We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hammocks at Marathon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hammocks at Marathon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hammocks at Marathon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 302: English reviews
Sharpsburg, GA USA
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in early April. We had a one bedroom unit. We would have liked a water view, but they are limited since the facility is fairly small. We didn't really mind since we didn't spend too much time in the room. The bed was comfortable and the unit was clean. It was very quiet. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank italianlady67
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello italianlady67, We appreciate you taking your time to share the details of your stay at The Hammocks. We are glad to hear that overall your vacation was great. We will look into your suggestion. It is imperative for us to create a comfortable, relaxing stay for all of our guests. Please come back and give us another try. We...

Valdosta, Georgia
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at The Hammocks at Marathon recently and actually had to leave a day early due to the poor quality of the mattresses. The staff was pleasant, and they actually swapped the mattress for another. Unfortunately, that mattress was equally uncomfortable. We could actually feel the individual springs. If you decide to go there, bring your own air mattress.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Deborah H
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Deborah H, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hammocks. We are happy to hear you were satisfied with the service our staff provided to you. However, we regret to learn you did not have a pleasant stay. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to discuss further. Thank you again for your...

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is small; but, very clean. We stayed in a one bedroom villa with a kitchen and it was very roomy. Overall, the hotel needs some TLC and updating. It is circa 1994. Pool chair are stained and worn. Hotel furniture is stained as well as worn. Nothing is horrible; just don't expect Big Cedar luxury because it's not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mrosner21
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Mrosner21, Thank you for staying at The Hammocks. We are happy you found our property clean and spacious. We are committed to the highest standards of quality and appreciate the feedback you have provided. We hope you will consider a return visit.

Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time for two nights and were overall pleased with our stay. Front desk staff very friendly and informative. Studio room had two beds and plenty of space. The air conditioner was a bit off; quite loud and didn't keep the temp regulated very well. Found ice machine only on bottom floor, not every floor as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hsvjen5
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello hsvjen5, Thank you for staying at The Hammocks and sharing your review. We are happy you were pleased with your stay and appreciate your compliments regarding the staff. We regret to learn all aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. If you would like to provide additional details or discuss further, please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. We...

Manquin, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is one of our favorite Bluegreen properties to visit. It is located on the Gulf and is very quiet. There is a wonderful pool, hot tub and tiki bar adjacent to the pool. You can drive to Key West, Pigeon Key or visit the Turtle Hospital or Dolphin Research Center. You can find all kinds of water activities right...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank JohnLucy
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello JohnLucy, We are thrilled that The Hammocks is one of your favorite Bluegreen properties to visit. We are glad our location was a convenience and that you found our accommodations spacious and well-equipped. We are happy you enjoyed our pool area. Thank you for sharing!

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We went to the Hammocks for Spring Break, taking one 15 year old and two 17 year olds. The hotel is wonderful. We sat with the concierge and he told us all about the area, in a quick and efficient manner. We learned about the Marathon Lady for fishing and Porkys for lunch. This is a a small time share...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Amy S
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Amy S, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Hammocks. We are pleased you and your family had a wonderful stay. We appreciate your comments regarding the accommodations and staff. We hope to welcome you back soon and share happiness on your next visit.

Tupelo, Mississippi
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Went on 3 scuba diving boat trips while staying here which was main purpose of our vacation. Also took day trips to Key Largo & Key West. Nice scenery. Do not expect a beach at Hammocks. There is a harbor but no beach. Enjoyed the hot tub area. Pleasant stay but not my fav Bluegreen resort. It was fine as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank phall007
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello phall007, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hammocks. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and found the resort a good location for area activities. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Keys.

Westover, Maryland
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We usually go every spring, but decided to go in October for fantasy fest. Resort is always the best when it comes to customer service, great location, beautiful scenery and excellent amenities. Our favorite vacation location.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dave I
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Dave I, Thank you for your review of The Hammocks. We are thrilled that the resort is your favorite vacation location. We appreciate the compliments regarding the resort and staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Gronlid
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We loved our stay here, staff was excellent, lots of good places of where to go, what to eat. Easy drive to Key West, watched the sun set at Mallory Square!! Room was large, baloney's are also large. We were on a presentation and we loved the sales staff, not pushy, left feeling informed and excited!! Had to drive to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wambus
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Wambus, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Hammocks. We are thrilled you loved your stay and enjoyed the large room and balcony. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Savage, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here as a group of 6, in 2 studio units. The rooms were large, and the balconies were great. The air conditioning worked very well. We did not have any bugs or other pests in our rooms. The rooms each had a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, and dishes in them. There is a lot of parking. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RN_Mom_to_2
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello RN_Mom_to_2, We are delighted you and your group had a nice stay at The Hammocks. We are happy you enjoyed the large rooms, balconies, and the pool area. We hope to see you again soon!

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (265)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
1:35
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (132)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.4 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
9.2 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
707 reviews
15.7 km away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
255 reviews
0.7 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Hammocks at Marathon

Address: 1688 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2121
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: $295 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hammocks at Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your The Hammocks at Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hammocks At Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Hammocks Marathon
The Hammocks Hotel Marathon
Hammocks Marathon Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hammocks at Marathon staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Hammocks at Marathon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unless you are a Blue/Green member - peak season may not be available”
 of 5 bubbles 940bethd, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for water view.”
 of 5 bubbles jhardy128, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for pool view if you can”
 of 5 bubbles trspook1, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for one facing bay upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles janac163, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms 113, 213, 313 all face bay. there are only a few rooms that the view is not good”
 of 5 bubbles aslinpopup, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5