We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark\/Christiana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
Braintree, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Needed a hotel for a one night stay on our drive from NC to Massachusetts. A nice woman greeted us at the office and gave us a map to find our room. Our room was on the second floor. Had to lug out stuff up the stairs. The room was dated and not very appealing but clean and the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mahonedawgmom
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

Mahonedawgmom Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Newark Delaware. I'm glad our staff was nice and accommodating. I'm sorry our décor was not to your liking as we just recently completed a 1.5 million dollar renovation. Thanks again for choosing us and if your travels bring you back this way just ask for a room on the first...

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

We visited Wilmington for a lacrosse tournament. There were 4 of us in our party. The Residence Inn welcomed us with Exceptional front desk service and decent rooms that were clean and reasonably modern. It was another satisfying stay at a Marriott property!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wtdonovan
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

wtdonovan Thanks for telling us about your stay at the Residence Inn Newark Delaware. I'm glad to hear you received exceptional service and enjoyed the modern décor. At Residence Inn we take pride in providing clean and comfortable rooms. Glad you had a satisfying stay.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Really nice cottage type of hotel, spacious,clean, relaxing, only 100 minutes from The Capital City, friendly staff, nice strong showers,great plentiful breakfast, free parking, also close to NYC perfect mid point rest stop.. Highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 283rubinf
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

283rbinf Thank you for telling us about your stay. I must say this is the first time I heard our hotel called cottage style but I can totally see that. This Residence Inn is located in a residential setting and conveniently located off of I-95. Residence Inn just revamp its breakfast program and we are getting great reviews about it....

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 5 July 2016

I love staying at Residence Inns because of the suite/kitchen set up. This one, however, was less than ideal. Loads of concrete within the complex makes for lots of noisy conversations that sound like they're right outside your door when in fact they are around the corner, or from the unit above. We had cleaners yacking about their weekend at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bunny22314
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and telling us about your experience. When you have a chance I would love to speak to you in regards to these issue. I look forward to hearing from you.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 24 April 2016

I stayed here recently for an 11-night business trip. Overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Grounds were very well maintained. Rooms were clean but housekeeping staff only cleaned sporadically which I did not understand. I was hardly in the room, so I didn't really mind. My number one tip: Request a room on the second floor! I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

Thanks you for your honest review of the Residence Inn Newark. I'm glad you got to experience our city. I grew up in Wilmington and this town has a lot to offer. The Residence Inn Newark is conveniently located off of I-95 and near a shopping plaza so sometimes it can be noisy. Thanks for your review and thanks for...

Palo Alto, California
Reviewed 9 April 2016

We greatly enjoyed staying at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana. Our bi-level suite was extremely spacious, with two bathrooms and a kitchen. Like all other Residence Inns, there was a tasty complimentary breakfast, and free wifi. However, connecting to the wifi was a little bit slow. The service is extremely good, with free bottled water. There was a small gym, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maximilian G
Hershey, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Had the displeasure of staying at this Residence Inn for one night. This is an old Residence Inn back when the buildings were all separated. Had to rooms. First room (1311) had a very musty smell; it was terrible. Second room, 1321 smelled like chlorine. The internet was extremely terrible, and I couldn't even connect on a few devices. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MNagy
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at our hotel. I do apologize for the issues you experience and would like to speak to you in regards to your stay. When you have a moment please reach out to me in my office at 302.453.9200

Reviewed 15 February 2016

This was my second time enjoying the Residence Inn for Valentines day. From being greeted by the wonderful Tanasha to checking out, everything was great! When I first arrived I was a bit worried because there had been a mix up with my romance package reservation (I had booked a little late the day before and it slipped by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

Glad we made you feel at home! At Residence Inn Newark we understand how hard our guest work and when you decided to stay with on such special occasions we don't take them lightly. I'm happy to hear my friendly staff upgraded your room and you enjoyed the space of our suites. I will share your feedback with the team...

Newark, Delaware
Reviewed 3 February 2016

We were very happy with the location of our room, it was convenient for our needs. John the AGM was very helpful with making our reservation. Joncin from the front desk delivered something for me when i was willing to come pick it up. I leave before 5:30a.m. in the morning therefore cannot attend breakfast. Joncin went into the kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay I make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services at the Residence Inn Newark. I'm glad my staff went out of their way to accommodate your needs and happy to hear...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 January 2016

1st room toilet leaked and had to move, 2nd room felt like highway I95 was coming through my room-too much road noise and light above stove was out and had to move, third room thermostat not working and phone did not work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
Aaron S, General Manager at Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this review

Rick H sorry to hear about your stay please give me a call or send me a email. I would love to hear more about your experience. I can be reached @ 302-453-9200 and aaron.smith2@marriott.com Look forward to hearing from you.

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
247 reviews
3.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
0.7 km away
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
1.0 km away
TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana

Address: 240 Chapman Rd, Newark, DE 19702
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Price Range: $197 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark Hotel Newark
Residence Inn Newark
Newark Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the highway”
 of 5 bubbles striving4more, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closest to the entrance are the most quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles TBillington, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get room away from highway;”
 of 5 bubbles mahonedawgmom, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be away from the highway!”
 of 5 bubbles Bunny22314, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Second floor rooms are quieter!”
 of 5 bubbles J4870UZtomh, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5