We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grandview Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Dora
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 366: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My mom and I thoroughly enjoyed the Grandview B and B. The hosts were attentive, thoughtful and kept the rooms and house spotless. The food each morning was amazing and fresh! I highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. Also, for singers the host Gwendolyn has an opera room that was just added! You will not be disappointed! 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Jenny, Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you chose our Bed and Breakfast for your trip to Mount Dora. It was so nice getting to know you and your Mom. Happy to have made such lovely new friends. Happy Holidays, hope you enjoy a magical season. Gwendolyn

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 days last week after a few weeks on the coast.Lovely historic Inn with immaculate room.House beautifully furnished and lovely outdoor pool.We had a fabulous time and it was a great effort just to go out each day as the Inn was so good and welcoming. Innkeeper Gwendolyne absolutely lovely.Gave my wife a gift for her birthday.Lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Roger & Jean, I enjoyed your visit as much as you enjoyed Mount Dora. Dennis and I cannot wait to travel to Wales, we thank you for all of your delightful suggestions. We also thank you for your wonderful comments, we always hope that everyone feels as welcomed as you. Excellent meeting you both. Happy Christmas

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My dad and new wife went to Grandview B&B for honeymoon night. They were off the charts impressed on the service and the food. They talked on how well they were taken care of by the owners and are coming back They talked about the facilities, the pool and I quote "next time we are not leaving the property for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 386russellj
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you Russ for taking time to write about Buzz and Kitty's night here at the Grandview. It was our pleasure to give them the VIP treatment. We will have to think of new surprises for the next time they visit. Thank you again for thinking of the Grandview for this super special evening. We are so honored. Gwendolyn

Central Florida
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Gwendolyn and Dennis went above and beyond to make our stay spectacular. My husband and I evacuated our home during Matthew. We were heading west when we realized the availability of gas was going to be a problem. Although we didn't expect to find refuge in Lake County, we Googled Bed & Breakfasts in Mt. Dora and tried to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chancere
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing about your Mount Dora trip and your stay with us at the Grandview. We were happy to welcome everyone who escaped from the storm and feel as though we were spending time with one big family. Although the circumstances were not an ideal way for all of us to meet, we are so glad to have...

South Florida, Florida
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We like to stay at B&Bs, but I would say this one really surpasses them all. Beautiful property, absolutely wonderful hosts, and the room was immaculate. Breakfasts were interesting, delicious, and quite filling! We also really appreciated that she accommodated diatary restrictions, but the food was already high quality (local, fresh) to begin with. A very short walk in to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelachristin
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking time to write about your time in Mount Dora. We look forward to having you return to the Grandview. See you soon. Gwendolyn at the Grandview.

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Gwen was wonderful and treated me like royalty. The breakfast is really however you would like it. Don't be afraid to speak up. She goes above and beyond to make sure everything you need is well taken cared of. This is great place for a quick getaway. Walking distance to downtown. Definitely makes you feel welcome and right at home....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timmo73
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Timothy, Thank you so very much for choosing the Grandview for your vacation. It was so much fun talking with you, it felt like meeting up with an old friend. Please stay in touch and visit. Gwendolyn

Reviewed 19 September 2016

There is nothing remotely out of place at the Grandview Bed and Breakfast. Gwendolyn and Dennis are the most attentive people that I have ever had the pleasure to meet running a B&B. Their service is better than anything I have experienced in my life. It was a cruise ship without the ocean. I'm not kidding. They were there all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Archie C
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Archie, Thank you so much for your deeply heartfelt review. Dennis and I had fun hosting your group. We also want to thank you for choosing the Grandview to spend your Birthday Celebration. I'm so glad it was a memorable celebration for you. It really felt as though we were visiting with old friends, bet I know why. :) How...

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

I brought my boyfriend here for his birthday. The town is simply adorable! This B&B is so personal and comfy!!! Gwendolyn and her husband are super sweet and hospitable!!! I would take this place over any resort or hotel any day!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenepher M
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Jenepher, Thanks so much for writing about your stay. Another thank you for planning your trip with us at the Grandview in celebration of your boyfriend's Birthday. We have so much fun with surprises here. Hope to welcome you back with your sister sometime soon, Gwendolyn

Sarasota, United States
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We've already referred several friends and acquaintances to Gwendolyn and Dennis's B&B. Why? Charming room with large bathroom (we stayed in the Windmill, on the first floor); large, lap-swimmable pool; and just the best-of-the-best breakfast, happily and proudly cooked and served by Gwendolyn. Breakfast is cooked to order, and the selection is very broad, indeed. To boot, Gwendolyn cares a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary M
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Mary, We are so grateful for you spreading the word about the Grandview. Dennis and I are so very happy that you had a nice visit in the Windmill Cottage. Thank you again for your review and for recommending the Grandview. Gwendolyn

Oldsmar, Florida, United States
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We just returned home after a lovely,relaxing tow night stay at The Grandview. Our Innkeeper/Hostess Gwendolyn greeted us warmly and immediately offered refreshments while we checked in. Our room was comfortable and quiet, spotless and very nicely furnished. Evening social hour and morning breakfast foods were prepared with great care and quite delicious. The saltwater pool is a nice way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Debbie, Thank you for taking some time to write about your stay at the Grandview. I enjoyed speaking with you and your husband every day and learning something new each time. I can't wait to try your bread recipe, many thanks. Thank you for spending your Anniversary at the Grandview, happy to hear you had a relaxing time in Mount...

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
0.4 km away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
827 reviews
4.7 km away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
7.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lake County Inn & Suites
0.3 km away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#5 of 11 in Mount Dora
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visit the historic William Watt House, circa 1906, complete with a saltwater pool and original windmill on site. The owner of many acres of citrus, Watt invented corrugated cardboard as a packaging medium for his oranges. Watt's residence was surrounded by the orange groves.The house sits on over an acre-plus of land within two blocks of downtown Mount Dora, on the corner of Third and Grandview. Quaint shops, fantastic restaurants and antique shops are nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grandview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 442 E 3rd Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5657
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Price Range: $192 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Grandview b&b
Grandview Hotel Mount Dora
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grandview Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Lake Mary, Florida
1 month ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Grandview Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try the Charleston Suite-lovely”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If going to Mt Dora cannot beat the Grand View”
 of 5 bubbles 386russellj, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms beautiful. The front porch provides many great spots for reading and relaxing. Beautiful antiques grace the B&B.”
 of 5 bubbles Chancere, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Windmill cottage is more private.”
 of 5 bubbles 495archiec, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Loved our stay in the Audubon Room”
 of 5 bubbles 896debbies, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5