We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard Shelton

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard Shelton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 166: English reviews
Start your review of Courtyard Shelton
 Click to rate
Strasbourg, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had paid for Breakfast, within the room price, but was told I could only have 1 drink either coffee or other. The breakfast charging schema was not explained, therefore was not sure what else I was allowed. The sum was added then I signed will be interesting to see what ends up on the bill

Thank mjmiller28
CYSheltonMgr, General Manager at Courtyard Shelton, responded to this review

Dear mjmiller28, I am terribly sorry for the confusion regarding your stay for breakfast package. I would like to assist with this issue and provide some clarity. I ask that you please reach out to me at your earliest convenience at amiller@waterfordhotelgroup.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Alan Miller General Manager

Branchburg, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I must first say the service at this hotel is fantastic, especially their front desk staff. Very helpful and accommodating. However, the furniture was very worn out/stained, the jets in the tub were filled with mildew/hair. We were put on the 5th floor to start but had to be moved to another floor because it stunk of smoke! (Mind you...

Thank MeLow4
CYSheltonMgr, General Manager at Courtyard Shelton, responded to this review

Thank you for your most recent stay as well as providing us with your feedback. It is great to hear that the service at this hotel was fantastic during your stay. I am terribly sorry for the smell of smoke as you mentioned; it is unfortunate when other guests to not respect the non-smoking signs throughout the building and guestroom....

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Clean room and friendly people, Hyatt wanted $116 a night, I needed a place to stay to attend a funeral in Ansonia, CT Called around 4 days in advance to get my room booked. using AAA I was able to get the Courtyard in Shelton for $81. Hyatt was a block away! and wanted $116 for 2 nights. If I...

Thank Skip S
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Good sized rooms but in need of some TLC. The air conditioner / heater in the rooms are very noisy. The bar serves food which is very average in quality although the staff were polite and gave good service.

Thank RDS61
CYSheltonMgr, General Manager at Courtyard Shelton, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott, Shelton. I am terribly sorry for the challenges you experienced with your in room heater. I have shared your feedback with my Chief Engineer and Executive Chef for their immediate review and resolution. We would like to troubleshoot the heater in your guest room, would...

Lake Luzerne, New York
Reviewed 30 January 2017

It was my father's 80th birthday party with family and friends coming from all over the United States. My sister contacted the Courtyard Shelton which gave her a wonderful guest room rate, and rental of the pool area for the party plus wonderful food for a very affordable price. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful, and courteous. The banquet manager...

Thank 2incollege
Woodland Park, Colorado
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

I was satisfied with this hotel. The service was good every day we were there. The only thing I didn't like was how they wouldn't make an extra pick up from the wedding we were at. We ended up taking a cab. I would stay here again.

Thank Amy S
Upstate NY
Reviewed 27 December 2016

This was not a good stay. The room was cold, and it would not warm up, with the noisy heating unit blowing cold air. A mechanic came, looked at it and pronounced it fine. For the next 2 days, the unit ran non-stop, with the air conditioning coming on as soon as the room got warm. Then there was the...

Thank Flam1ngo
Julie B, Director of Sales at Courtyard Shelton, responded to this review

Dear Flam1ngo, I am terribly sorry to hear about your negative service and heating issues with the hotel. We take pride in maintaining our rooms and services we offer. We do inspect our rooms each day to ensure everything is working properly. Our Engineering department takes great pride in resolving guest issues and thought the issue had been addressed. Although...

Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I just completed a visit to the area and stayed at this property on Bridgeport Avenue. The rooms and facilities are well kept. It has a Starbucks bar for coffee and breakfast in the morning, a full bar for drinks in the evening, an indoor pool and workout room. All of the staff was very professional and kind during our...

Thank OSProfiler
CYSheltonMgr, General Manager at Courtyard Shelton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us as well as providing us with your feedback. It is great to hear that Momoza went the extra mile during your stay. I will not only share this feedback with Mimoza & her manager, but the entire hotel team! We look forward to your return to the Courtyard by Marriott, Shelton. Happy...

Shelton, Connecticut
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Absolute worst hotel experience. Do NOT book this for your wedding. Staff is not professional and very incompetent. Do not provide the services promised and offered. Too many things went wrong to list them all. Although it is a Marriott and expectations for Marriotts are usually high - the Shelton Marriott brings down the name. Even the staff told us...

1Thank 17118aba
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Courtyard Shelton, responded to this review

Dear 17118aba, I am terribly sorry to hear about your negative interactions with the hotel. I met with my Sales Team and they are unaware of this situation you've described. We would be more than willing to assist. May I kindly ask you to follow up with our Sales Team (your Sales Manager) or myself since we do not have...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Disappointed that as a Platinum Rewards member we were given a 2nd floor room that overlooked the air handler units on the overhang. We were there for several nights and the hotel was empty, so room availability wasn't an issue. The location of the room was also a problem on Friday evening as there was a large event in the...

Thank anm123

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (38)
Room/Suite (2)
View from Room (2)
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (53)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Room/Suite (11)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Dining (4)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Bathroom (2)
View from Room (1)
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
0.3 km away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
383 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
3.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
1.5 km away
Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Courtyard Shelton

Address: 780 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4734 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Price Range: $143 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Shelton 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Shelton Hotel Shelton
Marriott Shelton
Shelton Courtyard
Shelton Marriott
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Shelton staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Shelton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Improve the Breakfast... Very easy to do”
 of 5 bubbles mjmiller28, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The hotel sits back from the road so road noise is not an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles 2incollege, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the bridal suite was fabulous! plenty of room for getting ready and having guests come and hang out.”
 of 5 bubbles jessnovick, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 526 this visit. I cannot remember a bad room location ever in this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles gersong150, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are not very big, even the "suite" has only a small living room space.”
 of 5 bubbles josephr30, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5