We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Yellowtail Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Yellowtail Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yellowtail Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 232: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Lets start off with rude service...no compasion towards a group of 8 people that got down graded to a room that light was not working, water didpenser is broken...and worst of all A COCAROACH it was late at night when we arrived with a couple of kids and us parents tired from no rest since early in the morning and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mia Bella A
Management response:

Thank you for the feedback. I'm sorry if you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We work very hard to keep our rooms clean and up to date, and I'm sorry if we didn't meet your expectations. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

The week that my family and I were supposed to stay there, my sister is admitted in the hospital.. Since she is the one who paid for the hotel, we called to try and either get our money back or receive a credit... Fail. The guy was such a jerk on the phone. Not one bit of compassion for my... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kaylamaria
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

The reason we take a 2-night deposit is to protect our business from cancellations. I'm sorry for your misfortune but this is a business. You cancelled your reservation with full understanding of our policy. It was thoroughly explained to you that there would be no refund. When you showed up at our hotel anyway without advance notice you should not... More 

Travellers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Valrico, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The Yellowtail Inn is disgrace. The place was filthy. The beach no way looked like what was depicted on their webstire. Our room had dirty floors, holes in every curtain and the futon which was suppose to be the sofa. Electrical outlet were open and the outlet for the kitchen was not up to code. The refrigerator was rusted all... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Donna H
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I'm certain the room was not as bad as you say, because I see our rooms everyday and I know for a fact your description in completely inaccurate. If you make a reservation for 3 nights I see no reason why you'd be surprised that we charge you for 3 nights. Yes, sometimes... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Booked a room at this so called resort and barely could walk into the room because of the awful smell of urine! Christian at the desk then offers another room; super...only it is infested with hundreds and hundreds of flying bugs. So disgusting we leave and are told money will be refunded. Guess what? They do not refund any money... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank maria32772
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you had an unpleasant experience. However, slamming us online does not expedite the refund process. More 

Jupiter, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I was booked at the Bonefish Resort. Couldnt find the check-in office. Called, was told I was upgraded to deluxe suite at Yellowtail Inn. Checked in, they couldnt tell me why I was upgraded. Got to the room, kitchen & cabinets covered in roaches. All kitchens items was dirty. Room extremely small & very dusty/dirty. The is no BEACH front!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't like the free upgrade you were given. Our housekeeping staff is very professional and they do an excellent job, and I apologize if their work didn't meet your standards. I'm afraid I don't understand why you would say there is no beach- I myself find it hard to miss. More 

Key West, Fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed at the Yellowtail Inn for 6 nights in one of the oceanfront cottages (105 and 106 are the cottages). Elijah was the front desk person who checked me in. He was very friendly and helpful in arranging all of the accommodations. I had spoken on the telephone with both Joe and Christian and they too were soo helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank yeldred
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback! We loved having you stay with us, and we can't wait to have you stay again! Thanks for the cake, it was delicious! -Elijah More 

Milford CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

It is not a "pricy" place and very cozy, great beach, gorgeous views!

Helpful?
2 Thank vyanak
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words! We definitely appreciate your business, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay! More 

Homestead, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My weekend started out with me saying "I need to get out of dodge and run away". I live just up on the mainland in Homestead and wanted to visit Pigeon Key as it was the 100 anniversary of Flagler's first complete train to Key West. I'm not rich, not even 'comfortable' in some standards so I was looking for... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Babsy1969
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words, we appreciate your review of our resort! We are constantly working to maintain and upgrade the property to offer the best possible experience to our guests, and we appreciate your feedback. More 

Miami, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

You would think a small family owned property would at least carry amazing customer service for such a poorly maintained property. I was cursed out by the front desk manager, "Christian" for calling to change my wake up call more than once. When I went to confront him about his poor customer service and to check out to go to... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Alice S
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

First of all I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, but I feel like there must be more to the story. This is a resort for vacationing and relaxing, and wake-up calls are not a service we offer. Christian, our office manager, is a consummate professional, and is not related to the ownership. He is courteous and respectful to each... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I agree with the stay in your car sentiment. Smelled so strong of lysol or something that we had to keep patio doors wide open to air out. Looked dirty; didn't want to touch anything. Swimming pool the size of a double hot tub. Outlet in bathroom didn't work. Shower curtain full of mildew. Dirty kleenex left in bathroom; hair... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MarBalaz
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

First of all, thanks for the feedback. I'm sorry if you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are very proud of our rooms and we work hard to keep them in top shape, and I doubt if your room was actually in such a state. We have daily housekeeping service to make sure every room is clean. We actually... More 

216 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
16.0 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
7.3 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
7.5 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 17 in Marathon
243 reviews
0.6 km away
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
15.8 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Yellowtail Inn

Address: 58162 Overseas Hwy, MM58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6024
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: $203 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowtail Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Yellowtail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowtail Hotel Marathon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yellowtail Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Yellowtail Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 105 is an oceanfront cottage where we stayed. Looks like one of the best on the property for scenery and relaxation.”
 of 5 bubbles 831grege, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go here.”
 of 5 bubbles clarkebar99, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles PEFB, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Look at rooms online, then call and ask questions. Different units have different amenities”
 of 5 bubbles Mermaidindisguise, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Move along to the next hotel on your list”
 of 5 bubbles johnthefixerman, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay