We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,077: English reviews
Blaine, Minnesota
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

My teenage daughter and I along with a couple of our friends stayed at the Sundial last year and because our room was unacceptable they moved us to a new room (carpet was filthy and the bathroom was dirty). I am not usually a complainer but this was downright gross. I wrote a review on trip advisor and was contacted...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank joneenn
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath top floor condo overlooking the gulf. The room was very clean and had gorgeous views. So nice to see the sunset and so clear to see Naples. Morning coffee on the lanai watching dolphins and shrimp boats. Our room had a washer and dryer - bonus when you are traveling with 3...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SnowSkiMom_3
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear SnowSkiMom_3, Thank you for the great review! There is nothing quite like the views on a clear day from Sanibel when you can see all the way to Naples and Marco Island, and it is always a great way to start your day watching the shrimp boats and dolphins go by, glad you enjoyed! We can't wait to see...

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here on vacation. Upon arrival we found Danny and Josh to be awesome. They made sure our accommodations exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed eating and drinking at the Turtle Bar. We loved the burgers, turkey wrap and happy hour prices. Sitting on the beach we enjoyed watching the dolphins swim by and the beach was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew M
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Andrew M, Thank you for the five star review! We are thrilled to hear Danny and Josh took such awesome care of you and that you enjoyed your stay from the accommodations to the food and drinks at Turtle's! We can't wait to see you again soon for more fun in the sun! Phillip Starling General Manager

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

This was our second time to this resort and we enjoy the pools, kayaks, jacuzzi, and especially the bike riding around the island. The beach is nice, but of course, be aware that it is mostly shells, not soft sand like a lot of beaches. Most people seem to like that, but just depends on preference. We got an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Deb M
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Deb M, Thank you for reviewing your second visit to Sundial! We are so glad you enjoyed the our amenities from the multiple pools to the bikes for exploring the island! We do apologize for the mix up with the solid wall request. We certainly try our best to accommodate all requests and will be sure to address the...

Reviewed 17 March 2017

Still here right now...leaving tomorrow. LOTS of issues. Day 1: Bathroom was not cleaned well. Had to call front desk for linen for the pull-out bed. When we returned, they had brought sheets, but not blankets. Called again for blankets, which were dirty when they arrived. Had to call maintenance because shower would not turn off. Coffee maker overflows. Toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 931,759
Breese, Illinois
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Great condos, priced just right, close to the beach and lots of pools. They had 4 restaurants at the condo and we enjoyed our fist night eating there. Good good, great view, peaceful, relaxing, We had a great time and would love to go back again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terri T
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Terri T, Thank you for the five star review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed all we had to offer and would love to see you again! Phillip Starling General Manager

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Just spent six days here with three generations of my family. It suited us all. Apartments were excellent, all new furnishings, very well equipped kitchens, comfortable beds etc. The main pool was warm and the children loved it. We sat on the beach under the sunshades which were provided for us, as were bikes and kayaks. The whole island is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary B
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mary B, Thank you for the fabulous review! We are thrilled to hear all three generations of your family had such a great time with us! Sanibel Island certainly is a little piece of paradise and we are always excited to share with our guests! We hope to see you again for more fun in the sun! Phillip Starling...

West Bloomfield, Michigan
Reviewed 14 March 2017

great place to stay - fantastic beach and pool, friendly staff, if ever back to Sanibel, it tops our list of places to return to. We needed a quick getaway and Sundial was everything we were looking for.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amybE5050PN
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear amybE5050PN, Thank you for the five star review of our quick getaway! We are so glad you had such a great time with us and look forward to seeing you again on your next Sanibel visit! Phillip Starling General Manager

Pensacola, Florida
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Will most definitely be back the only drawback is the open concept between the bedroom and the Sitting area. The view was great and this was a partial view. Did not want to leave will most definitely be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank judyhX8506ZG
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear judyhX8506ZG, Thank you for the five star review! We are so glad you enjoyed the view from the condo, this was the reason for the owner choosing the open concept between the living room and bedroom as to not block any of the gorgeous view. We look forward to seeing you again for another wonderful visit! Phillip Starling General...

Burlington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had a great time and hope to come again soon! We loved the beach and shell collecting. The amenities where great for all levels of activity. Great for kids and couples too. Well maintained property with some charm.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 605electrag
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 605electrag, Thank you for reviewing your recent visit! We are happy to hear you enjoyed strolling on the beach to collect shells and certainly hope to see you again soon for more fun in the sun! Phillip Starling General Manager

1,015 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (503)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (219)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (482)
Viewed
Amenities (184)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (PRE-RENOVATION) (54)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Apartment (PRE-RENOVATION) (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.7 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,230 reviews
2.8 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
651 reviews
16.3 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,621 reviews
19.6 km away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,220 reviews
1.7 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sanibel Island's most luxurious resort has completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Voted "BEST FULL SERVICE RESORT ON THE ISLANDS" and "BEST STAYCATION IN SOUTHWEST FLORIDA" for four years in a row, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand between your toes, take a refreshing swim in the blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities and amenities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, HydroGrid tennis courts, 12 new pickleball courts,cabanas, kayaks, paddle boards, bike tours, golf, organized activities, a marketplace, spa and sea school. One,two and three bedroom residences feature options for views with the conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's world-renowned, pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. Voted Best Waterfront Dining in Southwest Florida, the resort's award winning restaurants offer indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selections. Look forward to an authentic experience as your dinner is artfully prepared right before your eyes at Shima Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, the area's only Japanese steakhouse. Shima's Grab N Go provides take out sushi for those on the go. Sea Breeze Cafe offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair over looking the Gulf of Mexico. Sundial's tiki-style poolside eatery, Turtle's Pool & Beach Bar, serves up delicious signature drinks at the bar and family-friendly patio. Slice of Paradice provides the perfect poolside venue for tasty treats such as pizza, ice-cream, hotdogs and salads- perfect for beach-goers and sunset strollers. A daily resort fee includes the use of beach umbrellas and chairs, beach towels, kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach volleyball, fitness center, wifi, organized activities and tennis & pickleball court access. In addition to being voted Best Full Service Resort and Best Staycation, the resort has been regionally recognized for Best Event Facilities, Best Chef, Best Server, Best Happy Hour, Best New Restaurant, Best Sushi, Best Tiki Bar, Best Waterfront Dining and Best Tennis on the Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $326 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sundial Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
76 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (76)

Questions? Get answers from Sundial Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean front and or ocean view are always my favorite.”
, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in building "O" on the second floor and we had a partial ocean view . I would request a room closer to the beach front.”
LieverK, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“get to the beach early to get good chairs for the day.”
O543XDjamess, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get an upper floor room - best views are either Beach or Coastal Views. Corner suites have wraparound porches.”
144ellenp, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All locations are fantastic. We loved "Sundial Beach Resort and Spa" This place is the closest you'll get to paradise.”
pily682000, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5