We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Lakeland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Lakeland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 415: English reviews
Fort Pierce, Florida
Reviewed yesterday NEW

It is ok for last resort if nothing else is open they can really use a breakfast better than what they have

 Report
Helpful?
Thank I518ZLjamesh
Reviewed yesterday NEW

it is in need of a remodeling with better wifi coverage and better breakfast options. you paying too much for what you get there. staff is great, rooms are clean, its just feels old, like being in the late 70s-80s.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sklyarenko D
South Florida, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not worth it. It was gross, the lamps were moldy, my husband and I woke up stuffy and coughing. It says non smoking but smelled like smoke.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cjordansimbadad
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Cjordansimbadad; Thank you for the review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Hope you will try us again soon after our renovations are complete.

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The filthiest most run down place I have stayed. Should be closed and renovated. I cannot believe it is a Wyndham property.Mold and peeling paint in every room. Cracked ceiling over the bed. Coffee pot did not work, tub would not drain.Staff was derelict in duties and did not respond to any complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Paula R; Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please come back and stay in one of our newly renovated rooms.

Mulberry, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

In great location right next to express way so you can hit the beaches, theme parks or any other sites you may want to see. Close to many restaurants and shopping of anything you could' possibly want to shop for. Price is good for the money. You get an OK free breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C4033YVwilliamh
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

C4033YVwilliamh; Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you will visit again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Is right next to everything you need....staff friendly....a little noisy Wednesday and Sunday... Water in faucet aweful...smells like sewer water... they have a bar in lobby.. Nice pool... House keepers nice but don't speak alot of English...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca V
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Rebecca B; Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please visit again soon.

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was fine. Just small things like the closet alcove floor had a bunch of dust bunnies and the outlet behind the night stand was black and the lights above didn't work. There was dust in the light fixture grate over the bathroom sink and hard iron build up in the grout of the shower (which comes clean with scrubbing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jajamom
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

jajamom; Thank you so much for your review. I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are making so many improvements that I am disappointed to hear this about the breakfast attendant. I will talk to management about your situation and the cleaning. I do hope that you will try us again...

Lakeland, Florida, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights and it was great really plush comfy beds everything was clean and fresh and all the rooms are all remodeled great front desk Customer service and staff and the best part it was quite

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Melissa G; Thank you for your review. I am so glad to hear that you stay in our new rooms and you were very happy. Please tell all your friends.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I travel a lot for work and stay in many different types of hotels. I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times because it is perfectly located for where I need to travel. Each time I come here it gets little better. This most recent visit, they asked if I wanted to spend a couple extra bucks to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HotelGeorgeM
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

HotelGeorgeM; Thank you so much for the great review. I am glad that you got a chance to stay in one of the newly renovated REFRESH rooms. We have been working hard to complete before the end of the year. I hope you will continue to visit us when in the area. Thanks

Lakeland, Florida
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Phone didn't work, wasn't told about the internet, waited at the front desk while two employees chatted. Wasn't given direction to our room or told about the breakfast. But sheets were very clean and room was good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisacX2393EV
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

lisacX2393EV Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will talk to manager about desk being more attentive. Thanks

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
0.2 km away
Ramada Lakeland
Ramada Lakeland
#21 of 31 in Lakeland
505 reviews
2.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lakeland
2.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn And Suites
#15 of 31 in Lakeland
153 reviews
2.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Lakeland
1.5 km away
WoodSpring Suites Lakeland
WoodSpring Suites Lakeland
#17 of 31 in Lakeland
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Howard Johnson of Lakeland is under NEW OWNERSHIP as of June 2011. Our main lobby and rooms have been completely remodeled as well as our pool area and our brand new breakfast area. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi threw out the entire property. Have a business meeting? Not only do we have the meeting space to accommodate you we also have a business center equipped with a printer for all your important paperwork. We are in walking distance to the Lakeland Square Mall and a dozen major restaurants. We are also located 30 minutes from all theme parks and special events locations here in Central Florida. The Staff of Howard Johnson of Lakeland are here to help you. So call today and reserve your room! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lakeland

Address: 939 W Robson St, I-4 Exit 32, Lakeland, FL 33805-2143
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Price Range: $65 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Lakeland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Executive Hotel Lakeland
Howard Johnson Hotel Lakeland
Lakeland Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Lakeland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Inside corridor rooms are a little more $ but they have been completely re-done”
  • newer bathrooms
  • new room
  • View from bathroom
 of 5 bubbles HotelGeorgeM, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get a room as far away from main road as possible. If not don't stay”
 of 5 bubbles W3557XBthomasj, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor has lees foot traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles williamsS2704WN, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Great location which is Next to the restaurants and mall”
 of 5 bubbles eddiew990, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“Roadside a bit noisy- as to be expected.”
 of 5 bubbles charlieome, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay