We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 311: English reviews
Start your review of Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
 Click to rate
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at kissimee and wanted to go to Clearwater beach and stop over to make a day of it. Hotel was very poor. When either ebtering or exiting the room door slammed so hard and quick that it would take a childs hand off. after it slammed shut I was the only member of the family who could open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
hotel421, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Good day, We are sorry you experienced these issues during your stay. These issues will be looked into right away. Our guest experience is very important to us so we will be taking care of these issues right away. We do hope you give us another try if you visit Clearwater Beach again. Regards Magnuson Hotel

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room and hotel in general was pretty outdated, but the staff, price, and environment made it very enjoyable. Never had problems with cleanliness, and the beach is literally right across the street from the hotel. The hotel is by everything, so walking is no problem. There is a free (tip only) taxi service called Florida Free Rides! They take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KristenLL2015
hotel421, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for our review and kind words. Your review will be good also for others who are looking at coming to Clearwater beach. Hope to see you again soon Regards Kathy

Walled Lake, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I gave this hotel five stars because it was a great place to stay even though there is a lot of updating and maintenance to be done. The rooms were very clean. The beds were the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on! The first room we were in the sliding glass doors broke, so management placed us in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmholmes127
hotel421, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time for our review and very kind words. It was a pleasure having you visit with us and hope to see you again soon. Take care Kathy

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dirty room. Outdated/not well kept. Wouldn't recommend. Got our money back because we were not impressed. The front desk worker was not welcoming when we entered, and not apologetic when we described our displeasure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly Q
hotel421, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for a review and we are so sorry you experienced some issues. Yes we are a older hotel but we try very hard to be nice and clean for our guests. We do hope you give us another try. Regards Magnuson Hotel

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have never written anything negative about any place I've stayed in the past, including inexpensive motels I have had to stay while on the road because of no other availability, however, I can't keep silent about my recent stay at the Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach! What a disaster! Yes, compared to others in the area, it was more economical,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Igino A
hotel421, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Good morning, We are so sorry you experienced these issues during your stay with us. I will research to see which room you were in so we can look into these issues and take care of them right away. We do hope you give us another try if you visit Clearwater Beach again. Regards

Western Nebraska
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

For the price this is the place to stay! Across from the fantastic beach with beautiful sunsets. You can leave your car at the hotel and walk to everything or get a ticket and ride the trolley. Room is not fancy (older) but well kept and the staff are great. Even provide a light breakfast. Only drawback for us was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deloresh624
hotel421, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for our review and kind words. It was a pleasure having you visit with us. Hope to see you again soon Take care Kathy

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were very nice and helpful (especially Kathy). The hotel is an older one, but the room was very clean as was the pool area. Location was great - right at the start of the Beach Walk. Easy walk to restaurants and Pier 60. Parking is free if you book direct with the hotel which we did. Having fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicky W
hotel421, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you so much for taking the time for our review and kind words. It was our pleasure having you visit with us. Hope to see you again soon. Just call us. Take care Kathy

Hudson, Florida
Reviewed 19 February 2017

This was my second time staying at the Magnuson and will stay again not only for the exceptional customer service but for the location, friendliness of the staff and all over value of the room. They were able to accommodate an early check-in and upgraded our room at no extra charge (spacious room with kitchen and a beautiful view of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 5justdoit33
hotel421, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you so much for your review and so kind words. This review will help others who are planning a trip to Clearwater Beach you gave them a lot of good tips of things to do. It was great meeting you and do hope to see you again soon. Just call me. Take care Kathy

Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 12 February 2017

The location is great, the pool was clean, the pictures must have been taken long ago because it's pretty run down at this time, toilet didn't flush unless held down, bathroom fan was torn apart and rusted out, elevator is very dirty and smells really bad, breakfast consists of Little Debbies and watered-down juice. I will not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Addi211
hotel421, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry you were up happy with are hotel. We are a older hotel but try to keep up with remodeling and updates. We will work harder to fix these issues. Magnuson Hotel

Cheshire, UK
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Despite a good location and nice, helpful staff, the condition of this hotel was a disappointment. The rooms are pretty much outdoor balcony accessed, motel style, which means there's noise as your neighbours door slams shut. All the metal work outside is rusty and has been painted over. The elevator smells like an engineers workshop, and the standard of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABalancedView
hotel421, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for our review. We are so sorry you experienced these issues which will be looked into right away, We are going to start with the exterior painting shortly and look into updating our rooms. We do hope you give us another try on your next visit. Take care Kathy

185 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 km away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#49 of 95 in Clearwater
416 reviews
0.1 km away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.2 km away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#42 of 95 in Clearwater
262 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#34 of 95 in Clearwater
765 reviews
0.6 km away
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
#72 of 95 in Clearwater
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach presents our guests with the very best in tropical island feel as you step outside our hotel doors into the white-sands of Clearwater Beach, Florida. Within seconds you can be comfortably sitting in a lounge chair feeling a wonderful Gulf coast breeze upon your face. You will enjoy soaking up the sun, majestic ocean views and the warm waters of Clearwater Beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach

Address: 421 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range: $184 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Carle Place, New York
over a year ago
Chicago, Illinois
10 months ago
Syracuse, NY
over a year ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor and up has good views of the sunset!”
 of 5 bubbles KristenLL2015, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother.”
 of 5 bubbles iginoa792, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the 4th floor with balconies facing the beach are the best”
 of 5 bubbles heidik832, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Would ask to go elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles Mona806, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“When requesting a "ocean view" room make sure you call them, those rooms are very limited.”
 of 5 bubbles 189IsabelM, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5