We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Papa's Hideaway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Papa\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Papa's Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is not a hotel or even a B&B; it is a (very nice) private home that was divided up into four separate units for lodging and run by a management service. As a result, there may be fees and basic information that is not disclosed or poorly disclosed in advance and services are extremely limited. We arrived for our...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank snarkus04
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review

Our guesthouse is defined by our level of service that perhaps this guest did not take advantage of. While still being a quaint historic guesthouse, our commitment to guest service is of the highest levels. We offer full concierge services, complementary airport/ferry transportation, business services complete with a guest work station in our Old Town Key West offices and much...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I just stayed at Papa's Hideaway last weekend for Lobsterfest. We had never stayed prior to the property being sold to the property management company, so I really have nothing to compare it to, but I can only assume that having the actual owners there would have provided the ability to talk and interact with locals and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FLboy22
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. One of the things that we are trying to ensure that we do not lose is our interaction with our guests and to ensure that they are aware of the expanded service offerings that the property can now provide to guests. Out of our Duval Street offices, we offer a full concierge service, complementary shuttle,...

Hollywood, Florida
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great location nice rooms.No hot water in the shower it was Luke warm at best. The pools edge was covered with Cat droppings.I saw the girl cleaner just hose around it. pretty disgusting..I cleaned out the breakfast fridge.It had moldy food and was out of the cream cheese and jams I complained on my way out. to deaf ears. You...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leec92013
San Diego, California
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I did so much research booking a trip to Key West and I'm so happy I finally decided on Papa's Hideaway! We stayed in room 3 downstairs. It was clean, had a comfortable amenities, great bed and a lot of room. We felt like it was a small apartment! We stayed 3 nights. We parked the car and never moved...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kimxray
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review

Many thanks for stopping by and letting us know. We can't wait to have the opportunity to serve you again here in paradise! Take good care.

Brandon, Florida
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed in suite 1, which is upstairs. It had plenty of room for 4 of us for a girls' weekend. The sofa sleeper was newer than what is shown in the pictures online right now, and the king sized bed was extremely comfortable. Papa' s is in a nice quiet location while still being close enough to walk to all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy R
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for stopping by and sharing your experience with us. We are working hard to progressively offer additional services to our guests to make their stay with us as convenient and memorable as possible. We hope to see you again in the very near future!

Sydney
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 before the change of ownership. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon, where we found an envelope pinned to the back gate which contained instructions on entry and directions to our room. The next day we went down to the pool area for breakfast, which was cereal and toast etc. By this point we still...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Melby
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This was my second visit and my friend and I had the cottage for 4 nights. We were present for the ownership change over and I'm pleased to report that the new manager did continue to provide breakfast and even generously offered to drive us to the airport. I will miss the prior owners, Fred and Andrea who were wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nikklou
Windsor
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This review is for everyone who has stayed at Papa's in the past and loved it so much to return. It has been recently sold to a vacation rental company and our 5 visit to this location we have noticed a few changes. The wonderful foiliage that helped make the property so private has been hacked to the point that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandee_steph
Hamilton, Ohio
Reviewed 17 May 2013

most memorable experience of my life and my wife's !! we visited in 2006 and they allowed us to park our motorcycle's inside their private yard so we never had a worry in the world about their security . we were treated like family and the guest all seemed like family ! we would wake up to the tropical sound's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank josephdcearley
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Hubby and I returned to Papa's Hideaway May 1, 2013 to meet up with a gal we met while staying there two years ago and who had returned with a friend. We've been Papa's "veterans" for some years and have enjoyed this charming, quiet accommodation. What a surprise, then, to learn during our two-night stay that the facility had been...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barbara Y

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 km away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.3 km away
Southernmost Point Guest House
0.2 km away
Douglas House
Douglas House
#28 of 77 in Key West
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
992 reviews
0.6 km away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#36 of 77 in Key West
438 reviews
1.1 km away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#49 of 77 in Key West
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Papa's Hideaway is a historic Key West Inn with all the charm of Hemingway's day and the convenience of being just a block or so off Duval Street and a few blocks from the Southernmost Point and South Beach. Yet, Papa’s is an oasis of tranquility, a lush compound on a quiet lane. Feel your tensions release as you bask in the warm tropical sun at poolside. Listen to the trade winds rustling through the palms, blowing all of your cares away.Papa’s Hideaway is the perfect mix of location, atmosphere and value.Come join us and make Papa’s your personal hideaway.All of our rooms are set up for your comfort and convenience:• King-size bed plus a queen sleeper/sofa *all purchased brand new in 2013!• Private bath stocked with towels, shampoo and hairdryer• kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, dishes and cutlery• Cable TV • Air conditioning • Free WiFi• Each room opens directly to a deck• An iron and ironing board, extra blankets and pillows in each roomYour room is set in a wonderfully lush property with a heated pool. A gas grill is available to all of our guests and plenty of tables and chairs in the gardens for dining outdoors.In our guest services office at Key West Vacation Rentals, 1075 Duval Street, C19, you will find a wealth of information about local restaurants and attractions, as well as maps and brochures. Ask us about anything you are interested in doing. We can arrange for snorkeling, diving, fishing, ghost tours, kayaking, sunset sails, jet skiing, parasailing, Dry Tortugas trip and more!For your convenience, bicycle rentals are available through our office. Let us know when you book your stay and we will arrange to have bicycles delivered to you.We are happy to do whatever we can to make your stay more enjoyable.We hope you have a great stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Papa's Hideaway

Address: 309 Louisa St, Key West, FL 33040-7513
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $318 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Papa's Hideaway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Papa's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papa`s Hideaway Hotel Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Papa's Hideaway staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Papa's Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best for large groups..can be rented individually but it worked out beautifully/very comfortably. Walking distance to almost everything.”
 of 5 bubbles br4nd1, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Let folks know that you have to get up a flight of stairs if they are in one of the rooms on the second level. Thanks ”
 of 5 bubbles tianc953, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The two-bedroom house is the best rental on site.”
 of 5 bubbles elisan274, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“In unit #4 The bathroom light switch is outside on the left side of the door, which threw my wife and I off almost every time we used the bathroom. It became a running joke after a while. ”
 of 5 bubbles Cheeze4425, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Can't think of a single suggestion that would improve the place. I can speak for both families, everybody loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles 78dougj, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5