We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ocean Blue Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean Blue Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 133: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I recently had to cancel a reservation at this hostel. After emailing them to cancel, they charged my credit card for the full amount of the stay. I emailed them to ask for my card to be refunded, but they are ignoring my emails and have not provided any reply or assistance to rectify the mistake. This is not an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichellevdBerg
Ocean B, Manager at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We reply to you yesterday at 9:23am with a screenshot with refund and also replied to the email from the website you book thru. And we have proof of it. We kindly ask you to remove this review. After you receive the refund of $107.62 thank you Management.

Elblag, Poland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

+ lobby + welcome drink + localisation - Air-conditioner next to bed with unchangeable low temperature blowing directly to bed. - One bathroom for 9 person in room. - We received washed towels and bed covers however they was dirty and smell chlorine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank majkks
Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not stay at this hostel. It is unsafe and has terrible customer service. All the locks on the lockers were cut and $300 in cash, along with everyone else's who stored any cash in the lockers was stolen. The hostel did nothing to compensate any of us for our loss. In general the staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theo C
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stay away from this hostel! The staff are very very rude and only care about making a quick buck. I made a reservation online months ago and came to find out about "hidden fees" later. This place is not worth your time or the headache.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Probably the worst hostel I have ever been, no social area to sit other than reception or a bar upstairs which is too loud to socialise, WiFi doesn't work without Facebook, 3 bed bunks, one bathroom per 12 bed dorm and constant noise until 5am from the strip... I have been all over south America, and standards are considerably better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for 6 days, it was for good price. Breakfast was included, it was exactly the same everyday, some cereals and banana. The room had 12 beds, when there's 12 people it may be difficult to find space for your luggage and it gets pretty messy, since everyone hangs their towels etc. I had bed at the top, if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin Z
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The best hostel, with excellent location if you want to visit south beach this is the place to stay. The staff is very nice and they keep the place very clean. Jose the guy working the front desk has an excellent customer service he is very friendly and willing to assist you... also you receive free breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian B
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

It was a group of 6 of us that stayed here. We were all a little skeptical never have stayed at a hostel before but it was truly an awesome experience. Location is top notch! Right on Ocean Dr in the middle of EVERYTHING. We had an ocean view room. 12 beds in there. Other guests from around the WORLD...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miracle S
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I really wanted to see a James Bay concert at The Fillmoore at Jackie Gleason Theater last Wednesday and then a Braves v. Marlins game at Marlin's park that Thursday. I planned this great mini vacation months ago and Miami Beach was awesome. I took my twin brother. Staying at Ocean Blue Hostel, formerly Decowalk Hostel, was awesome. Located on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole C
England
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Stayed at this hostel for three nights in July 2013. Great location, good rooms although triple bunk each has its own bathroom, which is big and clean. Lovely roof top bar, serving free breakfast and light evening meal. Good offer of drinks at happy hour. Staff were friendly and helpful, making sure that everyone felt welcome by bringing single travellers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travellinglight81

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#85 of 202 in Miami Beach
1,534 reviews
0.1 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 202 in Miami Beach
1,075 reviews
0.2 km away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#157 of 202 in Miami Beach
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 202 in Miami Beach
951 reviews
0.2 km away
Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel
0.2 km away
Posh South Beach Hostel
Posh South Beach Hostel
#1 of 79 in Miami Beach
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The only Oceanfront Hostel and Beach Club on Miami Beach & south beach, with a Rooftop Lounge with a bar where you can meet other travelers open until 4 am! complete with a TV, outdoor furniture, on a sun-bathing deck on ocean drive, where something Fun is always happening, If we were any closer to the beach, we would be in the ocean! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Blue Hostel

Address: 928 Ocean Dr, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013 (Formerly Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range: $45 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Blue Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Blue Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco Walk Miami Beach
Ocean Blue Hostel Miami Beach, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Blue Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Blue Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 9 was big!”
 of 5 bubbles 958karab, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“take a small room instead of the "factory" rooms of 12 beds”
 of 5 bubbles memsogan, 20 May 2015 | Read review
“beautiful view from your room, supportive staff”
 of 5 bubbles ran146, 7 May 2015 | Read review
“Las habitaciones que dicen ser de 6 son de 12 personas en realidad, con un solo baño. Ten cuidado!”
 of 5 bubbles Andreadukus, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
“If you want more sleep then opt for Deco walk rather than Miami beach hostel”
 of 5 bubbles 776eviep, 28 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay