We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rock Reef Resort

652 reviews
Save
Traveller (465)
Room & Suite (109)
Pool & Beach (69)
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good31%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bonsai garden”(16 reviews)
“love rock”(8 reviews)
“key west”(47 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (652)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Rock Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
344
183
48
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
344
183
48
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbonsai gardenlove rockkey westhot tubpicnic tablesboat slipsthe cottagesmain buildinglaid backdock areatwo double bedsprivate beachlounge chairsrooms were cleanwatching the sunsetsmall refrigeratorgrounds are beautiful
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have enjoyed staying here on 3 separate occasions. There is a beautiful picnic area right on the edge of the water, the have kayaks for rent at no charge, and a beautiful view of the sunset. Across the street is Ballyhoo's...More

Thank Julia S
Response from Linda-management, Manager at Rock Reef ResortResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for returning to Rock Reef Resort for three vacations. It makes us feel that we have done something right to make you feel at home and provide you with things to do and a great place to watch the sunset. We are glad...More

A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on a stop over to Key West, but our next visit to the Keys we will spend entirely at Rock Reef. It has the rustic charm I will always take over corporate slickness, a fantastic location on the Gulf (great sunsets), and...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from Linda-management, Manager at Rock Reef ResortResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for staying at Rock Reef. We will now look forward to your return visit! We have always tried to keep Rock Reef as close to authentic old Florida as possible for people to experience some of the past. We try hard to provide...More

Reviewed 19 April 2017

I was so disappointed in the room I got here. It was small, it smelled and was really old. The air conditioner was old and so loud I had to shut it off. The grounds were nice and clean, the pool was nice. I would...More

Thank debbieBethel_Maine
Response from Linda-management, Manager at Rock Reef ResortResponded 15 May 2017

Debbie, I am so sorry that you were disappointed in your room selection As I read your review, I am a bit confused, as we have not had a complaint about a loud air conditioner. We pride ourselves on having some of the quietest air...More

Reviewed 18 April 2017

My husband and I recently stayed at Rock Reef Resort. It was like revisiting a little slice of my history, the days in my youth when my family would vacation on the keys. Rock Reef is a typical Florida Keys motel. (If you want a...More

Thank Ladybug541
Response from Linda-management, Manager at Rock Reef ResortResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are so glad that we were able to bring back fond memories of your past. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and noticed that we have taken the time and care...More

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

If you have to stay here, and I strongly suggest you do, let me know when as I need to make sure they'll have my favourite cabin available. We were a family of 5 and stayed in cabin 7, 2 bedrooms and a double bed...More

Thank aps550
Response from Linda-management, Manager at Rock Reef ResortResponded 16 May 2017

Thanks for writing a review and staying with us at Rock Reef. We are always glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be back to see us again. Please remember to book directly with us for the best selection of rooms and...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
134567120
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Pool
Beachfront
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Heated pool
Details
Price range
US$176 - US$353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$176 - US$353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (465)
Room & Suite (109)
Pool & Beach (69)
Dining (12)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
battoe2
20 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Linda-management | Property representative |
Thank You
0
Votes
AKSME
24 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Linda-management | Property representative |
Call direct at 800-477=2343. It depends on your date of arrival. Please call for more information. Office hours 9 am to 9pm,
0
Votes
frankdavisdirect
21 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Linda-management | Property representative |
There are bike lanes on the highway, sidewalks with car pass thru, some neighborhoods and other bike areas here in Key Largo. Please remember to wear your helmets and use caution will biking.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Rooms #9 and #10 are right on the water/ beach."
Read review
"the units by the waterfront make you feel like you are on your own private island."
Read review
"Rooms with a view on the pool seem quieter because they are opposite to the highway."
Read review
"if you pay more money you will get a room in the back that is much larger and has better views"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing