We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Comfort Suites Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Comfort Suites Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

404 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 390: English reviews
Start your review of Comfort Suites Downtown
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

It's a Comfort Suites. Comfortable, clean and they had a very nice free breakfast setup!! It is just a short walk to the trolley station, Ripleys and the City Gates, 20-25 minute walk to Castillo de San Marcos and Matanzas Bay area. I loved the location of this hotel!!! When checking out I was told they will be doing remodeling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana A
Comfortsuites32084A, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. The renovation begins in May 2017. We hope to see...

Newark, Delaware
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights just before Christmas. Having visited St. Augustine before, we always try to get a place close enough to walk to the historic area. This hotel is perfect for that. When we checked in, Kerry Ann, the front desk lady was super friendly and helpful. Our original room was on the first floor....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raxel7851
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Comfortsuites32084A, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a 5 star review and recognizing Kerry Ann. We are very happy you had a great time. We look forward to your return. Kind Regards Robert Williamson. General Manager.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is not even a full block away from Ripley's believe it or not and the visitor center and everything around that. Parking is $10/day which is cheaper than parking downtown. The staff were super nice and professional. The rooms were clean, nothing fancy, but honestly we were out and about all day, so all we did in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarMarMarirene
Comfortsuites32084A, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you had a great time and liked our location. The hotel is about to begin it's renovation. It will begin on the 1st of May and be completed late June. The hotel will have it's lobby, breakfast area and rooms renovated. We look forward...

Benton, Maine
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I expect hot water for a shower, but none to be had at room 313 !! Breakfast good; noisy floor on one night; staff tried hard to make experience great. I was told they were planning renovations but no shower water Is unacceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 733lawrenceg
Comfortsuites32084A, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our renovation begins May 1st until June 26th. The hotel will be renovating the lobby, breakfast area and all the rooms. I am very sorry you had an issue with your room. The hotel is working to rectify this issue. Kind Regards Comfort Suites Management Team.

Deux-Montagnes, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

How wonderful it is to have great, really great customer service. Our expectations have now risen after the welcome we received from Susan at the desk upon our arrival. My friends and I arrived early to the hotel, I asked if we could leave our car in the parking as it was noon and we would come back at 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita V
Comfortsuites32084A, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Susan is a great asset to the hotel and we are very happy to have her on our team. We are very happy to hear you had a great time and we look forward to your return. Kind Regards Robert Williamson General Manager

Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good location. Bed was comfortable. Check in was easy. Breakfast stale and not replenished. The shower!!! We ran the water forever and still no hot water. Decided in the morning that we would discuss the hot water and maybe stay another night. The desk clerk says that "She can guarantee we will have hot water on the 1st or 2nd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank office0729
Comfortsuites32084A, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Cresson, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Stayed here for a 2 night visit of the downtown historic district. Had king suite on first floor. Pool right outside our window and saw it was serviced daily, but saw no one in it this trip. Weather was cool (60s) and breezy. Room was clean. Bathroom and shower clean. Room had sofa, desk and office chair. Microwave, coffee and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justtony1663
Comfortsuites32084A, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to comment on the cleaning of the hotel and our pool We take pride in making sure the hotel is clean and tidy. We look forward to your return. Kind Regards Robert Williamson General Manager

Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 March 2017

I wanted to find a hotel within walking distance to Old Town. Comfort Suites Downtown was less than a 10 minute walk. We felt safe walking there in the evening and also during the early morning hours. Our room was spacious and modern BUT very noisy. The people next to us woke us up at 2:00 am and remained noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IWork2TravelUSA
Comfortsuites32084A, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry the guests next door to you were noisy and did not respect the other guests. I am happy that they did eventually quiet down. Parking charges are a common practice in many hotels in St. Augustine and around the USA. We have 51 parking spots for our 51 rooms. We are...

Griffin, Georgia
Reviewed 23 February 2017

The Good:::The hotel was Nice, clean and in a very good location. You can walk to Many places, the old city is an easy walk. The Trolly is in walking distance. The Bad::: They have a serious hot water issue, I had read this on a review so I called the Hotel two days before we left February 18, 2017...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DIANE J
Comfortsuites32084A, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our Blending valve was replaced the other day which mixes hot and cold water to prevent guests from burning themselves with hot water. The Blending valve has a default setting of 110F or 43.3C. The Hotel is also changing out certain shower taps to make sure they are all functioning correctly. If a shower tap...

Fort Lauderdale, United States
Reviewed 21 February 2017

The location is great, great value, friendly service and very clean. It also has a small gym and a pool. You can walk almost everywhere from here. B&B's are nice but what you save pays for all of your meals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
Comfortsuites32084A, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards The Comfort Suites Management Team

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Address: 42 San Marco Avenue, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Price Range: $161 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Hotel Saint Augustine
Downtown Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Comfort Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Suites Downtown staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Panama City, Florida
8 months ago
Brooklyn, New York
over a year ago
over a year ago
Miami, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Suites Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Verify that you can get hot water.”
office0729, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are the same.”
DodgerBlue3, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“3rd floor seemed quiet”
mbanksafwonline, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Top Floor away from ice machine, elevator and at the end of the hallway.”
Poeco, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with balcony”
sam55TaylorsvilleNc, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5