We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Dover Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Dover Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Dover Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We were in Dover for a family wedding with guests ranging from mid-30's to mid 70's, so you see we were not a bunch of party people. Ten or more rooms were reserved & most of us had the same complaints. First the pro's - the building is lovely & the main reception area is bright & clean. My husband...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonihoney
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear tonihoney, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to know that you have liked the lobby and was satisfied the cleanliness of the reception area. However, we regret if you did not fully enjoy your stay due to the...

monsey ny
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

After stopping to sleep for a few hours on our way from NY to VA- we found a nasty chicken wing under our bed! They front desk said they will refund the room 50% - and I insisted on a Full refund. The shift manager said she will get back to me about the charge after she gets in touch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashandel
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Ashandel, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with the cleanliness of your room and the service you received from our staff. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to...

Matamoras,pa
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

I go to this hotel often they have the most accommodating and friendly staff. They are the reason I go back to this hotel. The place is always clean. Only thing I wish they had is a refrigerator and a microwave in the room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathyann66
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Stayed her on our last leg home from the Outer Banks. We arrived later than anticipated and staff was friendly and accommodating. The in house restaurant food was affordable and very good. We ordered to go late too. We enjoyed the pool area for a quick dip before bed. We found the hotel to be clean a pleasant place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarthaB1977
Indian Head, Maryland
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The front desk was very unprofessional , they look like high school drop outs. The main receptionist named Joseph was very rude , he accused my husband and I of smoking in the room with our 2 small kids ages 3 and 7. After I told him we didn't smoke he threatnen to call the police on me in front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ginger T
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear gingertravel2016, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing a review about your experience. It is regrettable that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience due to the front office services and general condition at the hotel. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. I...

rickman23
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I researched a few reviews before staying in Dover, and this was toward the top of the list. We stay at Holiday Inns from time to time, and I generally consider them to be an above average brand. I would put the lobby, location and appearance of the restaurant toward the higher end of the spectrum, but the guest rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rickman23
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear rickman23, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to know you liked the good location of the hotel in the area. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the shortcomings you have experience with the room and service you received. Please be assured that your...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 July 2016

My sweetheart and I went recently, the place didn't look that bad, the staff tried to accommodate us, according to the pictures and the person you book from, you think that there is a mini fridge in the room, there is not unless you get lucky. The beds were hard, we tried to keep our stuff cold so we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roll C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Roll C, Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodations and we appreciate your business with us. However, we sincerely apologize if the lack of fridge in the room and the condition of the bed received may have caused you inconvenience. It is certainly not our intent to...

Reviewed 18 June 2016

The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The best part for me was the in house bar with the bartenders named Bridget and Bonnie. That were great and truly made my stay a memorable experience. The front desk was friendly also. Joseph and Kerry were always on top of their games. Everything I requested was there for me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandon P
Reviewed 25 May 2016

At the last minute my husband and I decided to go to the casino in Dover, we pulled in to the Holiday Inn Dover downtown and were greeted with the most wonderful people. Joseph and Bonnie got us checked in and made sure we had everything we needed. Both days there were great!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty A
NewCastle, DE
Reviewed 24 May 2016

My boyfriend and I were attending my sister's wedding and booked two nights at this hotel. We had dinner the night of our first stay so we didn't actually make it to the room until around 10:30pm. We relaxed, walked around the hotel then I climbed in bed. With in 2 minutes I felt something crawling on me! DISGUSTED I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelflygirl
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear angelflygirl, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is truly regrettable that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Let me follow-up on your concerns and have the opportunity to address your them accordingly. I have sent you...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.3 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
3.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
5.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The contemporary Holiday Inn Dover - Downtown hotel places you near the area's best attractions and most prominent businesses. This hotel is located near Dover Downs International Speedway/Casino and Dover Air Force Base. We are proud to offer military and government travelers their own special rate. Our hotel's business travelers appreciate our modern facilities, which boast an on-site business center with print, copy and fax services. We also have meeting rooms that total more than 2800 square feet of event space. If you're looking for a hotel in Dover, Delaware near businesses search no more, since these businesses are just a short drive from our property. If you prefer the outdoors, visit Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge or the beach at Cape Henlopen State Park. If you are searching for a hotel in Dover, Delaware with great amenities, you'll be pleased to note that we offer free high-speed Internet access in each room. And, you're sure to enjoy a delicious meal at our on-site eatery, or a relaxing drink in the lounge. We also have an outdoor seasonal pool and a fitness center, so you can unwind after a long day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dover Downtown

Address: 561 N. Dupont Highway, Dover, DE 19901
Region: United States > Delaware > Dover
Price Range: $105 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dover Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dover Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dover Downtown Hotel Dover
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dover
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Dover Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room near side entrance (and elevators) is convenient.”
SaraVK626, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
tonihoney, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Warning. Stay away from this hotel.”
angelflygirl, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Third floor is my favorite!!”
robertbN8757ZH, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
“I was on the third floor, and had no complaints about the room's location.”
M1859VDrobertm, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5