Bayu Lestari Island Resort

Bayu Lestari Island Resort

Welcome back to Bayu Lestari Resort.. Anniversary after 1 year.. Yeah!!!!
Traveller (239)
Delicious 🤤 food
Dining (19)
View from Room (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 villa in Pulau Besar
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Bayu Lestari Resort is accessible in 30 minutes by boat from Mersing, Johor. Pulau Besar is an island situated within the archipelago of the Sultan Iskandar Marine Park. Our team is responsible to this environmental protection and the resort was develop with respect and love towards the nature.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic

Location

Lot 4, Pulau Besar 86800 Malaysia
Getting there
Kuala Lumpur Intl Airport
1 Restaurant
within 10 kilometers
117Reviews2Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 82
  • 18
  • 7
  • 0
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Shah S wrote a review Sept 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Located on Pulau Besar, the resort offers a truly serene surrounding. Compared to the other islands in Malaysia, it is less crowded and is perfect for a private getaway. Suitable for families and couples, the resort also has bicycles for rent allowing guests to explore the island. Every stay package comes complete with 3 meals a day making the it very reasonably priced.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aven Fauzi wrote a review Sept 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are beyond words, so grateful for staying at Bayu Lestari Resort. Nestled in amongst the palm trees the quaint bali-malay ish hand made buildings welcome you to relax and unwind. We wanted somewhere private, not packed and overrated island such as Perhentian/Tioman. Definitely a quiet, calm & absolutely fantastic place. Clean rooms and homey vibes, helping and caring owner/cook— “Ibu” if you’re reading this, thanks for the lovely traditional kampong dishes! Make sambal belacan a MUST for every meal! The jetty, my favourite spot day & night. To swim, snorkel or paddle over the turquoise water and colourful reef are the only decisions. I know soon I will return and my toes yet again will kiss the sand and sea. My best recomendations & we will be back for sure! ❤️🏝☀️🌊

Pros: Resort privacy even for groups, jumping off the jetty, kampong style full board menus, hardworking team of family and employees, cleanliness.

Cons: Basic toilet amenities, needs more sun loungers 😜
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Azwan Ali wrote a review Aug 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was fabulous and amazing! The view is iconic! The sea is just breathtaking! Make sure you rent the bike (or you can just walk) to explore along the island. The vibes here are just nice and relaxing. Also, make sure its at least 3days of staying here for you to enjoy and relax. Im in love with this place! 😍 For the youngsters, this place is totally “instagrammable” !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CSKC wrote a review Aug 2020
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ll keep this simple: NO WATER HEATER. Very poor quality and overpriced food. It's chilli, sambal, hard boiled egg and nasi lemak everyday and you can tell the dinner from yesterday will become the next day lunch. The packages for food is RM80 per day. When you look at the pic and it's not worth it. Air con blew hot air which left us really hot throughout our stay. One of the guy staff speak with bad attitude which irritating us. When we told him pardon us for few mins need to check the banking and he don't seem to like it. Overall, not worth the price. We couldn't stand it as not hot water to bath and too many creatures in the room, specially the bed. The blanket never send to wash. Too many tiny sand on the bed. We have to wear long pant to sleep to avoid uncomfortable. Finally, we moved to Asenia. It's nearby with working air cons, swimming pool, and TV, mini fridge, hot water and much better quality foods and bed. I kid you not, even all the Asenia's staff are with a bright smile whenever you see them.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bayu Lestari Island Resort, Owner at Bayu Lestari Island Resort
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Dear Ms. Liong Siew Chin, thank you for your review. Rest assured your review is taken seriously by us for future improvement. Just to quickly respond to several of your points:- i.) Water heater. We clearly stated in your booking platform - if you had paid more attention during booking process you would have realised that we do not provide water heater. ii.) Meals. Yes, Nasi Lemak is our signature breakfast dish which we served along with noodles and sandwich. We DO NOT served you nasi lemak during dinner or lunch (please responsibly write so as not to misled others). On another review you made, you did mentioned about the foods being spicy which you did not raised here and to that, lets just embrace cultural differences might be the better approach here, no? We mainly served Malay cuisine which tend to be on spicy side, spices which we have toned down so everyone can enjoy their meals. iii.) Air-conditioning. From our record, you have never raised these issue to our staffs - the maintenance staff would've been able to check on it for you. It may only be remote settings issue, which usually happened. iv.) Staff. We've checked with the staff who checked you in. This could just be a small misunderstanding, requesting for time to check on your bank is not an issue at all. If the staff's action offended you in anyway, we do sincerely apologised. v.) Beds. We again checked our records and you never raise this issue with us. Perhaps the beds becomes sandy due to the winds or perhaps it being transported by your goodself after a good day at the beach? After all, your units is located so near to the beachside. vi.) Too many creatures. Your unit comes with an open concept bathroom and we are surrounded by mother nature. We regularly clear up spider webs, if any but in the end, nature always win. Lets take this an experience outside of the city life. vii.) Finally, you mentioned that you decided to go to the resort next door. Based on our recollection and after referring back to our previous conversations, we can assure you that you did not moved to Aseania but rather you checked out from Aseania to stay with us. Our staff even went above his duty call by collecting your luggages from the resort next door and bring them over to our resort. We sincerely hope this would refreshed your memory. We can only deduced that you being upset stem from the fact that during check-out, you had failed to ensure that you're well packed and ready to check-out on time even after a friendly reminder given to you on the timing during check in. As the other guests and the boat assigned to your room are already waiting for you at the jetty, our staff had no choice but to come knocking on your door as such unwarranted delay had causes the other guests to have to wait for almost 20 minutes which was unfortunate of them. However, we as your host, we do apologised for any lacking on our side which had caused you to write as such - but we were saddened that some facts not favouring to you were omitted and/or changed putting us in such bad light. Thank you. Bayu Lestari Island Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elia Cañabate wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed a week and a half. It's perfect if you're looking for a place to turn of the stress of the everyday life. No timetables here, not thousands of tourists everywhere. Located in a protected island, it is hard to find a resort with so good quality, services and personal, in a beautiful environment where the tourist have already come and changed its spirit. A lot of adventures and places to get to know in the island, and all of them for free! A delicious meal service. Extremely kind staff. Absolutely recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaslin Puasa wrote a review Aug 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are here for 4 days 3 nights with group of 6. I would say I fall in love with this place immediately after I step my foot on the jetty platform.

The clear blue sea and sky with the warm welcome by the owner her self made me feels like at my home town.

Oh ya! The food! You will love it guys. I promise!
📸 : @azwanali
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nazirul wrote a review Aug 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a wonderful town-scape in 2020!

I Went here with a group of 6, and stay in a comfy chalet doesn’t stop us from exploring the beautiful tiny island.

Peeps, The beaches! The dive spot! The sunset! The jungle! The photo taking spot! Oh and ya the FOOD, yes peeps the food is nice(I find it hard to believe, I’ve been to many island becoz Im a diver and i never felt satisfy with the food like how I am now)

Too many photos to upload. Check out my instagram @hangnazirul for more photos.

My photos taken by @azwanali. Ya, and so lucky to have friend who can take beautiful and nice photo. Haha.

Oh oh ohhhh! Not to mention T_T, the owner herself a warm hearted nice lady welcome us at her resort, she’s very friendly and loving. I bet all her guest love her 😜.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catt eu los valente wrote a review Jul 2023
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been working in hotels for over 40 years and I've been on vacation in many hotels and without a doubt this is the worst hotel I've ever been to, how come this hotel has 4 stars??? the food is a disgrace, the rooms you could find all kinds of animals from cockroaches, toads, without feet, etc. the bed sheets full of blood
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: the worst hotel you can find with very beautiful photos on the websites but when you arrive at...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AgenteKaty wrote a review Feb 2020
Buenos Aires, Argentina
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful resort to stay, relax and enjoy the nature! I spend two weeks and totally enjoyed them. There are a lot of activities to do, kayak, snorkeling and trekking for free and also some payed ones like island hopping. Really recommend this place for family or group of people to have a good time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mario wrote a review Jul 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort is disgusting. Cats on top of your food and inside the kitchen.
Rooms with cockroaches all over the place, bed bugs, mosquitoes everywhere. Bed sheet not changed, NO HOT water.
All facilities are broken.
Shoking place... Save your money and go to another place.. not only waste of money but will make you upset and sick.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Odyssey30683611137 wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"the worst hotel you can choose , I do not understand how this hotel has 3 stars , such a shame , the food is not to be eaten , animals insid"
Read full review
Catt eu los valente wrote a tip Jul 2023
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia7 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"the worst hotel you can find with very beautiful photos on the websites but when you arrive at the hotel it is not the same"
Read full review
Shafeq Bada wrote a tip May 2023
Iskandar Puteri, Malaysia33 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Its better to take travel package under the resort itself, not from 3rd parties agencies. The total package price is for 1 person."
Read full review
BJ Blaauboer wrote a tip Sept 2022
12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring snacks and extra drinks - nothing to purchase on the island"
Read full review
Ing Snk wrote a tip Aug 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have sea view. There are full villas and smaller bungalows to rent."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pulau Besar area.
PRICE RANGE
S$149 - S$178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaJohorPulau Besar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAYU LESTARI ISLAND RESORT (S̶$̶1̶7̶1̶) S$151: See 108 Reviews, Price Comparison and 240 Photos (Pulau Besar, Johor)

All Pulau Besar HotelsPulau Besar Hotel DealsHotels near Bayu Lestari Island Resort
Things to DoFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire