We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

GulfView Hotel on the Beach

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (230)
Room & Suite (67)
Pool & Beach (39)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#10 of 10 resorts in Clearwater
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make GulfView Hotel - On The Beach their resort of choice when visiting Clearwater. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Beach Walk (0.7 mi) and Citizens Commission on Human Rights (1.6 mi), guests of GulfView Hotel - On The Beach can easily experience some of Clearwater's most well known attractions.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at GulfView Hotel - On The Beach offer a flat screen TV, a kitchenette, and a refrigerator.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including 24 hour front desk and a sun terrace. Guests of GulfView Hotel - On The Beach are also welcome to enjoy a pool, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, free parking is available.

Clearwater has plenty of steakhouses. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Island Way Grill, Watercolour Grillhouse, and Bob Heilman's Beachcomber, which are serving up some great dishes.

Should time allow, Pier 60 and Sand Key Park are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

At GulfView Hotel - On The Beach, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Clearwater.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Paid private parking nearby
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish

Location

625 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2643
GulfView Hotel on the Beach
454Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 90
  • 117
  • 91
  • 57
  • 99
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Chuck K wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions
+1
Dirty little hotel that's falling apart. I wish I would have read more reviews. We usually never have issues where we stay but I haven't stayed in a hotel this bad in a few decades. The hotel next door built a MASSIVE parking garage that's twice as tall. The view is cars coming and going with people reeving their engines through the night. It was tough to sleep, there was noise all night (cars and music). I was hoping for a peek-a-boo view but nothing. The bathroom was old with the ceiling flaking off into the shower and onto the floor. The elevator and halls REEKED of marijuana. While we were there the hot tub was out of order - not heating up nor would the air jets work. Only about 6 rooms have any decent view... We were both so disappointed with this stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jo P, Owner at GulfView Hotel on the Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us. My apologies that you did not like the view that you booked. We would have been happy to upgrade you if you had asked.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sharon S wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions
Booked this hotel with a little caution, due to reviews. Turned out we loved it! The best part was being right on the beach. Room was clean and had space for a roll-away bed (extra $15/nt). Little kitchenette was perfect for our needs. Stayed in a 4th floor room on the side of the hotel facing the neighboring parkade, but it still offered a decent view of the beach. Hotel is old but everything had been updated. Good value for the price. The only issue we had was the smell of weed we encountered at certain places in the hotel. Would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Get up early to find the best seashells on the beach. Lots to choose from! Shepard's next door...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jo P, Owner at GulfView Hotel on the Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
We work hard to make sure that all of our guests have a wonderful time and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, as with all hotels, we occasionally have some guests that impact the comfort of others and those guests are dealt with on as needed basis.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Judith O wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
This is a DUMP. Very old and needs renovation. The water pressure is low and beds are terrible. Carpet so old there is a smell. There are doors that open to a small deck but no screens. If you've ever been to Florida you know it is the land of bugs. People screen in their pools no less glass doors. You need to call if you want your room cleaned. There are no chairs or lounges on the beach. They charge you $15/day for an old broken down lounge that my backside went through. Bathrooms are from the 1950s and so is the carpet. The frame on my mirror was broken all over and the room chairs have holes and are torn and in bad shape. The pool and hot tub are dirty. Stay somewhere else. I didn't take photos as it's so bad.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Find someplace else to stay,
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jo P, Owner at GulfView Hotel on the Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Although I would have preferred you had a better stay, we highly appreciate your comments as these are helpful in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve our services. BTW, very few hotels in Florida have screens on the sliding glass balcony doors. I have worked in hotels in Florida for over 15 years and haven't seen 1 yet.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kim P wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions
I traveled here for a few nights. I’ve never slept better. Room was cozy and with the balcony I just loved the view. The housekeeper was friendly, as was the maintenance man who helped me as I got the key stuck in the safe sideways. The women were very friendly and helpful. Kind enough to let me leave my suitcase and bag back there behind them, otherwise I’d have been souvenir shopping with a suitcase on wheels. I can’t thank them enough. I found myself smiling a lot here, and it was just exactly what I needed. Great room, great staff!! I would highly recommend. The view from the room nothing short of stunning.. 🤗😊🏝️
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: They have great rooms. friendly staff went above and beyond for me!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jo P, Owner at GulfView Hotel on the Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so happy to hear the staff was friendly and that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eileen N wrote a review Dec 2023
Palm Harbor, Florida205 contributions92 helpful votes
Can not say enough good things about this hotel for the price. Live locally, but needed an over-night getaway from daily stress, so booked through Trip Advisor. My room was on the bottom floor with good parking and a view of the water. There were a few things missing in the room, such as a clock radio and coffee maker, which were replaced immediately upon my request. The staff is exceptional and will go out of their way to be helpful if you need anything. This is my go-to place when I just want to get away from it all over-night or for a few days. Did not want to leave, but then all good things must come to an end eventually. Will definitely return there in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Shephards Resort has loud music until Midnight, & the other side of the building has no view,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jo P, Owner at GulfView Hotel on the Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
