We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We stayed at Red Roof Inn in Dover for one night. We received a very fair price. When we arrived at the desk, the two clerks were very friendly and helpful with info of things to do and places to eat in the area. We found our room to be very clean and recently refurbished. The bed and pillows were...

1Thank Kathy S
VINAY P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feed back. We are so sorry about the noise coming from the 7-eleven unfortunately we have no control over that. We hope that we can see you again.

District Heights
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Arrived in Dover on June 23, 20016 to celebrate wife's birthday. Stayed at Dover Downs' Casino motel. Great room; not a lot of staff dealings. On June 24th stayed at Red Roof Inn. Used free certificate! Wanted to stay another night at Red Roof. Price increased to $129.00 per night? Very nice motel! $129.00 per night? Not even when NASS...

1Thank HENRY H
VINAY P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. Its very important to us so we can better are self. We are sorry that are price was not to your liking. However that is the standard price for a Friday or Saturday on summer time. for special events like NASSCAR race the price changes.

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016

The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was standard, waffles etc. but just having 2 tables was a problem. However, it did mean that we got to share one of them with a charming couple from New York State. The price shown on Tripadvisor was $74.99 which was what we were charged for our first day but...

Thank Richard B
VINAY P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. Unfortunately are prices are different on the weekdays from the weekends. It will also fluctuate depending on the time of year and or if there's a special event in town.

Bristol, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Staff is friendly. Rooms seemed clean enough but very Spartan and worn. Breakfast room is tiny with room for only two tables, the AC in there wasn't working so there was a fan blowing hot air and lots of flies. Breakfast was packaged Danish, etc and some apples and oranges. Needed a place for one night while we were in...

Thank BookwormJuly
VINAY P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the feed back. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not to your liking. The problems are being addressed and some have been corrected. We hope that this will not stop you from visiting us again. We will love to see you here again so we can give you a better experience.

Hyde Park, New York
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Red Roof Inn in Dover is just about halfway between Kill Devil Hills, where my son lives, and home, so it is a good overnight for me. The beds were comfortable and linens clean. The continental breakfast was fine.... coffee, juice and toast is all I need to get a start on the day ( my friend made a waffle)....

2Thank tennisfun41
VINAY P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that your stay was comfortable. We look forward to your next stay. Thank you again.

Reviewed 1 June 2016

Hubby and I wanted to do something a little different to celebrate Memorial Day that would allow us the best of both worlds - Hiking and the beach at a fraction of the cost of staying in Rehoboth. First let me say that the staff is super friendly and really go out of their way to make you feel welcome....

Thank Kim B
Ocala, Florida
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here after our experience with the Super 8 a couple doors down. The price was perfect and we enjoyed it so we booked another 2 nights. Great job Red Roof Inn we will be back. We were there for a family emergency but we really enjoyed our time there. The staff was very friendly and took care of...

2Thank lq451968
VINAY P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! We truly appreciate your feedback. We're so glad to hear that our hotel was perfectly suited for your needs. More importantly, we are proud to hear that our staff was friendly and took great care of you! We hope your travels have you return to us soon.

Newport News
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The hotel is good for my yearly birthday weekend in Dover. It is just down the street fro Dover Downs Casino, and serves a continental breakfast. Staff are friendly and helpful. I usually go in April and again in October, and sometimes in between. Rates are reasonable and there are dining facilities all around the hotel.

3Thank Francene K
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Happy with just about everything, staff was nice room comfortable CLEAN nice to have an unanticipated FREE Breakfast included Very Nice! They bent over backwards to make us happy, highly recommend! Definitely stop again as need arises enjoyed my stay with wife and my two westies! I am an enrolled agent with the IRS and spend multiple nights per year...

3Thank CarShowHoward
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

I stay here for the races and firefly reasonably priced very clean soft beds clean very nice staff never an issue they couldn't resolve. And we also received a goody bag upon arrival lol with candy popcorn and a few other treats. So overall a good stay experience.

3Thank Dad529

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (33)
Room/Suite (2)
Videos (2)
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (49)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Bathroom (8)
Dining (1)
Room/Suite (16)
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
6.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
1.3 km away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 20 in Dover
140 reviews
3.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
2.2 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown

Address: 652 N Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-3937 (Formerly Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover)
Region: United States > Delaware > Dover
Price Range: $88 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Dover
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
6 months ago
Dighton, MA
over a year ago
Norfolk, Virginia
3 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All smoking rooms are on the 4th Floor and that is good.”
bigmamaDC, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Third floor rooms are the best for a bit of a view of the highway which can be pleasant with all of the evening lights and stars out.”
suebG1310DO, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have desk so I can catch up on work”
Depoppop, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Offerings at price quoted; shop around!”
HENRYH906, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Second floor rooms are quieter as it is on the main highway going thru town.”
FranceneK_13, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5