We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southwinds Motel

1.4 km from Key West centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
1321 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

568 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Southwinds Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 457: English reviews
Bloomsdale
Reviewed 24 September 2016

For the price we paid, I was a little comprehensive about the motel but as soon as I stepped foot on the property and saw how well it was maintained and how hard working the employees were, I knew we had made the correct decision to stay there. Claudia was great at check-in. Giving us lots of advice about rentals...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arnolds2go
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Arnolds2go, Thank you for this great review of our motel. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Key West. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

Reviewed 20 September 2016

Amazing, friendly staff! The place is old, but it has recently been remodeled and refurbished, and is SO CLEAN. We had such a positive experience with check in, and appreciated the map of Key West and the suggestions for where to go and what to do. We loved that there was no additional charge for wifi or parking, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa S, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this 5 STAR review of our motel. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Key West. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I've stayed her a couple of times & never been disappointed. The staff is awesome and can take care of your rentals & even book your ocean activities for you! There's an area to do you laundry, vending machines, two pools & easy access to all the things you do while on Key West. Great value for the money &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fuzzy618850
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear fuzzy618850, Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of our motel. We have some of the best amenities for the price here in Key West. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Key West. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We moved to Southwinds after having a bad experience at another hotel, and we were delighted with the change! The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the service absolutely second to none. Considering the price - which was $60 less a night than the place we were staying in - you get everything you need from towels for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emshill
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Emshill, I was so pleased to read that you were able to have a fantastic stay in Key West once you got to our front door. We have a great staff, location and the best value going for hotel rooms in Key West. We look forward to being you hotel going forward. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

100% satisfied w/ everything Amazing Staff Special plus to Claudia who is a really nice :) Perfect location Perfect room - super clean !! 3 pools Free parking Complimentary coffee & muffins at the morning Definitely coming back to the Southwinds Motel for our escaping time away from the city to meet the local in KeyWest Thanks you to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lise d
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

I love when I read our reviews that start with "Just Amazing" and "100% Satisfied"! Claudia is one of our amazing team members that work hard everyday to make sure every guest gets that amazing experience. We look forward to hosting your next trip to Key West. All the best. Jim Heineman VP Operations

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We booked Southwinds Motel online. We booked a king room, with wifi and parking included. No meals mentioned. What a pleasant surprise when we arrived, we had parking outside our room, we were greeted by the friendliest staff and made so welcome. The room had lovely modern decor with fridge and microwave and the bed and pillows exceptional. The motel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Monique H
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Monique H, Thank you so much for this great review of our motel. I was so pleased to read that we exceeded all your expectations enough for you to spend an extra night. We look forward to hosting you next visit to Key West. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

NYC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Chose the hotel based on price and location from a 3rd party site! The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet! The hotel location was even better and more conveniently located than I had expected. What made the stay most memorable was the helpful staff. Juan and Natalie (I'm pretty sure that was her name) were awesome. Both staff members made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MIAMIchristopher123
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear MIAMIchristopher123, Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review of our motel. Natalie and Juan are two of the many superstars that we have on our team that work hard everyday to make our guest stay so memorable. We look forward to your next one or maybe even a two night stay here in Key West....

Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 September 2016

This is a quiet, small motel near the Southernmost buoy. There's a little grocery store across the street, but the motel provides a delicious breakfast of coffee, fruit, juice, and muffins. Claudia and the other reception desk personnel are friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable about Key West. We felt welcomed and accepted as guests, so our stay was very relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan k
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear susan k, Thank you so much for this great review of our hotel. Claudia is one of our many wonderful team members that work hard everyday to make every guests stay so enjoyable. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Key West. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

Bonita Springs, Florida
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I simply cannot say enough good things about Southwinds Motel. The staff was amazing and accommodating. We loved our room from the cabin like feel to the wonderful bed and sheets. Located near the south end of Duval but quiet and peaceful. 3 pools and great off the street parking. Don't let the word "motel" fool you, it's so much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherbert
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear catherbert, Thank you so much for calling our motel "Key West's Finest Gem". We have a great low priced product, in a great location, with all the amenities that one could ask for. We look forward to your next trip to Key West. All the best. Jim Heineman VP Operations

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Arrived here after a long journey from Orlando. We just wanted somewhere to rest our weary heads. The room was suitable for this purpose and the bed was huge. The shower room was a bit dated but served the purpose. As we were only there the one night we did not use all the facilities, there was s coffee machine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wackyjacky6
SMSJEH, Owner at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review

Dear Wackyjacky6, Thank you so much for this great review of our motel. We look forward to hosting you next visit. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
4.2 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#39 of 50 in Key West
2,275 reviews
2.9 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 50 in Key West
1,619 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.8 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#25 of 50 in Key West
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clean affordable motel rooms only 1 block from Duval Street at the Southernmost point of the Island of Key West. Many restaurants and shops within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southwinds Motel

Address: 1321 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $202 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Southwinds Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Southwinds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwind Hotel Key West
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southwinds Motel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Southwinds Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet location but close to everything”
 of 5 bubbles 305audreyf, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It's a motel so the view is always the car or parking lot. All seem quiet with one of 3 pools nearby.”
 of 5 bubbles 311charlesg, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Close to everything yet far enough away that we had peace and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles lisa1972c, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All Good! Three pools to choose from so any room is a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles brightideas2017, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the inexpensive standard King room. There are several rooms of various larger sizes that might be more comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles kth100077, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5