We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shipwreck Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shipwreck Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shipwreck Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 228: English reviews
Milford, Indiana
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

The first room we had one small and the bathroom shower was old, small and needed some work. We asked to be moved and paid for an "upgrade". We could hear the people next door through the air vent as plain as if they were in our room. We also had tiny bugs on the kitchen counter everyday. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeriLynn127
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that you did not like the Shipwreck Motel. Yes, our rooms are older and some smaller than others. We do our best to keep them clean and maintained. Our grounds, pools, and our 5 star location is our best attraction. We do have plans in the works for some major renovations, so hopefully some of your...

Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

The location is great but otherwise, the room was very very small and stuffy, the mattress was old,and bath room needs to be updated. If your expectations aren't high, you won't be disappointed. Was an adventure but don't think we will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Front Desk M, Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review. We are sorry you did not care for the room that you stayed in. I hope you brought it to the attention of our staff so that they were able to offer you something in another location. All of our rooms are a bit different and some older then others. We are making an...

Arcadia, Florida
Reviewed 16 February 2016

We have stayed at the hotel before but never in the cottage. 6 of us. Plenty of room and stocked with everything you need. Private deck overlooking the canal. The only problem was their grill had not been taken care of it and couldn't cook outside. Great place for the money and would stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
Front Desk M, Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our Cottage at The Shipwreck. The Cottage is a favorite by many of our guests. We had some crazy weather recently and our grills have taken a beating. We are considering some replacements. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!!

Georgetown, Kentucky
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed 3 days with my husband in February for a get-a-away. The room we booked was dated but very nice and clean. Cooking utensils could be updated. The next morning our hot water was not hot. Someone came to our room to check the water immediately. The front desk stated they were upgrading us to a 2 bedroom cottage instead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanda1123
Front Desk M, Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. WE are so happy that we were able to address the hot water concern and be able to relocate you to another room. Our staff tries very hard to address any guests concerns as quickly as possible. We are thankful that you brought it to our...

Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

The location is convenient & you can walk everywhere, which is why we started to stay here 5 years ago! Since then ... No upgrades or changes have been made. The same broken TUBE tv is in the room, the remote doesn't work, shower temperatures are steaming hot or ice cold! Its my opinion the owners of the property do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TJprobie26
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

We are a Clean, Funky, Budget Motel in a Five Star Location. Our prices are much lower than many others in the area. We replace and upgrade appliances and electronics as needed. We spend several months a year deep cleaning, painting and upgrading bedding in all rooms. We also tend to and upgrade the outside areas year round. When there...

Waterford, Michigan
Reviewed 3 February 2016

The location was perfect, right smack dab in the middle of everything, and a short walk to the beach. Loved being so close to everything. The room itself was clean, spacious, had a kitchen area which we would have loved if we were staying more than a weekend. Beds were comfy, shower was TINY, all the windows were drilled and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LauraWright57
Front Desk M, Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Or location is perfect if you seek after the action of the restaurants and bars and of course the beach. Please let us know on your next visit with us as we would be happy to put you in...

Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

Rose was fantastic! What a beautiful place with great service! Will be back :) pool was warm and very accommodating . Location was perfect, gift shop had everything, very relaxing, great restaurants near by, friendly staff, beautiful view, and perfect place for family time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittnei N
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent response. We love to hear that our guests had a nice stay and enjoyed our accommodations and the surrounding area. We are so lucky to be here. Thanks also for mentioning our very hard working Rose! See you again soon!!!

Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

Nice and clean, everyone was nice! Def will stay here again. Great location to walk to everything. Price was good too! We stayed in a 2 full bed room, and had 3 people. We had to pay another $10 for the third person which I thought wasn't fair because you should be aloud 4 people with 2 beds but that's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leannh323
Front Desk M, Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Very Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and Even more happy that you will make the Shipwreck your vacation destination for FMB. We look forward to your return. Thanks again!!

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

A little late writing this review... Picked to stay here in October as a cheaper alternative to our last fort Myers hotel... It didn't disappoint. Location is to die for... Right next to Times square and overlooking a beautiful waterway. Had a few problems with the electrics in one of our rooms, the electrician was unable to rectify it during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cleopatrick
Front Desk M, Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are going to be doing some updating and renovating to some of our rooms and I hope that you do plan your next vacation with us. Feel free to request a certain room and we will do our best to accommodate any...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We spend 3 night at the Shipwreck and everything was perfect: the host was very polite, respectful and let us change our room because of un educated neighbours. The room was very pretty and also the place, with its pier along the canal. Peaceful, facilities for cars and washing machine. Nice pool and close to the beach. Plus, I forgot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabkhan70
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to accommodate our guests in every way in order to make your visit as wonderful as possible. Unfortunately we are not usually able to pick our neighbors :( but, we are glad that we were able to move you to more peaceful location. Hopefully you will be able to return soon....

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#19 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
272 reviews
6.9 km away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,471 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
964 reviews
6.0 km away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#24 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
216 reviews
1.2 km away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Eclectic, Key West Style Motel. Situated on a lovely lagoon. Boat dock, BBQ grills, 2 pools. Tiki huts. Efficiency rooms, 1 and 2 bedrooms also available. Located on Famous Old San Carlos Blvd. between Times Square and the Back Bay. Walk to everything! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shipwreck Motel

Address: 237 Old San Carlos Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2145
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $177 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shipwreck Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shipwreck Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwreck Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Shipwreck Motel Fort Myers Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shipwreck Motel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Shipwreck Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“canal view”
 of 5 bubbles HJ-JMD, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We prefer the rooms on the back side, away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles jdixon2017, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“East side (small pool) has street views of restaurants and hustle and bustle. Perfect what we were looking for.”
 of 5 bubbles Waterlilly9704, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a water view”
 of 5 bubbles G5743SNmargarets, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room in the rear a quieter”
 of 5 bubbles ovidiokaba, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5