We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sun Burst Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sun Burst Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sun Burst Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 199: English reviews
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We went about a year ago to go see the White Sox play Tampa Bay, when my husband found this gem to hang out with our then 2 year old son. If you are looking for something cozy and homey this is something for you. Room - It included a sofa bed/ kitchenette / living room area, and a bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann A
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review. We do strive to try to make sure everyone that visits has a great time. I am truly sorry that you had to park offsite. That is part of the reason I started doing the parking passes. We found out that some of the bar patrons were parking here. We hope that you...

Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Ok, so the shower in room 21 could use a good scrub and in general, the place needs some updating, but location is prime...hands down! I stayed there one night with my wife and 11 year old son and had a really peaceful, quiet time. We weren't expecting any luxuries, yet we did get everything we needed to enjoy our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank santiagoi1
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you had a good time and wish that you could have stayed longer. The shower in that room has been scrubbed and is scrubbed each and every time someone checks out. Unfortunatley, that room just hasn't had the bathroom updated yet. The tiles are old...

Butler, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 March 2016

We just returned to Penna. from a month at the Sunburst in for the 6th straight year. Over the last 6 years its become our winter home from mid Feb. till mid March. There are many fun and interesting activities in the area, something for everyone. Refer to my post from Mar. 2015 for a list. The Inn is under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DClev66
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Denny! We love having you and Kathy here each year. You will see many changes between now with the new paint to next year when you return. Have a great year in Penn and see you again soon! Thanks, Amy & Elise

White Lake, Michigan
Reviewed 7 March 2016

we were in room 17 for 3 nights, hopefully it is scheduled to be repaired and updated the bathroom was a disaster. the shower curtain ,which easily could have been replaced was a moldy mess. fortunately we were moved to room 15 for our last night. It was a much better room but of course more expensive. The beach is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank donden2015
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We are in the process of updating all of the rooms as the new owner is allowing us to do the necessary work. Unfortunatley with this being peak season we can not get into the the rooms yet, so we only have one completely finished. The shower curtain was...

Fort White, Florida
Reviewed 4 March 2016

I needed a last minute, overnight, on the beach, during high season in Florida. No easy task. How serendipitous it was that I came across the Sunburst Inn. If you are looking for a high end, resort type hotel, this is not for you. We happen to love the old mom and pop motels along the Florida coastline. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey P
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to send us a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back again soon. Thanks, Amy & Elise

Prior Lake, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 March 2016

This is one of the worst hotels we've ever stayed in! The room was dirty, small, and very over priced! The staff complained about the fact she had to do all the cleaning since her co worker wasn't there! The parking is right in front of the door so there is no privacy in the room. We couldn't even have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MNMoose55372
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not like your room, however, when you make your reservation online I do not have the opportunity to help you figure out what would be best for your needs. I did not complain about cleaning the rooms, I was simply explaining to you why I was running behind for your arrival. My staff was...

Mount Uniacke, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Awesome beach, however the room was filthy, fridge was molding,no stove as advertised, a hotplate so dirty it wasn't used, prior guest garbage left, door damage consistent with having been forced prior, dirt in dish drawer, sludge in shower, pull out couch with no blankets, Yet, Beach was very nice when out of room.... But sadly, the room resembled a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lee C
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review. However, I would like to say that if you had come to the office and let us know of any of your issues this would have all been handled very quickly. We do not make a practice of putting people in dirty rooms, as a matter of fact I have always felt...

Maryville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 4 January 2016

I had vacationed in nearby Indian Rocks about 6 years ago and was more than ready for a return visit. However, this time, we were traveling with a pet. So, the "pet friendly" advertising for this inn really captured my attention, as Florida is generally not very pet friendly. The hotel is located as gulf front as it gets. You...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura A
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed yourself. The issues that you raised to us are being addressed. Also, I am sorry for the confusion on the window. I didn't realize that the painting was gone from the bottom so that is also being taken care of. It is the little things that people mention that we are unaware of...

Ocala, Florida
Reviewed 11 December 2015

We stayed at the Sun Burst Inn in December of 2015. The room was quaint, the bed was comfortable, and it has a small kitchen with pots, pans, and utensils provided. The motel is right on the beach with beach chairs provided. A number of good restaurants are close to the motel. We would return to this location.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Don S
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you come back again soon! Thanks, Amy & Elise

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Great get away to visit the beach and not be bothered by a lot of other folks. Small Inn with very few amenities. Basically you are paying for a place to sleep, cook food and enjoy the beach. It is very no frills. Not a place where you are going to stay in your room all day. No pool. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kendra W
Amy C, Manager at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. So glad that you enjoyed yourself. Hopefully you didn't freeze to much going home! Come visit us anytime. We look forward to having you back. Thanks, Amy

666 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (219)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (434)
Viewed
Beach (56)
Viewed
Beachfront Room (74)
Viewed
Effeciency Room (56)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (89)
Viewed
Penthouse (131)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Shores
2.7 km away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
383 reviews
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#1 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
775 reviews
8.4 km away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
107 reviews
0.4 km away
Barefoot Beach Resort
Barefoot Beach Resort
#1 of 20 in Indian Shores
553 reviews
3.3 km away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Families & pets are always welcome! We want you to relax and enjoy your stay with us. Weddings, renewal of vows and memorials on our beach are welcome. We have had more than one happy event here and, in fact, the owners renewed their vows after over 30 years of marriage. Sun Burst Inn is located in Indian Shores, Florida directly on the beautiful beaches of the Gulf of Mexico. Our hotel is within easy reach of shops, restaurants and all you need for a wonderful vacation experience with a regular bus service at your door step if you need it. Our inn has eleven units, all with either kitchenettes or full kitchens, so it's your choice depending on what you feel you need. All units in our two story beachfront facility are either directly facing the world famous Gulf beaches, or a few steps from the beach. Enjoy Florida at its best the way it used to be: quaint hotels, friendly owners AND with all the modern conveniences. That's what you'll get when you visit The Sun Burst Inn. Pristine white beaches, splashing Gulf waters, and spectacular sunsets. All just steps out your room. Visit us soon and find out what the "real" and "friendly" Florida is all about! Lounge chairs, beach umbrellas, coolers, beach towels & beach toys all supplied with NO RESORT FEE. The Gulf Beach area provides many fun things to do because we are within easy driving range of attractions like Busch Gardens, Clearwater Aquarium (Home of Winter the Dolphin), The Salvador Dali Museum, Lowry Park Zoo and for shopping there's John's Pass Village and the Ellenton Outlet Center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sun Burst Inn

Address: 19204 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785
Region: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Price Range: $190 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Burst Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sun Burst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Burst Hotel Indian Shores
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sun Burst Inn staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Sun Burst Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose upper level rooms facing the Gulf. Outdoor tables and your own deck space.”
 of 5 bubbles kimberlysH4531NS, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Reserve the gulf front rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Rick090905, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“20-21 gulf side”
 of 5 bubbles rdbouldm, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles DClev66, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here!”
  • The room was tiny!
  • Wall and floors were filthy!
 of 5 bubbles MNMoose55372, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5