We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

905 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 853: English reviews
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I live in South Florida and come up at least once per year to occupy an oceanfront room and sleep with the sliding glass doors open to hear the ocean...love this place, it's extremely clean and comfortable...I always come alone and thoroughly enjoy my short break from home...

Helpful?
1 Thank donnabrookes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We loved our stay at Tropical Winds! Our rooms were clean, right on the beach, nice indoor pool and café downstairs had great food and very friendly service. Housekeepers also did a great job too! When we come back to Daytona we will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Amy G
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Large bright airy clean rooms. Good location right in the beach. Friendly, helpful staff. We are nearing the end of 3 weeks in USA & this was the best hotel we stayed in so far. Great value for the money& wish we could've stayed longer.

Helpful?
Thank Sparkyboy512
Clarenville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned home following another month long stay with our friends at Tropical Winds, our ninth! Thanks to manager Chris, Miss Gwen, Sarah, Kristen, and all staff, old and new, for making this stay as nice as the others have been. This continues to be our favourite place to vacation and we are looking forward to next year already! We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the new updates and decor!!! I love turtles!!! Always clean, staff always courteous and we have never had any issues while staying here. This is our GO TO place to stay in Daytona...no other Hotel will get our business. We stay here at least 2-3 times a year!!! Can't wait till next time. See you soon!!! Heather Driggers Maise

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
Powder Springs, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in around 7:00pm. The front desk clerk Mrs. Gwen was so friendly and helpful she was absolutely amazing. We had such a pleasant stay and reserving our room was so easy before we arrived. No complaints here! We will be staying there from now on. Thank you Tropical Winds for a great experience and excellent service. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank elisew317
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel just last night and I will tell you, I am so extremely impressed by how immaculate it is. Yes it's showing a little wear, but it's location, the staff, and the amazing view is unbeatable. Go ahead and book here with confidence. We will be retuning after the first of the year. This is our... More 

Helpful?
Thank JulieB713
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Wow - what a wonderful review. Thank you so much for posting this. We greatly appreciate your kind words and it is good to hear that you were "so impressed" with our hotel and staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Christine Lane - General Manager More 

Stockbridge, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was a wonderful stay! The room was clean and ready for me when I arrived! Check in was very smooth and the front desk associate was very nice and helpful! It was in proximity to the boardwalk (including restaurants, bars, and the moving theater)restaurants, and shopping center (which includes a bowling alley) ! I definitely will return!

Helpful?
Thank Slim_DeVito
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. Sounds like we met all of your expectations and we look forward to another visit from you. Christine Lane - General Manager More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff was awesome. Very polite, kind, courteous and friendly. After my hotel got damaged from the hurricane I had to find another room on short notice. Tropical winds was an amazing hotel and I'm glad I ended up staying here. The oceanfront balcony was amazing. The room were very clean and tidy plus I loved the stove and sink.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jake Z
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for posting such a positive review. Glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you after the hurricane. We appreciate you recommending us to friends and family. Christine Lane - General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great stay! We were able to update our room to a suite with a great view. The room had everything and more than we needed and it was large enough for our son's travel crib. Everyone was courteous and the room was very clean. We will stay here again when we go back to Daytona.

Helpful?
Thank Hannah R
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you are planning to return next time you are in the area. Christine Lane - General Manager More 

494 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (375)
Viewed
View from Room (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (133)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (117)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Standard Room (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
7.2 km away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 103 in Daytona Beach
719 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#16 of 103 in Daytona Beach
1,247 reviews
5.6 km away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#12 of 103 in Daytona Beach
1,062 reviews
1.9 km away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#17 of 103 in Daytona Beach
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 North Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32018
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Price Range: $104 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Vacatia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Indianapolis, Indiana
Indianapolis, Indiana
Greenwich, Connecticut

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always make sure it's oceanfront!”
 of 5 bubbles donnabrookes, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Oceanfront is always the best!!!”
 of 5 bubbles heathermC116MX, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“8th floor, beach side, was a great room for us.”
 of 5 bubbles hannahr849, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“first floor not the best view but the convenience to beach pool and car were worth it. (No elevator rides!)”
 of 5 bubbles alic364, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Specify floor”
 of 5 bubbles tamaramC3335WI, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay