We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grove City Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Grove City Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I asked my wife what stood out for her. She prepared our meals during our stay. She liked the new appliances,a big microwave located over the new glass topped range. The new refrigerator had a separate upper freezer section. The couple who manages the motel are very friendly and live on site. This is a real "Old Florida" motel with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
tents0118, General Manager at Grove City Motel, responded to this review

Tom and Linda (Wonder Woman), I enjoyed our breakfast together I only wish my wife could have joined us. I envy your sprite and can,t wait to hear about your adventures when you get back. The meek shall inherit the earth, The brave shall get the ocean. Joan & Dan More 

florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This motel is for the economy minded fisherman, if your wanting to fish Placida or Englewood. The pictures on their website are pretty accurate, about 400 feet of living area with tile floors, wall unit air, picture tube TV and small dining table. What is really nice is a full kitchen, full size fridge and updated stove, if you want... More 

Helpful?
Thank oldsnook
tents0118, General Manager at Grove City Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Oldsnook, It was our pleasure having you stay with us.You where a delightful couple with some great stories. Its people like you that make us stay in this business. The new back door in the room you stayed in is being installed as I am typing. Once the last 3 doors are installed and two more new AC/Heaters. Our... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Second stay here. Newly remodeled room. Reservation process was a breeze. Will definitely stay again. Far enough off the main drag to be quiet. Loved it. Under new management. Everything including linens.

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
tents0118, General Manager at Grove City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Mr B, I did not get much of a chance to talk with you. I actually like to meet all of our guests its the best part of my job. My wife told me your family and you where a delight. Hope to get a chance to get acquainted with you in the future. Dan. More 

Brackenridge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2016

at first glance, the place looked a little run down. The garden/pathways were in need of maintenance and a little intimidating. We never sat outside - too gloomy with all of the trees/shrubs that blocked the sun. Chairs/table in grill area were dirty from being left out all the time. Stayed in the cottage in the back and upon entering... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
tents0118, General Manager at Grove City Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry for any inconvenience and hope it did not lessen your vacation experience. The property is under new ownership and all rooms are being remodeled. My wife and I took over as managers in April of 2016. The rooms have all been given a deep cleaning and we have hired a housekeeper to help when its busy. We... More 

Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Booked this room sight unseen based on reviews I had read online. We arrived after the office was closed 7pm on a Saturday? And there was a note taped to the door that we were in room # so and so. The door to our room was unlocked and the keys were on the table. As soon as we swung... More 

Helpful?
Thank MeghanKnowsBest
tents0118, General Manager at Grove City Motel, responded to this review

I could not agree with you more. My wife and I as well as the new owners are non smokers. We have gotten rid of old smoke smells by cleaning, painting and disinfecting all rooms as well as all furniture that was not replaced. I don't use Uber but have contacted two very reliable cab companies that we work with.... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

I would like to say that my wife and I enjoyed our stay in this hotel room. It seems like we would, Beautiful flowers outside, nice simple decor. Unfortunately the pervasive stink of disgusting cigarettes was so thick we could hardly stand to be in the room. Our clothes, hair and all our belongings stunk like cigarettes after we left.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua B
tents0118, General Manager at Grove City Motel, responded to this review

At this point in time there is no smoking inside any of our rooms, this goes for the office and our on site apartment. More 

West Allis, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2015

This motel is perfect for those trying to save money in order to experience more on their vacation. My sister and I really enjoyed our 4 night stay, and loved that we had the gorgeous pool all to ourselves every time we went out! The owners are incredibly nice. They give you a lot of space making you feel like... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wisconsingal531
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
216 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2015

We had reservations based on TripAdvisor reviews. We asked for our money back and left before even staying the night. The owner very nicely obliged us. When we closed our door, you could see the outdoors. When we arrive, in daytime, there were at least 5 mosquitoes. The towels and room furnishings were very shabby. The price was economical but... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank debbymaniac
tents0118, General Manager at Grove City Motel, responded to this review

As part of our remodeling we have added new kitchens air conditioners and rear doors. The new owners are willing to do whatever it takes to modify the property without loosing its old Florida charm. My wife and I along with a new housekeeper work diligently on the upkeep of the property 7 days a week. We have also removed... More 

Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Don't let the other reviews fool you! If you're looking for a place to hang out with the bros and smoke, this is your place. If you're looking for a place to celebrate an anniversary with your wife, RUN! This place is old and could use a good cleaning both inside and out. Furnishings are mismatched and look like they... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 28thAnniversary
tents0118, General Manager at Grove City Motel, responded to this review

Sorry for you inconvenience but I can assure you that all of your concerns have been addressed by both the new owners and my wife and I who are the new managers. As for our living room furniture its true. Each has a Pull out couch, a chair, coffee and end table. Each room is different from the other and... More 

Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We stayed here for the month of February this year. Great location. Units are not big but have everything you need for a great stay. We brought our dog for the first time ever and it worked out well. We are looking forward to returning next February.

Helpful?
3 Thank Kathymichigan2014

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
3.1 km away
Sun Life Beach Hotel
Sun Life Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Englewood
87 reviews
19.9 km away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#7 of 13 in Venice
111 reviews
27.5 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 km away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
981 reviews
1.9 km away
Sun Coast Inn
Sun Coast Inn
#5 of 10 in Englewood
85 reviews
11.5 km away
Pearl Beach Inn
Pearl Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Englewood
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
OLD FLORIDA CHARM AND LAZY DAYS IN A PET FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE. Accommodations consist of 8 units and one garden cottage. Each with 1 bedroom, separate living area and complete kitchen. The bedrooms have either one queen bed or two twin beds with sleeper sofa in the living room. The pool is located in the quiet garden area surrounded by palm trees tropical vines and many other flowering plants. Englewood offers unparallelled access to the gulf for fisherman. HOME OF THE WORLD'S GREATEST TARPON FISHING. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grove City Motel

Address: 2555 Placida Rd, Englewood, FL 34224-5460
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Englewood
Price Range: $134 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grove City Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grove City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grove City Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Grove City Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a cottage available in the rear of the motel if you like more room and privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles Q850YEthomasj, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are available with Twins ,Queens and conversion Kings, request what you need and the managers will help”
 of 5 bubbles oldsnook, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We liked room #1 because it was on the end and had extra windows.”
  • Park at your door
  • Kitchen area
  • Living Room area
  • Room with twin beds
 of 5 bubbles In-the-Northwoods, 21 Mar 2015 | Read review
“I would say a cabin in the back as sometimes you could hear the road noice.”
 of 5 bubbles shawnmsw, 15 Mar 2015 | Read review
“They are self-contained units in the midst of lush greenery. Very clean and comfortable. Excellent for an overnight or even longer stay. Great value for the money.”
 of 5 bubbles Nicholas2389, 11 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay