We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Traveller (401)
360
Panoramas (7)
Video
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
959Reviews
660Photos
19Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 344
  • 343
  • 141
  • 95
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Large, clean appearing room. Hardwood floors, comfortable King bed. Properly well taken care of. Pool was large enough with plenty of seating for breakfast. Breakfast was a simply continental food. Tasty-staff had food out early and kept area clean and restocked
Read more
Response from Matt H, Manager at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time as our guests.
Read more
Wow. An old historical wooden house in downtown Key West. The best location. Still quiet. Swimming pool in the back ... like a paradise. And breakfast by the pool every morning. What a delight. Room was small and walls like paper ( you could the neighbor snoring!) but we used
Read more
Response from Matt H, Manager at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Responded 2 weeks ago
We agree visitors to Key West should not miss the chance to stay our beautiful historic home, Chelsea House Hotel. Very pleasing to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your request for gluten free breakfast options. We hope to see you again!
Read more
I will never come back here. Overpriced and merely average.....no tea/coffee machines in room, TV nothing but adverts, reception manned only part time, no room service, tiny tiny pool and they seem to let anyone use it!! breakfast hardly worth bothering with and yet the charge
Read more
Response from Matt H, Manager at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are sorry to hear that you feel that you did not receive the value that was expected. It is true that we do not offer room service for food and beverage. All of our rooms are serviced daily by our housekeeping staff. Albeit our pools are smaller in size guests only do enjoy taking a dip and enjoying the lounging areas around the pool. We are glad that you found your room large in size and the bed comfortable. Thank you for your feedback and being our guest.
Read more
We have never been to Key West so wanted to be close to the hub; this Hotel was therefore ideal. The added bonus, albeit at a price, was excellent parking. Check-In: Our check-in was slick and the Lady was very friendly. Unfortunately, she gave us the wrong time for breakfast
Read more
Response from Matt H, Manager at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Responded 5 weeks ago
We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay at the Chelsea House. We will be sure to share this with the guest services team and apologize if the communication was incorrect about our breakfast hours. Thank you for being our guest!
Read more
We were expecting more considering the price of this room. The service at this hotel is great. The men and women who work there are really efficient. They were super friendly and very helpful. The hotel has a couple nice little pools that are really quaint and a decent
Read more
Response from Matt H, Manager at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Responded 4 Feb 2019
We are pleased to hear that you found our staff efficient, friendly and helpful. Our rooms are supplied with bar soap, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner all from Eco Boutiques. We will keep your feedback in mind for any plans of change in the future. We hope to see you again as our guest!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorChelsea House Hotel in Key West
The Double Queen Room at the Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorChelsea House Hotel in Key West
The Double Queen Room at the Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorChelsea House Hotel in Key West
The Double Queen Room at the Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorChelsea House Hotel in Key West
The Double Queen Room at the Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorChelsea House Hotel in Key West
The Deluxe King Room at the Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
PreviousNext
12345639
Hi, is there a bar on property? Thanks
No, not a bar, only service is continental breakfast in the mornings
1 vote
Show all answers
Can you accommodate a standard motorcycle trailer?
Parking is limited so check with the hotel
0 votes
Hi Geaux S, at the Chelsea House Hotel the Superior Queen Guest Room, Deluxe King Guest Room, 2 Queen Guest Room, and the Chelsea Junior Suite all have mini fridges. The Standard Queen Guest Room does not. We do offer on-site parking for $20+tax/night.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi Roy unfortunately we do not offer a military discount but we do offer our best rates in the summer.
1 vote
Is there a C/O sundeck on the premises? Thanks
Hello sir, We have a beautiful sundeck at the Chelsea House Hotel, but it is not clothing optional. Minimum bathing suit bottoms are requested please. We are a few blocks away from a cool bar that has a clothing optional upper deck with fantastic views of Duval Street you might enjoy: The Garden of Eden.
0 votes
PreviousNext
1234
"Good location and quiet at night"
"We had room 21 and it was perfect."
"Ask for a balcony and room on higher floors"
"stay in the main hotel?"
"Please note that the hotel does not have porterage so you will need to carry you bags to your room and some of the stairs are thin."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$193 - US$481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chelsea house pool & gardens hotel key westchelsea house pool and gardens
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysKey West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing