We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Dover Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Dover Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 139: English reviews
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've stayed here a few times before and thought it was generally clean, and OK for the price. The only issue I had with the place was the misspelling I've observed for years in this photo that garnered a chuckle from time to time. However, my last stay was full of disappointment and regret. The floor I stayed on reeked... More 

Helpful?
Thank richbentleyazure
Deborah O, Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. On rare occasion, we do have issues with other guests and we try to handle them without impact to others. I assure you we were able to locate the guest causing the disruption and have handle accordingly. We hope that this does not prevent you from visiting us... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is nice hotel but breakfast very disappointed pancake is very not cooked I recommend anyone not to eat here or stay here stay away !! Bed and room is very clean Just fix the breakfast part Need buffet

Helpful?
Thank Joellem88
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Joellem88, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found our rooms to be clean and our hotel to be nice. However, we would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding our breakfast selection. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they... More 

1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

I must say that throughout my many years of constant travel for business or pleasure, I have never been made to feel so welcomed. The front desk clerk Joseph was a breath of fresh air. Extremely accommodating and 100% professional. We need more people like him in the customer service industry. I will definitely be spreading the word on this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Giordanoaj
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I never stayed at an Holiday Inn before but after this experience I highly doubt I ever will. I made a reservation at this hotel back in July of 2016 and when I drove all the way there with a friend from Florida, I am told that my reservation was cancelled. I pulled my reservation up on my phone to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kisha J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Thanks again Holiday Inn for another great stay. Check in was easy, staff was fun to talk to, and room was great as usual. I had some trouble with my remote but staff brought me a new one immediately. Also the new girl, Jennifer is a great addition. She was courteous and a pleasure to chat with. I look forward... More 

Helpful?
Thank NoWayJo
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Having traveled from the west coast and making the drive from Baltimore/DC, I was looking for a quiet, comfortable stay. Upon arrival there was no one at the desk for almost 10minutes. -Another guest pointed out to the lobby bartender that I was waiting, so she could call the desk clerk. The room given was decently clean, most of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SaraVK626
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear SaraVK626, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced at check-in and with some of our amenities. We always strive to provide our guests with comfortable accommodations and we regret that we did not meet your expectations. Rest... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. It was convenient to have a restaurant in the hotel and the food was good, restaurant staff was friendly. Front desk was friendly upon check in but there was some sort of banquet function going on. It was extremely loud. We checked in around 6pm.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kara A
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kara A, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate the condition of our room, food quality, and check in service. However, I was concerned to see that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay due to the ongoing function. I would... More 

Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Stay here one night, standard room. Check in was prompt, desk clerk was very polite and courteous. Got room on 4th floor, decent room, clean. Hallways in this hotel,were ice cold. Only negative I can come up with and it's a bit of a Walk to elevators from lobby. Good stay.

Helpful?
Thank Deeeze
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Deeeze, Thank you for leaving feedback about your stay with us and for choosing our property. It is nice to know that you found our staff to be friendly, room commendable and check in efficient. However, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you may have endured with the hallway atmosphere and if you found the distance of the... More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We were in Dover for a family wedding with guests ranging from mid-30's to mid 70's, so you see we were not a bunch of party people. Ten or more rooms were reserved & most of us had the same complaints. First the pro's - the building is lovely & the main reception area is bright & clean. My husband... More 

Helpful?
Thank tonihoney
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear tonihoney, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to know that you have liked the lobby and was satisfied the cleanliness of the reception area. However, we regret if you did not fully enjoy your stay due to the... More 

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

monsey ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

After stopping to sleep for a few hours on our way from NY to VA- we found a nasty chicken wing under our bed! They front desk said they will refund the room 50% - and I insisted on a Full refund. The shift manager said she will get back to me about the charge after she gets in touch... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashandel
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Ashandel, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with the cleanliness of your room and the service you received from our staff. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to... More 

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
0.3 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover
3.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dover
1.6 km away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
3.6 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Dover
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The contemporary Holiday Inn Dover - Downtown hotel places you near the area's best attractions and most prominent businesses. This hotel is located near Dover Downs International Speedway/Casino and Dover Air Force Base. We are proud to offer military and government travelers their own special rate. Our hotel's business travelers appreciate our modern facilities, which boast an on-site business center with print, copy and fax services. We also have meeting rooms that total more than 2800 square feet of event space. If you're looking for a hotel in Dover, Delaware near businesses search no more, since these businesses are just a short drive from our property. If you prefer the outdoors, visit Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge or the beach at Cape Henlopen State Park. If you are searching for a hotel in Dover, Delaware with great amenities, you'll be pleased to note that we offer free high-speed Internet access in each room. And, you're sure to enjoy a delicious meal at our on-site eatery, or a relaxing drink in the lounge. We also have an outdoor seasonal pool and a fitness center, so you can unwind after a long day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dover Downtown

Address: 561 N. Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901
Region: United States > Delaware > Dover
Price Range: $116 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dover Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Dover Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dover Downtown Hotel Dover
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dover
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Dover Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room near side entrance (and elevators) is convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles SaraVK626, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles tonihoney, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Warning. Stay away from this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles angelflygirl, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Third floor is my favorite!!”
 of 5 bubbles robertbN8757ZH, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
“I was on the third floor, and had no complaints about the room's location.”
 of 5 bubbles M1859VDrobertm, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay