We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
10606 Gamma Rd, Kabetogama, MN 56669-8047
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (15)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Sandy Point Lodge
Updated 24/03/21

About

#3 of 7 Speciality lodging in Kabetogama
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our secluded twelve acre park-like setting is surrounded on three sides by Lake Kabetogama and Voyageurs National park and is 275 miles north of Minneapolis/St. Paul. We offer 12 modern lakeside cabins as well as 5 deluxe lakeside hotel rooms in our main lodge. Our main lodge also contains a full restaurant and bar that makes a perfect spot to enjoy a meal, cocktail, or a board game with your friends and family!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Beach
Badminton
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Boating
Canoeing
Hiking
Fishing
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Separate dining area
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
40Reviews2Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mark E wrote a review Aug 2021
Saint Cloud, Minnesota51 contributions87 helpful votes
When we first arrived I was disappointed they did not serve food or have a bar like I saw online. However, Arrowhead lodge had food and was very near. We met the owner and the crew that works here and they explained why in these times it was non profitable to serve food but plan to again in the future. These people are very nice and do everything they can to accommodate you if you want to rent a boat and/ or go fishing. The room we had in the lodge was nice and the air conditioning worked well. We were very satisfied with our experience here and I would recommend this place to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
JCB708 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Sandy Point is an awesome place. Got to stay in a cabin and a lodge room and both were wonderful. Clean, comfortable and everything you needed. Gordon, Jennifer, Ben and James were a delight to converse with on a daily basis. Due to Covid I was sorry could not enjoy what I understood was a great restaurant next time. The boat provided was perfect and the Lake was splendid. Only negative thing about this trip was the fishing. It seems like the locals were perplexed as well as the fishing experience was not good. Did enjoy the days on the lake. Would go again at a different time when the fish should be biting.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Sundin, General Manager at Sandy Point Lodge
Responded 28 Aug 2020
Thanks for staying with us! It was a pleasure having you two here and we hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Becky H wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
Our family of 6 stayed in cabin 1 for a short, 3 night vacation. There was more than enough room in the cabin, nice open living/dining/kitchen area. The cabin was very clean, kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed and then some (pots, pans, cutting board, utensils, pizza cutter, etc). The screened in porch was awesome to keep the bugs at bay (lots of bugs, but this was obviously expected). Our kids absolutely loved playing in the beach area (many sand and water toys for them to play with), we also brought a couple inflatable toys. Our older two and my husband went out on the paddle boards and canoe (free to use for guests, along with kayaks). We rented a pontoon for a day and James was great with getting us setup and out. He was also right there as soon as we headed back towards the resort, very attentive as far as their dock service is concerned. I know my husband had a good chat with Gordon, the owner, over a cup of coffee at least one of the mornings. These are good people and an absolutely beautiful, serene location surrounded by the lake and the great up north. We would highly recommend and plan on coming back next year!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Sundin, General Manager at Sandy Point Lodge
Responded 27 Aug 2020
Thanks for the review, we really appreciate it! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future! -Ben
Read more
Karliesjz wrote a review Aug 2020
Rockaway Township, NJ267 contributions127 helpful votes
+1
We rented the 3 bedroom cabin 1a for $330 for one night. The pros: it was spacious and had a nice spot by the lake. There was a grill and firepit and the full kitchen was stocked. The cons: the doors don’t lock and there are no keys. When I asked I was told “we don’t lock doors in northern Minnesota” and talked to me like I was some moron for implying we may want to lock the doors. There was also no air conditioning in the bedrooms, no towels, no internet and the place was outdated and dirty. There was also almost no hot water (less than 5 minutes of shower time). My biggest problem was how unhelpful and frankly condescending the staff was. We asked for recommendations for where to go and were told they didn’t know... the girl told us she’s only worked there a year and a half so didn’t know anything. This place has a great location and it’s too bad it’s not taken care of and the staff is so unhelpful because it has potential.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Sundin, General Manager at Sandy Point Lodge
Responded 14 Aug 2020
We appreciate your feedback. Typically our cabins are rented on a three night minimum basis and we do have lodge rooms available for shorter stays. We offered you a lodge room but you were adamant about having a cabin which we quoted you the rate of $300 (plus tax). We never indicated that there was air conditioning in the cabin bedrooms and upon your checkout we did check the cabin doors which do lock. (You can turn the knob from the inside while the outside knob is locked in the chance of an emergency). We try to be as thorough as possible while cleaning and we appreciate these issues being brought to our attention. We are sorry you were disappointed with the lack of things to do in the area with Covid but the majority of local information is available on the internet and some our staff might not be aware of what is open and what is not in these changing times.
Read more
parksvisitor wrote a review Aug 2019
Maple Grove, Minnesota1136 contributions409 helpful votes
We stayed here two nights while visiting Voyageurs National Park. Our room was very comfortable and spacious with a nice big refrigerator and views of the lake out our window. There was no A/C, but with the lake breezes we slept very comfortably during our mid-August visit. We enjoyed relaxing on the dock or the benches after our trips to the park each day as well. We ate our breakfasts and dinners at the restaurant, and I've written up a separate review for our wonderful meals there. We also enjoyed the perfectly cooled beer in the bar. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful all around. There was one badly worn spot on our carpet near one of the beds, but otherwise our room was very clean and well kept up.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: We enjoyed lodge room #2.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon and Jenn... G, Owner at Sandy Point Lodge
Responded 23 Aug 2019
Thanks for the review! We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay here and hope you have the chance to return in the near future. On you next visit, if the temp. of your room is uncomfortable, please let us know as all of our rooms do have central air that we can turn on during hot days. Thanks!
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaKabetogama
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sandy Point Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Sandy Point Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Lake Kabetogama (6.3 km), Voyageurs National Park (6.7 km), and Locator Lake Trail (6.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandy Point Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sandy Point Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sandy Point Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandy Point Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandy Point Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Rocky Ledge, Kettle Falls Hotel Dining, and Sandy Point Lodge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sandy Point Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Sandy Point Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Sandy Point Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.