And we love having you stay with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jon wrote a review Dec 2023
Fort Lauderdale, Florida73 contributions36 helpful votes
I’ll start off this review by saying it’s not the Hilton and you get what you pay for. Establishment was nothing glamorous but minimally adequate for a beachside stay. Check-in was flawless and staff was pleasant. Room and common areas definitely need upgrading. Pool area was adequate with ample beach area. Proximity to activity spots was stellar. Depending on your needs may be a jewel or an average place in a great location.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jennifer R wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
We saved $100 from hotels next door and had a phenomenal stay. The room was extremely clean, unbeatable location and were treated and welcomed by each and every staff member to feel almost like family. Chey, Diana, Joyce and Chad (we got to know them as they were so accommodating and kind in the several times we have stayed there) surpassed everywhere we have stayed this past year. I don't understand the complaints on other reviews because this place is a gem and well taken care of. You won't be disappointed, highly recommend and it's our forever "go-to" on Clearwater Beach!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Best choice for value, location, upkeep and hospitality shown! Everything was excellent!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Arthur P wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
If you are looking for a 5 star hotel? This is not it. But if you want a place to hold your stuff while you go exploring? Want a nice comfy bed? Want friendly outgoing staff? Need that awesome view? A pool and hot tub? Close walking distance to everything? Free parking? Private beach? Don't want to break the bank? Free music from next door? Then this is the place for you. Yes, it is a little rundown. But that is not why we are here. The main attraction is the sunset. And boy does it deliver. The music next door is not as loud as everyone says. And once you close the balcony door? Pure silence. The amenities far outweigh the rundown carpet, old cooking area, and tiny drink fridge. But, we were very satisfied and would definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sportstest wrote a review Jul 2023
Wolverhamptpn13 contributions9 helpful votes
I'll start with the positives.... Great location, right on the beach and friendly and helpful staff on reception. Free parking (a real bonus in this area). However, in over 30 years of travelling, I have never checked out of a hotel early, so this if a first for me. The place was tired. Not particularly dirty, just worn out...certainly in need of a really good refurb and modernisation. I can live with that, it was going to be a short stop in Clearwater. What first got me was the noise. Possibly as a result of the age of the place, but sound proofing had clearly not been on the builders list to do. Banging of doors in the halls, loud talking, dragging furniture in the rooms above us, the noise of people walking backwards and forwards. It was constant. It seemed to get progressively worse from the kids (7 and 10) bedtime at 9pm until well gone 11pm....and then continued well beyond 3am. I needed to do some work...the hotel wi-fi was awful and not wanting to disturb the kids, I went to the pool area around 10:30 to find a load (at least 5) kids still playing and screaming and shouting in the pool area (this is some of what we could hear in the room until gone 11)...clearly there are no quiet times or shutting of the pool....moved to the car park and worked in the car for an hour. I really wasn't sleeping at all well (despite the bed being pretty comfortable to be honest), but the noise of an old AC system and from the corridor, outside and other rooms constantly disturbed me. Around 4:30/5am I got up to go for a walk (I frequently do when at home) and decided to head to the beach to explore....turning the corner of the hotel I was faced with a couple having sex in the hotel hot tub! Yup, the very same pool and hot tub my kids wanted to play in the next morning! No thanks! This really was the final straw. I might have been able to adjust to the noise levels, but when the hotel pool and hot tub (which I could see in the reception area is covered by CCTV) is being used without consideration of the cleanliness of the rest of the hotel guests, it is time to go! In fairness reception staff were pleasant and helpful when I requested to check out 3 days early, but as a family location this really leaves a lot to be desired. I certainly won't ever be back, and would never recommend to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Best avoided.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mrs Denis wrote a review Jun 2023
Wesley Chapel, Florida34 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Buyer beware. The lobby, reservation desk staff and location are the highlights. Upon walking in there is a bucket catching water from some sort of ceiling leak The one small elevator takes forever and you can get high from the fumes in there. The carpeting in the hallway is another indicator that this is not for me. I paid for my birthday "quick retreat" and that is a double entendre. They need to remove the smelly and worn carpet and warn people who want a rest that the party at the resort next door doesn't stop until after midnight. Walk to anywhere, nice restaurants nearby. There is private extremely small sandy area near the Gulf often called a beach, but whatever. This is a NO for me.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The partial balcony view is nice if it rains you can still sit outside. There is a frig and a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Clearwater area.
PRICE RANGE
S$201 - S$341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
econo lodge beachfront hotel clearwater, econo lodge clearwater, clearwater econo lodge
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaClearwaterClearwater Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GULFVIEW HOTEL ON THE BEACH: UPDATED 2024 Resort Reviews, Price Comparison and 240 Photos (Clearwater, FL) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about GulfView Hotel on the Beach
Which popular attractions are close to GulfView Hotel on the Beach?
Nearby attractions include Captain Bligh's Landing (0.07 km), Cle' (0.2 km), and The Wave Night Club (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at GulfView Hotel on the Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at GulfView Hotel on the Beach?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at GulfView Hotel on the Beach?
Yes, free parking, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to GulfView Hotel on the Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salty's Island Bar & Grille, Cabanas Coastal Grill, and Sandbar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at GulfView Hotel on the Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at GulfView Hotel on the Beach?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at GulfView Hotel on the Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to GulfView Hotel on the Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Church of Scientology Information Center (2.6 km).
Does GulfView Hotel on the Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is GulfView Hotel on the Beach accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.