We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

The Islander

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Islander
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 152: English reviews
Start your review of The Islander
 Click to rate
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We started out our spring break in Destin FL with crummy weather but our lovely newly renovated condo in the Islander was definitely a sunny spot in our bleak weather forecast. We made reservations through Air BnB with Real Joy. We were surprised that the keys were not at the front desk when we arrived but quickly realized that we...

Thank Royaltyrocks
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with the kids. The condominium complex has a large, heated pool and two large spas. Be sure you ask about what to expect when booking a unit. Some items like asking for a couple of garbage bags seemed to be a luxury as WE were told "it's not a hotel." All units are independently owned, some are...

Thank lunchladyg
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Islander again. With regard to sundry items we will always supply more garbage bags, dishwasher soap or toilet paper if you are stuck. However we only supply enough sundry products to get you up and running. All our staff know this and this should have been explained to you more professionally. Once again thanks...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We stayed in UNIT 214 and accommodated our family of 7!!!!! This condo was renovated and the pictures we found on line vrbo represent perfectly. The kitchen, bathrooms, living room area AMAZING!!!!!! The beds are extremely comfortable and the ottoman in living room folds out to single bed that our 10 yr old loved...short walk to beach and all amenities...

Thank Bryan W
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. Unit 214 had a superb remodel a couple of years ago and is one of the Islander's nicest units.

Helena, Alabama
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Visited here and stayed in Islander 3008 in building #2. I can't say enough about this condo complex, how well maintained it is and every condo we stay in are all very well kept (and we've stayed in many at this complex). The third floor is about as low as you can stay to see the beach well. Our condo...

2Thank Dana0216
Hampstead, MD
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Stayed in 516 rented from Holiday Isles Property Rentals. Very comfortable. Master has memory foam mattress that is very comfortable. Twins in second room.Beautiful view of East Pass from balcony. 2 pool and 2 hot tubs. Chair and umbrella on the beach daily. Only problem was pool closes at 10pm. Good place for all ages.

Thank BosleyKlan
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. The Islander rental company supplies 2 chairs and 1 umbrella daily from March 1 to October 31. With so many families staying at the Islander we have to have quiet time from 10:00pm to 8:00 am , hence the pool closing time of 10:00pm.

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

My family and loved our stay here! Very nice and clean units and very spacious!! And it was an amazing price!! We were saddened to leave and we cannot wait until next year to visit the Islander-Destin again!!

Thank shaetuttle
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, we look forward to seeing you again soon !

Benton, Arkansas
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

We visited this resort July 2015. Stayed a week and had a great time. Accommodations are good (average condo set-up). Has a few more things to do than typical time shares since this is a resort. Beach is nice, and we were usually able to get a good spot. It is within walking distance of the jetties ( though the...

Thank Gregdeb30
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review, we glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you come and enjoy our facility soon.

Zachary, Louisiana, United States
Reviewed 29 July 2016

My family has come here for ten years, and I must say this year is different. The cleaning and upkeep of the facilities seem to be lower. Resort personelle told me that I was not the first person to say so, and that they were having a hard time finding good workers. Check in times are being pushed way back...

Thank Benton F
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

The Islander Rental Company check in time is between 3-5 pm, this has not been extended or changed in the 10 years I have worked at the Islander. On peak weekends some units are not ready until after 4.00 pm and so far this year all units have been ready before 5 pm. The beach gate was broken for two...

A TripAdvisor Member
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

We have been coming here for 6 years and see this year we were there to checkin at 330pm and check in is for 3pm. The room was not ready and the lady was so rude. I asked if she could give me an estimate of how long before the room is ready and she replied no. We had to...

2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

We are sorry for your experience however our lease agreement clearly states check in is between 3-5pm. To date this year all units have been ready by 5.00 pm and in fact most units are ready by 3.00 pm or earlier . There is no excuse for rudeness, and for this I must apologize. If you arrive prior to 5.00...

Hot Springs, Arkansas
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

My family and I come to the Islander condos every year,we reserve 3 condos yearly. In the past we have always had a great experience with our condos but this year it was very very frustrating. Our room was filthy,the huge carpet rug was disgusting,there was black build up all over the air return with no filter , the furniture...

1Thank Bobby B
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were unhappy with your unit. Indeed the assistant GM went immediately to the unit to address all your issues. When she had finished you said you were much happier. The following morning the housekeeper that cleaned the unit knocked on the door to make sure everything was ok and she was told it was....

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (116)
Room/Suite (5)
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Pool/Beach Area (20)
View from Room (9)
Dining (2)
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (31)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Room/Suite (3)
Pool/Beach Area (5)
View from Room (1)
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
3.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
13.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
2.6 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#24 of 39 in Destin
429 reviews
3.1 km away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#9 of 56 in Destin
347 reviews
16.7 km away
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Islander condos are 2 bdrm/2 bath and feature a private balcony and a fully equipped kitchen. Amenities include 2 pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and a gym. Please note you must book through the Islander Rental Company to get the VIP program including FREE beach service. The off site rental companies do not offer our VIP program. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Islander

Address: 502 Gulf Shore Dr, Destin, FL 32541-5076
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Price Range: $145 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Islander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Destin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Islander staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Islander staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“101, 201, 202”
 of 5 bubbles BentonF, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Could not see family on the beach from 3rd floor....would recommend a higher floor to see beach due to the distance from hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 394cathyb, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Unit 308 is great!”
 of 5 bubbles P104BWana, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose the east side. West side is a harbor view.”
 of 5 bubbles D9859LIstevet, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“First floor, obviously not much of a view besides lawn and the houses/condos between facility and beach...but upper stories - really pretty.”
 of 5 bubbles dank671, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5