We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tidewater Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Tidewater Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tidewater Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Bed and breakfasts seem to fall into one of two categories: (A) clutter-free, with posh hotel amenities, in remarkable buildings that have been expensively restored to their former grandeur vs. (B) doily-laden and creaky, with a hodgepodge of furnishings. The Tidewater Inn is in category B. Pros: the innkeeper is wonderfully friendly and hospitable. The bathroom was clean, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonuspoints2016
TidewaterInnCT_BB, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for your honest review. Yes, the guests who love us most are those who feel the warmth and welcome of a home. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Happy Travels to you.

Malverne, New York, United States
Reviewed 29 April 2016

This was a charming, cozy inn. Our room was lovely, complete with working fireplace. Wine and cheese were offered in the parlor every evening. There were roses in our room and chocolate covered strawberries as we left. The breakfasts were delicious. There was cofee and tea available at all times. We has a lovely time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
Westbrook, Maine
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Just spent the weekend at the Tidewater on a Living Social deal. Such a wonderful time! The room was fantastic with a WORKING wood burning fireplace! Delicious hand dipped chocolate strawberries and a dozen roses waiting for us in the room! The innkeeper, Victoria, was a treat! She invited us to chat and share some fantastic cheese/crackers wine when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keitha74
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 21 February 2016

My fiancee and I stayed one night at the Inn as we were in the area for a job interview. Our stay had both positive and not so positive aspects, so I list them here for other potential guests: a) Before booking the room, I called ahead and spoke to Victoria; the owner/ manager who was courteous and helpful. I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SwatiMark
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 January 2016

The Tidewater Inn is an old-fashioned, cozy, inviting inn. We were there for two nights just before Christmas. A beautiful tree was up with a fun game to try to find certain ornaments amidst the myriad of loved and special ones that covered the tree. Wine was served in front of a fire in the dining room. Chocolates filled bowls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jclperipatetic47
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 10 November 2015

We recently spent two nights in the Madison suite, which we highly recommend. Lots of lovely details like monogrammed sheets, a Tidewater Inn brochure in the room, and innkeeper's "Happy Hour" each evening. Victoria is hospitable and knowledgeable of the area and loves to share her knowledge with guests and to help guests get acquainted. Breakfast the first morning was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neroseepa
Victoria K, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

The Madison suite is definitely a favorite here, so it's great to see you had a wonderful time. I'm already looking forward to hosting you next time. Thanks again for this great review! Best, Victoria

NJ
Reviewed 29 October 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a far-too-short overnight stay in Madison on the way home from a weekend in the Berkshires. Madison is a really neat little area and Tidewater is a short walk from downtown and the water…great location. Some of the furnishings, carpeting, etc. shows some wear or are dated, but when you're staying at a B&B, you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shorenuff
Victoria K, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

This absolutely made my day to read -- thank you! It's so great to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked everything from the breakfast to the four-poster king bed to the town itself. I certainly do hope you'll be back soon! Until then, Victoria

charlottesville, VA
Reviewed 16 October 2015

First off, just to be straight with all - I do not like staying at B&B. I have never had a good experience with one. They are like having to stay at your grandma's, but grandma isn't there, and they gave you the worst room. Ok. I had to stay here because every hotel near Yale was sold out, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
Victoria K, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

Eddie, I know not everyone will love the B&B style, but you can bet we'll always do our best to make sure everyone has a great stay! Don't hesitate to reach out to any staff member if we can improve your stay in any way. Hope you had safe travels home. Best, Victoria

Easley, South Carolina
Reviewed 15 October 2015

We were staying here for a friends wedding that was in the area. The out of towners for the wedding were all staying here so it was very fun! The Inn itself is a bit dated but this was my first experience with a place of this type. The grounds were beautiful and the food for breakfast was incredible. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crouellette
Victoria K, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a great time at the wedding, and I'm glad we had a chance to host you for your first ever B&B experience, too! Comfort and deliciousness are our hallmarks. All our staff work hard to keep Tidewater Inn clean and welcoming to every guest who walks through the door. I hope we have the chance...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 17 September 2015

My company put 8-9 of us up here instead of getting hotel rooms during a company meeting. I wish that our stay was longer and that we had more time to check the place out. The only thing that was a negative was the noise from the road early in the morning. Partly my fault, I had purposely left the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveling_fiber_guy
Victoria K, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review

I'm very glad that you enjoyed your stay, though it was short! I'd love to welcome you back -- Madison is a town worth exploring. :) 'Til next time, Victoria

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
2.1 km away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
19.7 km away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
665 reviews
6.2 km away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Guilford
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Guilford
99 reviews
19.5 km away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
0.7 km away
Scranton Seahorse Inn
Scranton Seahorse Inn
#1 of 5 in Madison
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Tidewater Inn! We invite you to explore coastal Connecticut while relaxing at our comfortable, elegant bed and breakfast on the Connecticut shoreline. Tidewater Inn is designed with you in mind. We've tailored each room, our hospitality and amenities to make your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. The eight beautiful guest rooms and one hideaway cottage are individually decorated with antiques and estate furniture and appointed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Most have a canopy or four poster, including two with a wood burning fireplace, and one Jacuzzi nestled in the cottage. All guestrooms have a private en-suite bathroom with a shower, air conditioning, cable television, and wireless internet access for your personal computer. Relax by the fireside in the sitting room or in the English Garden. Enjoy a full breakfast and complimentary evening pre-dinner refreshments. Our attention to detail and charming atmosphere makes the Tidewater Inn the perfect destination for a weekend getaway. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Address: 949 Boston Post Rd, Madison, CT 06443-3236
Region: United States > Connecticut > Madison
Price Range: $220 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tidewater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tidewater Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Tidewater Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we like first floor, cause were old !”
 of 5 bubbles 578briana, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Madison Room is our favorite.”
 of 5 bubbles BnBenthusiast, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we were right at the front door,but,no stairs to climb!.Room still very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles H6146CMjosephs, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Fireplace rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles keitha74, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Bushnell room can get cold - make sure to ask for a space heater or extra blankets or both”
 of 5 bubbles SwatiMark, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay