We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Save
Share
3101 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4108
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book now with 5% off!
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$170
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$269
US$164
View deal
SAVE US$105
Riu.comUS$189
Priceline
travelup.comUS$269
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (388)
360
Panoramas (13)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#115 of 241 hotels in Miami Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach is located right on the beautiful beach in Florida. Close by are the Art Deco district, a meeting place for international artists and actors, Downtown Miami, the Brickell financial district and the Wynwood Art district.Lincoln Road Mall, a popular destination, is also nearby. Miami International Airport (MIA) is approx. 19 km away.This hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travel. The 284 modern decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi offer maximum comfort and in the meeting room you can successfully organize your events and meetings. Get in shape in the fully equipped gym. For gastronomy lovers, we offer a live cooking stations at our main restaurant, breakfast and dinner buffet, as well as 2 bars (snacks and special menus).
Read more
Room & Suite (100)100
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:Book now with 5% off!
409Reviews43Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 148
  • 129
  • 51
  • 29
  • 53
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bonita C wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
So I booked this hotel based on the proximity to the beach and proximity to walk to key places for my birthday weekend. For the price, it was a good choice. However, a few weeks after booking another family member wanted to travel with me and the hotel wanted to charge an additional $667 just to add the person to the room (mind you that would make the total people 3). It wasn't like I asked for an additional bed or anything. I saw that someone else had this issue. This was absolutely an absurd price to pay so that someone could have breakfast and a pool towel. A little disappointed that the bar did not accept cash. But, I managed it. But overall, I booked here again because of the value with breakfast. They do need some form of entertainment here. After the pool shuts down it is kind of boring.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Katherine M wrote a review 9 May
Easton, Pennsylvania, United States11 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
I stayed at the Riu miami 2 years back with my husband and loved it so we planned a visit with the kids. We are 2 adults and 5 kids age 19,17,17,14, and 9. We all had a great time. We had 2 rooms. One ocean front and one ocean view on the 7th floor. Our views were amazing! Loved just sitting out there relaxing. Sunrise is stunning. Beds are just ok. Nice shower but toiletries are lacking. The gym is nice but small when you put a couple people in there. The beach is beautiful and beach service was very friendly and helpful. Beach loungers are nice. Kind of hard to get umbrella but we were able to get one. The pool bar is their highlight. They are so friendly and really make connections. The front desk was always very kind. There was a mistake in how many people were in the rooms so one person didn’t get breakfast and I had to pay. That was a little ridiculous but a small issue. I have to give the connoisseur a big shout out! First he was so helpful and fast at getting us tickets to Everglades last minute! Then he hooked us up with transportation because getting around with 7 people with covid restriction is impossible. The driver and the Mercedes van made getting around so relaxing! The name of shuttle service was VIP transportation! The owners are so friendly! I could have hung with them all day! Everyone wears mask and was surprised how strict they are about it. Mask to even go to pool bar! Great location and easy access to beach! The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Another great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
ori agam wrote a review 9 May
14 contributions5 helpful votes
Booked the hotel last minute due to a change of last minute I had. Thought it's similar to the riu in Cabos San Lucas. Oh boy. was I wrong!!!! Where do I start? Dirty, loud, horrible ugly guests, dozens of kids running around the lobby with wet bathing suites and bare foot at midnight!!! Noise everywhere. Even on the 9th quiet floor( only Lufthansa crew members stay there, bragged the front desk guy😂). The only good thing I can say about this shack is they offer free brkfst. STAY AWAY IF U CAN.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing once again a RIU hotel and your review. Please know that while our Plaza hotels represent our urban hotels featuring the best services whether you travel for business or for pleasure. our Palace hotels represent our more sophisticated collection of hotels adding extra luxury, and excellence to our guests' stays. However, as you might know, we truly strive to create a memorable experience for our guests so we are saddened to hear that the recent stay was not exactly what you were hoping for, and appreciate that you took the time to share your concerns with us. Obviously, it is disappointing that this time we have failed to represent ourselves properly, and are most disappointed that your stay was blighted by some other guests behavior. We are aware that sometimes this in very rare cases, unfortunately has repercussions on others, which we take very seriously and, when informed, take action. It is really disappointing when people do not consider others. We can assure you that we do everything in our hands to ensure everyone at the hotel has a great holiday. Your feedback is vital for us as we look to improve our guest experience going forward. Please accept our apologies for your disappointments during your visit, and know that we take your concerns very seriously. Therefore, we will look into the detail of the interactions you had, and utilize them to evaluate our performance, with the aim to provide a better experience in the future. Again, thank you for allowing us to understand your point of view as we continually strive to provide a better service experience to all future travelers, and we sincerely hope we can have you return to us. Kind regards Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Joanne R wrote a review 6 May
1 contribution1 helpful vote
First of all I booked thru booking.com had a confirmation number..when we arrived I was told my reservation was for 2022? Ummm I looked up my reservation and showed the gentleman he said there was nothing he could do...I had to check in with a reservation and paid almost $800 for 2 nights and not to mention the 45 a night for parking....the staff is rude the room was just ok...I paid for a room with an ocean view I got a palm tree view...if you ever book and want a ocean view stay higher than the 5th floor....floor was dirty not by looking at it only found this out by walking barefoot....you get 2 flat pillows just not worth the money....all I smelled was weed everyone smoked everywhere the people on the next balcony was smoking it while we were out there...
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you want an ocean view get a room higher than the 5th floor
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Joanne, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We missed several significant opportunities, and for this reason we would like to start by apologizing to you for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. Please be assured, your experience is in no way reflective of the values we strive so hard to maintain. We always give our best to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Such feedback is received with the utmost attention and concern as we highly value each of our guests. Certainly, we will look into this to create a better experience in the future. In regards to the issue you experienced with your external reservation we kindly encourage you to contact your travel agent Booking.com for a proper follow up. We would welcome the chance to show you our commitment to service excellence. Respectfully, Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach Online Reputation Manager
Read more
S M wrote a review Apr 2021
Houston, Texas24 contributions23 helpful votes
I have seen all the reviews, and I am not one of those folks giving this place 1 star because of a single thing I didn't like. I am in management myself and often workers will mimic the behavior and tolerance of their management. This place needs some serious management improvements. Some small corrections will go a long way for all guests to enjoy themselves consistently. It is really inexcusable that they only had one working elevator when we arrived for a week. This has been mentioned in many reviews and I was disappointed it still wasn't fixed. The first 2 days it took away from the vacation experience because every time you felt relaxed and on vacation the reality hit that you were about to fight other folks positioning for the one working elevator, especially in the afternoon when folks returned from the beach\pool or were checking in. Also, I do appreciate the signs to keep 6 foot apart before you enter the elevator, but everyone crams in there as soon as the doors open. It is mandatory to wear masks but nobody really got called out on this if they didn't It felt like a miracle when the 2nd elevator was fixed, I never knew adding another elevator could bring so much joy. The beach - fantastic beach and the chairs\umbrellas are part of your stay, so no cost to you. Unfortunately there are only about half the umbrellas compared to chairs. Also, it depends what kind of mood the beach attendant is in whether or not you can put your towel on the seat to claim your spot. One day it was fine, the other day it wasn't, the day thereafter it was fine again. The pool - it was clean and enjoyable and plenty of seats, many of which open up when folks are heading for lunch or other plans. Once in a blue moon someone will drop by to ask if you want anything, but you may as well just get it yourself. Special mention to Darwin who was the only person there that week who was handing out towels, keeping an eye on the cleanliness of the pool, emptied the trash, etc. You know the type, always looking for something to do, clean, pickup, etc - I would hire this guy in a heartbeat. The rooms - ok, we didn't spend a lot of time there but the AC is terrible. When we entered the room it was 24 C, then after running the AC all night it went down to 22 C. Not a big deal, thankfully there was a ceiling fan which kept the air moving. Nice shower and bathroom, bed mattress is terrible and will eventually lead to hip pain, other aches. In room fridge is adequate, but don't expect any cold drinks. Floors do smell like pot often Breakfast - this was great - 7 - 10 AM, no complaints there. Just not sure why they would some days just block off half the restaurant from use with many folks walking around. The cafe - Only 2 can enter at the time and the service is so incredibly slow, even if you just want a gatorade. The availability of items depends daily. For example, while we were there the chicken tenders were unavailable due to 'maintenance', yet fries were widely available. This was the same for a few days. Food was fine, no complaints, and drinks were tasty and not too expensive. The only place on the premises that will take your temperature before entering. Again, not too bad of a hotel, but glad I got a good deal reserving in advance. No excuse for the elevator situation. Your experience will depend on the day and who is working or what mood they are in. Just lower your expectations and anything above and beyond will make your day.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Can't beat the beach front room view, but expect your neighbor to smoke pot
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Responded 2 days ago
Dear SanderM, Thank you for reviewing our Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach following your stay with us. As we place great importance on providing guests with memorable experiences, we are disappointed to hear that we did not completely fulfill your expectations this time and that you did not always feel adequately attended. We are sincerely sorry for the issues you described in your review associated with the elevator. Please note, the elevator has now been fixed; however, we will share your concerns to our team for an adequate follow up. To end on a positive note, we are glad, you enjoyed a relaxing time on the beach, the breakfast variety and the beverages! We hope that you will choose to visit one of our worldwide premises, so we can provide you with a more satisfying experience. Warm regards, Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$171 - US$423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu florida beach hotel miami beach, riu florida beach miami, riu miami
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaMiami Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
284
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach?
Nearby attractions include Broken Shaker at Freehand Miami (0.4 km), The Living Room (0.10 km), and Basement Miami (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pao by Paul Qui, Matador Room, and The Tavern at Hotel Croydon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Freedom Tower at Miami Dade College (7.2 km), The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (1.8 km), and Art Deco Historic District (3.0 km).