We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,863: English reviews
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
191 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had done a lot of research before making our reservations at this hotel, and I'm grateful for the amazing reviews here on Tripadvisor. We had been warned that reservations often get botched here, but using a professional travel agency we didn't think it would happen to us. Well, we were wrong, and our junior suite (precooked with baby crib... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hans H
San Diego, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel. The grounds are beautiful, and well maintained. All the staff are very friendly, and willing to go out of their way to help you. Loved the large chess board, and pool tables, lots of things to do on the property. Will be back.

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Josh R
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here back in October 2013. This was not our first stay at The Reach. To our surprise, the room was infested with cockroaches. Babies and adult size! We made reservations months in advance and were given a room over the trash compactor. We would wake up in the middle of the night and see many roaches on the... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank James Michelle H
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Reach Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying us. We do work hard to establish high standards of quality and guest service, and we are... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Reach has a fine location with a private beach; guests are entitled to the amenities at the Casa Marina next door. I stayed in what they call a "traditional suite", which is, in reality, a very large room with a kitchenette (no micro or cooking) that included a table and two chairs, so it was indeed big. The bathroom/dressing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 63RetiredTraveler63
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

1 st disappoint we booked trough otel services. Never again. We called a day in advance , had booked 2 nights , they only had us for one. After a few emails to Otel, seemed to be resolved . We got there at 130 and still had problems with the reservation. Many other we're checking in and going right to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary N
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying with us. We do work hard to... More 

NY, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just like its sister hotel the Casa Marina, furniture and furnishings in the room are old and dirty in the rooms we stayed in. Maid service left alot to be desired. The front desk and the pool/beach people are friendly and great. Being a Diamond member, we were given champagne on arrival and upgraded. If you are handicapped, I would... More 

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Michael I
New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Other than the beautiful grounds, the hotel has serious problems. The staff wasn't very helpful on more than one occasion. The restaurant's décor isn't suitable for children. My boys, 17 and 13 felt uncomfortable and didn't want to eat there. We didn't get menus for quiet some time and then got up and left. The next day we dined on... More 

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Rinat L
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying with us. We do work hard to... More 

San Francisco, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Even when service issues were discussed directly with a manager, things were never resolved. In fact, they grew worse over our 3 day stay. The restaurant was very good and we enjoyed being able to sit and view the beach and pier.

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Dear Steven, I am very sorry to hear about your recent experience at The Reach Resort and welcome you to contact me directly to discuss the matter further. Paul Bartush, Manager More 

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I will begin by saying the rooms were gross. The carpet in the rooms were filthy-- you could not walk on the ground barefoot, the bathrooms were dirty. It took forever to get the rooms cleaned and it took hours to get extra towels and the pull out couch made up. The food service and all of the servers are... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank K J
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, I cannot apologize enough for what sounds to me like a very poor experience at our property. I welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues that you experienced during your stay. Please contact me directly via email. Paul Bartush Manager paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com More 

South Lyon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hasn't been updated in years. Staff needs work. Very loud noise coming from air condition unit on top of building. Beach was cleaned off either day we were there. Overall if wasn't for the location we would stay somewhere else.

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin R
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kevin I am sorry that you did not find The Reach Resort to meet the expectations that you had. I would like to speak to you directly to explore possible ways to make amends. Please reach out to me directly via email to set up a convenient time to talk. Paul Bartush Manager paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com More 

1,474 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1128)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (238)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (225)
Viewed
Room/Suite (138)
Viewed
View from Room (100)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (369)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (274)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Ocean-View Boutique Suite (49)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Traditional Room (43)
Viewed
Tropical Courtyard Room (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.9 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
1.9 km away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#14 of 49 in Key West
2,132 reviews
1.8 km away
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $517 - $988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#14 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Water view rooms instead of courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles 9kerrys, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The courtyard view was the best bet, as you also get a partial ocean view looking out onto the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles karenauclair, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the court yard view most have a slight ocean view.....”
 of 5 bubbles Flashrabbit, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some are better than others, we were on the street view. Not great”
 of 5 bubbles biggtman, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beach view!”
 of 5 bubbles margaretg885, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay