We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Inn on Third

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Inn on Third
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

536 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Inn on Third
See the most recent reviews
Showing 463: English reviews
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a simple no frills B&B right in the heart of downtown St Pete. You can walk to everything - Jannus Live, museums, Vinoy Park, Pier, etc. We have stayed here multiple times and the rooms are clean and simple. The beds are not awesomely comfortable but not horrible. They have a simple little happy hour (beer/wine/snacks) in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FestivalGrl
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your review of our inn! It's been a pleasure welcoming you to our place and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time, please let us know what type of mattress you prefer (firm or soft or something in between) - as mattresses are such...

London, Ontario
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Yes the pillows need changing to something a little more comfortable, but, otherwise I have no complaints. Stephanie is a warm and welcoming hostess and the location is almost perfect- a short 4 blocks to the major bar/restaurant areas of town. Unless I got a super deal at another hotel, I wouldn't pick any other location for my next stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JedLeonard1007
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our inn and location so much. We also appreciate your comment about the pillows and will make sure to replace them as needed. Our guests comments help us determine what we need to change/do to make our inn even better - so thank you! We...

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We had three nights here while in St Petes. We were met by Stephanie at the door, who was immediately friendly and welcoming. The lobby and breakfast area is spacious and comfortable, and Stephanie made us feel at home straight away. We didn't find the room small (we're English and used to smaller rooms); it was just fine for us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarrieB72
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review

Sunny greetings to the UK and thank you so very much for your kind review. Brian and I are both happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our inn. We appreciate your time for the write up and hope the rest of your trip was just as pleasant. Sincerely, Stephanie & Brian Cox America's Best Inn

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Pros - convenient location, free parking, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff Cons - musty smell in bedroom, small bedrooms, bed not very comfortable, cat in hall lead to allergic reaction, bathroom really needs a renovation as lamp was dirty and bathtub paint job was peeling, lots of chipped paint around door frames.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bills_pix
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review

Hello and sunny greetings to Canada! Thank you for your review of our inn. Thank you also for your compliments on our staff and breakfast among other things. Now to the cons. We've elaborated on most of the points you mentioned in previous managment responses. Yes, our rooms are small, but we do not make a secret about it. Yes,...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 23 April 2013

If you're bored with homogeneous international hotels then Americas Best Inn is a breath of fresh air. The hotel is run by a lovely family and there are homely touches throughout the reception area and in your room. It's like staying with friends. The rooms may not be spacious but they have lovely wooden floors and comfortable beds. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adyhall
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. It's good thear that you enjoyed your stay at our inn so much and we appreciate you sharing your experience via this review. Brian and I hope to welcome you back to our inn during your next trip to St. Pete. Unti then we wish you all the best! Sincerely, Stephanie...

memphis
Reviewed 22 April 2013

quaint and charming is quite deceptive. The rooms are so small that you better not take 2 suitcases. If the owners are aiming for a european style hotel they should upgrade the towels and bed linens and do some repairs to the rooms. There were cracks in the bathroom walls. Yes it is very convienent to downtown St Pete that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Memphistraveler5
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your compliments concerning my husband and myself. We do want to apologize that our inn did not live up to your expectations, though. Yes, our rooms are small. We do not deny this and if asked always answer truthfully. Our inn is an older building and back in the 30's, room size was not...

New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I was in the the Tampa Blues Festival. It was an easy walk to Vinoy Park. The room was clean and comfortable. Bill and Stephanie were super friendly, knowledgable and helpful. I expect to go to this festival for many years to come, and will look no further than America's Best Inn for my accommodations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy06525
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! You had a great time at the Blues Fest and you were not alone! It's one of the most loved events here in town and we always look forward to "our Bluesfesters", no matter if first timer or return guest. See you next spring! Sincerely, Stephanie & Brian Cox

Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Don't expect big rooms or big beds but the place is so charming and the owners so warm and friendly that it doesn't matter :). Location is great too. I will definitely be back! Wish we could have made it for 'happy hour' butcher were too busy sight-seeing and going to the blues festival. Next time hopefully.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carley1949
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review

Awe, thanks a bunch for your sweet review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our inn so much. Blues Fest weekend is always a fun time and even though we don't get to go ourselves, we enjoy it though our guest! We wish you all the best! Stephanie & Brian Cox America's Best Inn

Minneapolis
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I will echo others' comments by lauding the innkeeper couple, in that they are professional, very friendly, gave fantastic advice about things to do, and kept the place in lovely shape. I loved the compact rooms! They felt cozy and in keeping with bedrooms of old that were indeed tiny. Loved our walks to the park along the sea to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trufflesque
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our inn so much, well, besides our breakfast offerings. Please, let us explain why we offer what we do, which is a continental breakfast, and not a full breakfast as you would find at a traditional B&B. What we can offer is restricted by state...

maryland
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The innkeepers were friendly and helpful, they kindly extended the happy hour drinks to our friend who came to meet us. The room was small but the bed was comfortable and everything was clean and the a/c worked well. We were only here for one night and the location is great to get to the restaurants and shops near the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kentislandwanderers
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review, it is truly appreciated! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our inn and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to St. Pete. Sincerely, Stephanie & Brian Cox America's Best Inn

369 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (253)
Viewed
Other (165)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)
Viewed
Twin Room (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 km away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 39 in St. Petersburg
1,169 reviews
0.6 km away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#14 of 39 in St. Petersburg
548 reviews
1.4 km away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.2 km away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#21 of 39 in St. Petersburg
87 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 39 in St. Petersburg
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Important information: Starting mid July 2015, our hotel will be called "The Inn On Third". It will be the same owners and innkeepers as the last 10 years, so you can expect the same great service and hospitality as in the past. We look forward to welcoming you! Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 22 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 Minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Happy Hour, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Price Range: $149 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Inn on Third staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Fort Myers, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Inn on Third staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's a quiet area...all rooms seem equal.”
 of 5 bubbles TinyLin, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Second floor was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles AleliMiami1, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room #13; spotless bathroom!”
 of 5 bubbles tvlgypsy, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Consider asking about the firmness of the mattresses.”
 of 5 bubbles TnDRussell, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our room #30 was very quiet. Over looked the small parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles steveh265, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay