite us being...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jeana58
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Dont know where the earlier reviewer was, but Ive always found the rooms to be spotless, the staff,friendly and the scenery gorgeous. The rooms are spacious and mine had a balcony overlooking the sea and it was perfect for a romantic weekend away with my partner. Highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank FanHeater
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We visited the Royal George with friends for an evening meal and although the decor was rather run down the atmosphere was good and the service quick and the staff very friendly. We even discovered that Elvis Presley was a regular visitor to Great Cumbrae! A good selection of dishes on the menu and at very reasonable prices. Easy parking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rossergruffydd
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have just read a response to a review left by my partner. In it the manager practically calls us liars. We DID have to wait half an hour to get a key to the wrong room. Also, the statement that two different rooms were booked in the same name. Again, untrue. The name for our room had been taken...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank jonnyginge666
meganIsleofCumbrae, Manager at The Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review here is a copy of my response to your partner's review 10 October 2012 Thank you for your review. I do remember your stay as we do not often have a mix up with keys, however I am positive that you did not have to wait half an hour for a key. As was explained...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed overnight in the Balmoral Room. On arrival we were shown through the bar area which was pretty dated to the reception desk. Well what can I say except chaotic and untidy. There appeared to be a separate entrance for residents but it was so untidy and looked awful. However our room was nice bright and had a super sea...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lesley M
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Ventured here for dinner last year & the food was poor & the staff unwelcoming & unfriendly so didnt plan to visit again but back in Millport a few weeks ago we found everywhere else unfortunately fully booked for dinner & it was either the George or the chip shop... should have picked the chip shop. Poor food & terrible...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank P M
meganIsleofCumbrae, Manager at The Royal George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As you don't give enough detail for me to identify you, I can only assume that you are the only customer who complained about food in the last few weeks although the complaint was not about the quality of the food as your plates were cleared. The complaint was about the fact that the kitchen...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millport
8.5 km away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,443 reviews
6.6 km away
Brisbane House Hotel
12.2 km away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
156 reviews
30.2 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
2,018 reviews
6.0 km away
The Broom Lodge
The Broom Lodge
#11 of 24 in Largs
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on Millport pier the newly refurbished George Hotel now boasts 5 suites, 3 luxury rooms and 3 standard rooms. The suites have their own lounge, double bedroom, Jacuzzi bath or twin steam shower. Luxury double rooms have balconies with stunning views over the River Clyde, shower/steam room or a state of the art shower. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal George Hotel

Address: 1-3 Quayhead Street, Millport KA28 0AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > The Cumbraes > Great Cumbrae > Millport
Price Range: $63 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal George Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Royal George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are a smoker there are balcony rooms”
alanmulheron, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“top Floor Balcony”
JohnWilliamson1983, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“never stayed”
NeilMcK_13, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I would pay the small extra for a room with a sea view”
D1383OCsandras, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Hotel has entertainment at the Weekend rooms at the back of hotel are quieter”
marysQ956GM, 21 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5