We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 351: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We stayed here for one night. The common areas of the hotel are modern and comfortable with plush chairs however we found out room very small and the hallways to bedrooms and bedrooms in need of some refurbishment. We initial went to the Veranda Restaurant to have something light to eat after check in but found the menu limited so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiochelleL
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Many thanks for the review. Always great to hear from our guests and get perspective from your experience.

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2016

A one night stay turned into 24 hours of misery. We arrived on a Sunday when the restaurants were very busy. My husband ordered a bacon and brie sandwich. When it arrived the bacon was pale and congealed but unfortunately he ate it. Six hours later he was living in the toilet! Cannot prove it was tbe bacon but tbe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mandihorwood
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel. I am very sorry to hear of your experience here with us. Truly not what we strive for with regards to our guests. I was alerted to the matter by my front office team when you checked out and can assure you that I personally checked the fridges as well as all control sheets....

Belgium
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Stayed at the Beach Hotel for 7 days, end December and particularly for my wifes 70th birthday. I cannot compliment this hotel enough. Everything was just fantastic.On the day of my wifes birthday (new years eve) we had a table on the terrace and it was just wonderful. Also a cake, bouquet of flowers, bottle of bubbly and a card...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BelgianPeter
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, It was such a great pleasure to have you with us here at The Beach Hotel. Thank you so very much for the kind review and taking time from your day to send this through. Looking forward to welcoming you back later this year.

Reviewed 12 January 2016

The location was super the view breathtaking.near a lot of other attractions.breakfast was delicious.the staff let the hotel down by staying away over the weekend.no set tables therefore available for breakfast.I feel sorry for the hotel having to work with unreliable staff.Zozo,Zaza,the porter(young man)and the lady cleaning the room were exceptional and must be commended!! The hotel is an old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Thank you for taking the time to send through your review. Sorry to hear that our staff issue affected your stay. I can assure you that it was a very odd occurrence. The entire team is usually so great and I consider myself very lucky to have such long standing employees. Glad to hear...

Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

We have stayed plenty of times at the Beach Hotel but this time we noticed the place looked tired and old with an urgent need for an update. We requested an executive room with sea view 8 months ago and got what they call an executive room with no view . We complained and they moved us upstairs and tried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve s
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from The Beach Hotel, I am truly disappointed that we have let you down and not met your exceptions on your last stay. Thank you for raising your review and affording myself and my team the opportunity to learn and grow from this.

Mumbai
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel with lovely view and perfect location next to the boardwalk. The only disappointment was that it was Christmas Day and they could not accommodate us in their restaurant for lunch. Also one of he servers at breakfast was extremely rude and obnoxious but another one made up for it. Overall a pleasant experience. Would recommend it tot anyone....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JyotsnaKapoor
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from The Beach Hotel Family, Thank you for your review. It is greatly appreciated. I am so sorry to hear that one of my team came across as rude. I will certainly keep a keen eye out for any such behavior as this is by no means what we strive for here. Hope you enjoyed your travels.

Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We spent just 1night there and enjoyed it a lot. Nice spacious rooms , with the old time charm, friendly staff and beautiful view of the ocean. We had a dinner at Ginger, hotel restaurant, really good., both seafood and beef. Swimming pool , outdoors 'chatting' caffe.... Excellent value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanda W. W
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Beach Hotel. Safe travels and keep well.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in December 2015. Have been here twice before however after this visit. Will investigate other hotels in Port Elizabeth. The air conditioning in room 58 was substandard . This being a north face room made being in the room late afternoon impossible. The towels are in need of replacement . The towels delivered to room 58 were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Desmond S
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel. Thank you for your review and highlighting areas that did not life up to your expectations. It is imperative as a business, particularly in the service industry for us to know what our guests think of their experience with us. Unfortunately this particular experience is by no means what we strive to offer all...

Thatcham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2015

We stayed at The Beach Hotel to kick off our December 2015 trip to South Africa. We landed in Port Elizabeth from London Heathrow (via Johannesburg) so it's safe to say we were absolutely shattered and looking forward to just relaxing for a day and night. After picking up the rental car we made our way to the hotel (albeit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaalin23
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Really appreciate your insight and opinion. Travel safely.

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 28 December 2015

We may have had the best rooms of all, because from rooms 1 and 2 you had a fabulous view of the ocean. A road in between, yes, but beyond that the lovely turqouise sea, only a couple of minutes walk away. The rooms were spacious and clean. Keys were old style with a huge wooden handle. The breakfast buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reslysten54
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time with us here.

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
1:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
1.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.3 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
446 reviews
0.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
109 reviews
0.4 km away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#10 of 13 in Summerstrand
149 reviews
1.5 km away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Hotel is one Port Elizabeth's finest family hotels, situated on Port Elizabeth's magnificent beachfront, directly opposite Hobie Beach and next to the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Center. The Beach Hotel combines splendid service with quality accommodation, stylish cuisine and facilities for a perfect family holiday, business trip or relaxing getaway. The stunning four-star hotel offers homely comfort in its 58 spacious, en-suite bedrooms, some with stunning sea-views and others opening onto the tranquil courtyard. Guests are spoilt with choice, offering 3 onsite restaurants to suit everyone's palate. Enjoy a relaxing environment, sipping a cocktail white overlooking the ocean at The Verandah restaurant, or indulge in our famous buffets at The Crest. Resident foodies will love the fine dining cuisine at Ginger, voted one of the best restaurants in Port Elizabeth; it is definitely a must. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Price Range: $153 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#8 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in rooms 1 & 2 which were fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles Johnandpam103, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A strong recommendation to stretch your budget and get one of the front rooms. A view of the ocean right from inside my room (room #3).”
 of 5 bubbles RobertFromTheStates, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are across a busy road but not too loud”
 of 5 bubbles mariemusicademy, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 27”
 of 5 bubbles john0653, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms”
 of 5 bubbles alpinahed, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5