We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sanibel Inn

Sanibel InnUS$189*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$225*
US$189*
Great Deal
US$209*
US$209*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Sanibel Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sanibel Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,182: English reviews
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with my 3 kids (6,9,11) on a last minute add on to vacation. Booked because of offerings such as FREE kayak, paddle board, and bikes. It was perfect as we did not have a car so biked to nearly all meals!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank svalliegirl
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear svalllegirl, We're so glad you and your family had such a great visit to the Sanibel Inn and found the resort to be such a great value. It's great to see that that you were able to take advantage of all of our included recreation activities. We hope to see you again, and please let us know what we...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at the Sanibel Inn. Our room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfy. The beach attendants were kind and helpful, setting up our chairs and beach umbrella each day. We especially loved our bartender at the beach cafe, Trish. She was just awesome, so fun and friendly and she makes a mean cocktail!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Zonadl
Culver City, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only spent two nights here but at close to $400.00 it was terrible. From the urine like smell that seemed to come from the A/C unit in the living room, the dirt around and under the refrigerator, the shower head that tribbled, the bedroom A/C that was unusable because of the noise and the roaches that crawled across my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul O
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Paul O, I'm so sorry to hear that your stay was clearly not up to your - or my - expectations. Please be assured that your experience is not typical of what our guests experience when staying with us - I will address each of these situations immediately. I believe our staff assisted with what may have been a...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely Inn, clean room with fridge and sink. Perfect place on the beach. The inn was full, but never felt crowded. The beach lecture is free and interesting. The pool is small, but the beach is huge. It's family friendly but as a couple we still had our privacy. Very friendly staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JayneK77
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jayne, Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your impressions of your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and found plenty to do but also enjoyed your time together as a couple! Your very nice comments about our staff are appreciated and I will be sure to share them with our team members. Please...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Traveled to Sanibel Island with my family for the first time, and The Sanibel Inn was everything we had hoped for. Easy to get to (30 mins from the airport, just across the Sanibel Causeway), gorgeous location (crystal clear water, white sandy sea-shell filled beach), pristine grounds (clean, pretty pathways and butterfly garden - well attended to by the friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank t_ridg
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear t_ridg, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time so share such a wonderful review of your visit. We love knowing how much our guests love the Sanibel Inn and you've done a great job highlighting all the best of what we offer. Please know that we look forward to welcoming you back again soon, and...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were here for a week and for the most part life was good at Sanibel Inn. Beds are comfy, room is nice and quiet, landscaping beautiful, such easy access to the beautiful beach. The cons: Our A/c kept the room cool but not dry. Carpet felt damp, and when we came back to the room it smelled like mold/mildew....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Norma W
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Norma, Thank you so much for being our guest, and for sharing your impressions of your stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit overall. I also appreciate your sharing the aspects of your stay that indicate a few issues needing to be looked into. Please be assured that the conditions you reported in your room, as...

Vincennes, Indiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have chosen Sanibel Inn the last 7 years as our anniversary get away! We love the"old Florida" feel that it has. We stay in a second floor ocean front room. Couldn't have a better view of the gulf! The rooms have everything we need as we like to eat out and experience all the unique restaurants the island offers....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pulpdog
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Pulpdog, Thank you so much for sharing such a nice review of your stay. I'm so glad you enjoyed your many visits and I'm more than honored that we have become your destination for your annual wedding anniversary celebration! Your very nice comments regarding your room and our staff are very much appreciated and will be shared with our...

Saratoga Springs NY
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sanibel Inn has a terrific location, a beautiful beach, a lovely pool, and nice landscaping. But the room had an awful smell of mildew and mold that got worse when the air conditioners in the living room and the bedroom were turned on. The AC units seem in dire need of cleaning, disinfecting, or replacement. Tried opening the windows for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TRBM-1
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear TRBM-1, Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your impressions and observations. I'm sorry that you experienced an unpleasant issue with your room. Please know that we are working hard to ensure our guests are never placed in a room that is anything less than fresh-smelling and that our AC units are maintained to keep them that...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I paid over $400 per night for my suite and it was NOT worth it. First let me say that the grounds are very nice and the people who work there are very accommodating. However, it is clear that the inn is way understaffed. Housekeeping came around 5 PM most days and often did not give us enough towels and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marianne V
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marlanne, I'm so sorry to learn that you felt let down regarding a number of important aspects of our service during your recent visit to the Sanibel Inn and I hope we can discuss this more directly when you have an opportunity to see what we can do to make it up to you. Clearly, the housekeeping issues you...

Reviewed 18 April 2017

It is a nice place but it is WAY overpriced for what you really get. I paid more than $420 per night and It was a huge disappointment. The buildings are very old, the pool very very small, the tiki bar and restaurant are always crowded and service is very mediocre.... wouldn't go back... I wish I had spent my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcela P
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marcela, Thank you for sharing your impressions of your visit. We never want our guests feeling like they received anything but a great, memorable experience while staying with us and I'm sorry you were disappointed. So many of our guests truly love and have become very loyal to the resort as reflected in the vast majority of our reviews;...

1,004 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (510)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (180)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (465)
Viewed
1-Bedroom Suite (77)
Viewed
2-Bedroom Condo (135)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Pool (43)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Standard Room (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.7 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,185 reviews
1.1 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
661 reviews
1.0 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
678 reviews
6.6 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,668 reviews
6.4 km away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#14 of 19 in Sanibel Island
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $244 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanibel Inn staff and other travellers.
38 questions
Ask a question
Bolton, Connecticut
6 months ago
Louisville, Kentucky
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Saint Louis, Missouri
9 months ago

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from Sanibel Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose different hotel not worth the price!”
Q1102HHkathyb, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“Go for the gulf view - worth the money”
debl805, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have the best view!”
t_ridg, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Make sure AC, sewer, and restaurant repairs/renovations are completed before making a reservation at Sanibel Inn.”
TRBM-1, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't! Find one somewhere else!”
990mariannev, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Sanibel Inn
US$189* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$209
TravelocityUS$209
HotelsClickUS$225
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates