We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Southernmost House Hotel

Show Prices
#18 of 50 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Southernmost House Hotel
The Southernmost House Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

538 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Southernmost House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 489: English reviews
Sanibel Island, Florida
Reviewed 28 November 2016

The grounds of this vintage, modernized, mansionesque B&B are very beautiful with a lovely ocean view. You can have your breakfast on the back porch of the main house overlooking the oceanfront pool or at any of the tables closer to the surf if you prefer. There's a poolside bar where you can sit and sip a cocktail or you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flubba
Diana W, General Manager at The Southernmost House Hotel, responded to this review

The Team at Southernmost House Hotel appreciates the kind words and we look forward to your next visit. Diane Balkwill General Manager

Oradell, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This hotel is comfortable and the pool is very nice, excellent place to stay in Key West! The staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are comfortable. The location is great and the views are awesome!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CPCP1900
Diana W, General Manager at The Southernmost House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. The team at Southernmost House Hotel looks forward to your return visit. Diane Balkwill General Manager

Reviewed 21 November 2016

My husband and I stayed here with my daughter and son-in-law for the first couple days of our trip down to the Keys in October of 2014. The house is amazing. The views sitting out by the pool are amazing. You have your own personal sunset spot. Food is excellent and staff is very helpful. Stay if you can!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
Diana W, General Manager at The Southernmost House Hotel, responded to this review

The team at Southernmost looks forward to your return visit. Paradise is awaiting! Diane Balkwill General Manager

Winter Springs, United States
Reviewed 16 November 2016

The bed and breakfast is very beautiful, the employees are amazing. We loved our stay and enjoyed the pool area that looks out to the ocean. A little pricey at certain times of the year but we loved the experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 430maddenp
Diana W, General Manager at The Southernmost House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I will share your wonderful experience with the team at Southernmost House Hotel. Diane Balkwill General Manager

Reviewed 15 November 2016

Key got unprogrammed and there was no one picking up the emergency number, all staff leave at 10pm. Was left outside room for 2 hours until a security guard showed up. Who attempted to reach the same numbers with no luck. Hotel is beautiful, experienced sucked. Then the hotel did not want to refund me the full amount of my...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mitch T
Diana W, General Manager at The Southernmost House Hotel, responded to this review

As of December 1, 2016 the Southernmost House Hotel is under new management. We do hope you will give us the opportunity to create a beautiful new experience. The Southernmost House Hotel has 24/7 on site security with the new management. The new team values our guest experience and we look forward to seeing you soon. Diane Balkwill General Manager

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 13 November 2016

I did a ton of research before our trip on where to stay... I mean a ton. and kept coming back to this place over and over again in my searching. So I booked it. And it did not disappoint. From the minute we arrived I knew I had made the right choice, totally personnel service. Smiles on everyone's faces....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marc G
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Wow! This place is awesome. The entire facility is well-kept, there is an above average continental breakfast each morning, the pool/ocean area is perfect, and the staff will bend over backwards to make you feel welcome and accommodated. We couldn't have picked a better place for our first visit to Key West!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
Reviewed 7 November 2016

The staff here were the best I have encountered. From the check in to house keeping to the pool bar, they were super helpful and friendly. We stayed for our honeymoon and the setting was beautiful. Loved the pool and the pool bar. This vacation could not have been any better.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristy B
Crofton, Maryland
Reviewed 28 October 2016

This is a stunning property with an ideal location in Key West. We were staying there for a wedding - the entire house and property was booked with family and friends, and we intended to extend our stay to enjoy our time in Key West. Unfortunately, there was an error with our reservation that we did not know about until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kclarke512
Management response:

Dear KClarke, While I was delighted to find that you enjoyed the property and the wedding you were attending, I apologize that you were not able to get a peaceful nights sleep due to the location and noise from the lobby area. I apologize for the inconvenience and will be speaking with my team regarding ways that we can minimize...

Easington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We originally selected this hotel because we wanted a relaxing & peaceful break in a nice location. The hotel is in a great location, great pool and views on the seashore, friendly reception, bar & general staff and good breakfast. On the down side on arrival we were allocated room 107, next to reception and breakfast room, unable to sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen I
Management response:

Dear Stephen, I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the property, its amenities and location, as well as the service we provided. I deeply apologize that you were not able to get a peaceful nights sleep due to the location of the first room you were assigned. I will be speaking with my team regarding ways that we can...

641 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (399)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (185)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Courtyard View Room (36)
Viewed
Ocean View Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 km away
Southernmost Point Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.9 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.1 km away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A sophisticated setting located directly on the Oceanfront. The Southernmost House stands out as Key West's most striking oceanfront bed and breakfast, with 18 spacious, exquisitely appointed, air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Refresh in the cool water of a glistening zero-entry pool as you gaze out at the infinite sea. Enjoy peaceful moments soaking in the sun and a delightful complimentary breakfast. Stroll down Duval Street, towards all the spirit and character that embodies Key West's laissez-faire persona. The Southernmost House is located just footsteps away from Old Town Key West attractions, restaurants & bars, shops and art galleries. Built in 1897 and electricity was installed by Thomas Edison in 1990. The Southernmost House is the 2nd most photographed home in the USA. The most requested location in the Florida Keys for Weddings. The Mansion has hosted presidents, movie stars and dignatarys. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Southernmost House Hotel

Address: 1400 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3133
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $502 - $842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Southernmost House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Southernmost House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost House Hotel Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Southernmost House Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from The Southernmost House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 201 is fabulous! You have the tower on the 2nd floor and the bed was soooo comfortable!”
 of 5 bubbles siemenanna, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the main house for an historic experience”
  • Room 204
  • Room 204 Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles christine102262, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are two rooms on the first floor which are convenient. Upstairs rooms are only accessible by stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 198steveb198, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms are on the 1st floor facing the ocean with private balconies. However there is no lift so these will not suit everyone.”
 of 5 bubbles 773anthonyj, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Balconies on the second floor rooms are nice for sitting outdoors and enjoying the view”
  • Balcony view
 of 5 bubbles Rangeleyman, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5