We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

TripAdvisorUS$96*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$169*
US$96*
Great Deal
US$135*
US$135*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 534: English reviews
Start your review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
 Click to rate
McLean, Virginia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is situated on a beautiful piece of land looking over the Bay. You can leave your window open to listen to the water or feel the breeze. But that's all. The rest of the property needs serious renovations. The rooms are dirty and the bathrooms even worse. The towels have stains. There was a stench in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RDining
North Port, FL
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 1 February 2017

This was a one-night business trip and I was lucky enough to get a room at Magnuson. The grounds are beautiful, the staff is really friendly, the food at the restaurant was great, my room was comfortable and had a fantastic view of the water...can you tell I liked it?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin B
About Hotel's Favourite Review
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We hope you will come back and visit us soon. I will make sure our staff knows how much you enjoyed your visit with us.

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I'm not sure what all the bad reviews are about but my husband & I have been here four times now for vacation and never had a bad stay. Clean rooms, yes maybe out dated but not bad. I like the retro look! Lol

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blanca S
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so happy that you enjoy yourselves here at the Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove. Please come back and visit us soon.

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights to get away for the weekend. Our room was dirty so we asked for another one. They were nice and polite about it. The rooms smell old and musty. The outdoors smells like fish and sewer. Every time we opened our door the smell would come in and linger for a little while. The sink in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheesecakephan
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry about the smell from the bay. There isn't much we can do because it is caused by mother nature. WE do have a tractor that takes the seaweed away but it depends on the tides on when we can get the tractor on the beach. We are sorry you did not enjoy...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visit the bar at Magnuson's quite often because it is close to the boat docks. I had a fishing pole stolen from their "beach" in front of many people who "saw nothing". Management wouldn't even talk to me and offered no help. This place is an old Holiday Inn from the 70's located in South St Pete with cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stay at the Magnuson only because Of the location and only off season. I had a paid reservation for two rooms, but they said they only showed one room. This is why a carry paper copies, to say look right here. Get me the second room. Rooms are 1960's style, but work ok for sleep and a shower.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ron Z
port richey,fl
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our boating club with 34 members attending, spent the weekend at the Magnuson. Five boats docked at the Marina and the rest of booked various rooms. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is older but the rooms are in good condition. We all had dinner the hotel and the food and service was excellent. Great expeience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cojasak
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back in October!!! Thank you for your comments!

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed at marina cove as a family for 2 nights, unfortunately we would not return. Although the rooms were clean the hotel & facilities were poor. The beach is not what it seems from the photos online it was virtually non existence & what was there was dirty and unsuitable for children. The smell from the Bay Area...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JCHodgson58
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The pictures of this hotel are totally deceiving. I would listen to the bad reviews they are right. The hotel is dirty. The water smells like a sewerage. Very outdated. Plus the pool didn't look bad although I did not get in. The restaurant HORRIBLE I wrote a seperate review and forgot to mention drinks taste like water & everything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hillary S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

All things considered not a bad hotel. However, it did have flaws. First, the "beach"? No thank you. It was filled with seaweed. Also, the smell I could have done without. My room was the real issue. Let's just say I'm glad my wife and kids were not with me. Two cockroachs were found. One dead under a table and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimmie G
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We haven't had any rain for some time and Mother Nature brought in the seaweed. Luckily we had rain last night and the seaweed is now gone. We will contact our pest control company immediately. Again our apologies and we do hope you come back for a visit.

741 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (236)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (469)
Viewed
Amenities (71)
Viewed
Beach (11)
Viewed
Double Full Bay View Room (49)
Viewed
Double Full Marina View Room (48)
Viewed
Double Standard Room (51)
Viewed
King Standard Room (51)
Viewed
Large Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Small Pool (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
6.5 km away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
951 reviews
8.8 km away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,323 reviews
5.9 km away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
452 reviews
20.6 km away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
2.3 km away
Flamingo Resort
Flamingo Resort
#31 of 42 in St. Petersburg
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are minutes from Fort Desoto Park and the Gulf beaches. We are also in close proximity to downtown St. Petersburg and all it has to offer: Tropicana Field-home of the Tampa Bay Rays, The Pier, Salvador Dali Museum, Mahaffey Theater, and Jannus Landing. For the business traveler, we are close to Eckerd College, USF, St. Pete College AllState Center and all Children's Hospital. Our guests will enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Stay in touch with your friends and family with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Take time to enjoy our pools, hot tub, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and fitness center. You can relax at the Nepa Hut Beach Bar overlooking Tampa Bay and the world famous Sunshine Skyway Bridge, unwind in Nemo's Lounge, dine in Periscopes waterfront restaurant with views of our marina, or have a relaxing lunch poolside at the Banyan Tree Deli. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Address: 6800 Sunshine Skyway Ln S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4901 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Price Range: $119 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Marina Cove
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Indianapolis, Indiana
11 months ago
West Virginia
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“for a great experience, book the Townhouse which has a living room, full kitchen and bedroom.”
cojasak, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a "water view" room.”
J9612DEmaryh, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bayside if at all available”
584WilliamC, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the side that overlooks the beach. You will have your own little table and chairs and a deck.”
chongo49, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Honestly not sure there is a bad room, quiet by 10:00 so all are good choices”
Kaylad2006, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$96* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$135
Hotwire.comUS$135
AMOMAUS$169
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates