We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tropical Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Tropical Cottages
Tropical Cottages
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropical Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 260: English reviews
wayne, nj
Reviewed 26 February 2013

on our way to key west we needed a place to spend one night in.....I was so afraid that we wouldn't find one that I booked online through priceline this place the tropical cottages.....the pictures made the place look really nice.....and if I had paid $79 or even $99 it would have been worth it....but they have the audacity to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sparkleina
Sheila L, Owner at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The star rating from Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline is based on customer satisfaction surveys. We have 13 rooms, with different amenities, bed size and decor, in the hopes of meeting the needs of each group. We try very hard, but cannot meet the needs of everyone. We...

niagara falls
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights was comfortable and quiet. great little tiki bar and guitar player. located in the middle of all the keys easy drive in either direction for day trips to keywest or south florida.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natejr
Menasha, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed at Tropical Cottage in January. The first room we booked was located between 2 other rooms and it was horrible, we could hear the other guests, no privacy at all, so don't book #12. However, the staff was great and on our 3rd day offered to upgrade us to private cottage at no charge. The private cottage was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
Sheila L, Owner at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your entire stay with us. We saw your issues and tried our hardest to solve them. Our apologies about the noise from the room next to you. And the guests that were in that room were extremely embarrased that we offered to move you due to them. The gentleman in the...

Reviewed 20 February 2013

My fiance and I stayed here last week for three nights. We were a little disappointed with how small our cottage was (we were in #7), but it was clean and comfortable. A DVD player would have been handy since it rained for most of our stay (boo!), but we didn't even think to ask about one until our last...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wickedlittledoll
Sheila L, Owner at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, in spite of the weather. It is so unusual to have such disagreeable weather for more than one day at a time throughout the winter. And believe us, if there was one sigle thing that we could control....we would choose the weather. Glad to hear you made...

Reviewed 16 February 2013

Thank you so much for just being that perfect place in the keys! From clean comfortable rooms to great relaxing atmosphere. The tiki bar was awesome. Sherry was a great hostess! Thanks again we WILL be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KimK613
Benezette, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Spent three days here and found the rooms old but clean. Staff people were friendly,, courteous and helpful. The place could use some TLC-lamps that don't work, ice makers that are broken and shower drains that take an hour to empty. Didn't try the Tiki bar, because the nightly music claim is fictional-never happened. Full kitchen, but not many cooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi P
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Tropical Cottages, we are happy to hear that you will visit again. On your next visit please feel free to ask the staff for assistance, it is not just our job to help, it is our pleasure! We have a store room full of light bulbs, cookware, dishes, etc.... and an ice machine...

LaCrosse, Wi
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We were happy to forfeit our money and stay elsewhere. Didn't look at all like the pictures. Smelly bathroom, broken tiles on the floor, bare light bulbs in wall sockets, doors to nowhere, peeling paint, dripping shower faucet, moldy musty odors, poor privacy, what more can we say? The beds. .....yuck! On top of that, when we expressed our feelings,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank travelover
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

Just a short response to this review! This "Gentleman" and his party booked our 2 bed suite online at our website....saw the photos...read the descriptions, read the refund policy, and then agreed and booked the room. Upon arrival, he and his party decided Tropical Cottages, were not up to their standards. Sorry, per resort policy no refunds on cancellations the...

Reviewed 24 January 2013

We were traveling the keys for 3 days and needed a middle point to stay. Tropical cottages was in just the right location and not only that it was the cutest place ever!!! The rooms were homey and they had a great lounge area to enjoy yourself. The staff was super awesome and couldn't have been more helpful. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahLeann
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, it is true, Marathon has everthing you need to make for a wonderful vacation in The Keys, and Sombrero Beach is fantastic! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your photo shoot thoughout The Keys. Being surrounded by four lovely ladies and their camera crews for two days...

Reviewed 18 January 2013

Best place these folks are rad! the cottages are darn cute and the staff is super friendly. there is a great little tiki bar and music most nights of the week. stay here if you hafe a chance. The cottage we got was nice, every cottage has a different color pastel theme, its a very relaxing atmosphere and the a/c...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snowbirdsweettea
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed at Tropical Cottages for three nights at the end of December. We really enjoyed our stay. The cottages were cute and looked just like the pictures on the website. The room was simple with a bed, bathroom, fridge, microwave and little table. We really liked the atmosphere there. In the evenings we hung out by the tiki bar....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen F

414 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
2:34
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (120)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Premier King Cottage (55)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (68)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
3.4 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
3.6 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
255 reviews
5.7 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
711 reviews
3.1 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Tropical Cottages

Address: 243 61st Street Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050-2702
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: $180 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Tropical Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Cottages Hotel Marathon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tropical Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay in Unit 2. Could hear traffic from highway and airplanes overhead”
 of 5 bubbles telmquist1, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are probably no good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles KenB912, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get the bigger rooms, they are the nicest!”
 of 5 bubbles 559tashal, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't depend on wifi,usually didn't carry internet, i.e. router was on but no signal in. Sombraro Beach! Close & NICE!”
 of 5 bubbles Airboatmatt, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“wouldn`t go back again !!”
 of 5 bubbles R788JVtrevors, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5