We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sanibel Island Beach Resort

TravelocityUS$154*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$159*
US$154*
US$159*
US$159*
US$154*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,104: English reviews
Start your review of Sanibel Island Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Never have I encountered such terrible customer service. The women at the front desk greeted us with what seemed like annoyance and did not smile even once. They gave the impression they just wanted us to get out of their faces. We asked for a receipt and they were so slow to give us one. I have never seen such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When we made the reservation, it was last minute and the price seemed right. Then after checking in we did some shopping for goods and had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant on site. We found the room very nice, clean and all accommodations in order. Definitely will stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah Dale M
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room was very clean, beach was great. Hotel does not provide beach umbrella, you have to bring your own, we had to buy a cheap one at the hotel ($20). It was really windy at the beach and the hotel offers to drill a hole in the sand for the umbrella. (this was great because otherwise it wouldn't have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ehkohler
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear ehkohler, So glad that rated our area as 'beautiful". Sanibel Island, being a sanctuary island, takes great pride in the natural beauty and miles of unspoiled beaches. We appreciate your flattering comments about our staff services, beach and cleanliness. We hope to see you again soon as Sanibel offers so much to discover. Warm regards, Sharon

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a Friday to Tuesday for quick get away form the regular stresses of daily life. We loved our time at Sanibel Island beach resort, awesome hammocks on the property, pool was nice with seating out of the sun! The only reason why I wouldn't give this resort 5 stars is because the beds were horrible. We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lindsay G
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, Lindsay, for staying with us for your 4 night getaway. We are pleased that you loved your time at our resort - minus the dissatisfaction with the bedding. If you wish to email me the room you were in I will make certain to look at the mattress and pillows. We certainly do not want anyone having an...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This motel is still a Holiday Inn! The rooms are very small and smell VERY strongly of mold and mildew. Everything in my suitcase had that horrible smell when I got home. Because of the high price and poor accommodations, I would NOT recommend this place. Sanibel Siesta is right next door. I have stayed there before: reasonable prices, excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bab25196
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear bab25196, I would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your experience with us. If you wish to reach out to me please do not hesitate to call me at 239-472-4123 or email Sharontombs@centurylink.net. I would be appreciative if you can let me know the room number you were in so that I can investigate any type of...

Oakhurst, NJ
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had four requirements when booking our weekend beach getaway: Beach, Bar, comfy Bed, and a nice pool. The Sanibel island beach resort delivered them all! The grounds are gorgeous and they are kept meticulously. Hammocks are dotted throughout the property under giant palm trees and provide the perfect spot for an afternoon nap. There's a great outdoor ping pong...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bradroxi
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bradroxi; We are thrilled to learn that we hit every one of your four requirements! Your feedback is heartwarming and will be shared with all members of our team. Your suggestion of the cornhole sets has been acted on and we are ordering some for the property. Hope to see you again soon. Sharon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a nice relaxing weekend there the beach was gorgeous the shelling was fantastic the room was nice and clean the hammocks were very nice and comfortable to relax the pool was clean the only problem is the tiki bar closes way too early it needs to be open on the weekends at least until 11-12 o'clock 7 p.m....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MARK S
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mark; Thank you so much for your four star rating and flattering comments about the beach, shelling, hammocks, pool and guest room. We appreciate your comment regarding the tiki bar. We do close around 7PM and some of this is because of the lights and turtle season. Our lounge inside the restaurant is open later however we do understand...

Skovde, Sweden
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for a couple of nights on our trip to Florida. If I have had more time I would definitely stayed longer. The room was clean, the WiFi worked perfect and with rather high speed and the staff were very serviceminded and friendly. The hotel is very close to the beach and offers chairs on the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hakbr
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear hakbr; Your time in reviewing our hotel is greatly appreciated. So glad that you found most of our amenities and staff to be to your liking. My sincere apologies with regard to your breakfast experience. I will make certain that the management team keeps a keen eye on the breakfast experience so that we can all improve any areas...

Georgetown, Maryland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We choose Sanibel Island Beach Resort because it was on the beach, and the pictures looked relaxing. Not once during our 4 day stay did we encounter noise from other rooms. We had an early arrival time (8:30 am) at RSW airport, which in return had us getting to Sanibel long before regular check in time. Jesus allowed us to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan H
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you for the five star rating and your kind compliments. I truly appreciate your mention of Jesus as well as our all around service you received during your 4 day stay. The staff feel rewarded when a guest takes the time to point out that they impacted their vacation. We are glad that both mornings you dined...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

An impromptu 2 nite stay at this resort was just what we needed. Hotel was clean and comfortable. We stayed on the 2nd floor facing the pool /ocrean. Rooms are nothing fancy but refrigerators and microwaves so that was a plus. Hotel is in transition from a Holiday Inn so there was limited food on the menu for dinner so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelGal1011_12
Sharon T, General Manager at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear TravelGal, So nice when there is opportunity for an impromptu getaway! We appreciate your taking the time to submit a review on our beachfront property. Our beachfront location and the ability to walk for miles in either direction are some of our most popular features and we are so glad that you were able to take advantage of them....

1,066 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (593)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (135)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (147)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (238)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (449)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Pool (76)
Viewed
Poolside Double Room (67)
Viewed
Poolside King Room (72)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.7 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,179 reviews
2.1 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
659 reviews
1.1 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
5.7 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,654 reviews
1.0 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A tranquil boutique hotel nestled amid swaying palms and sandy beaches Sanibel Island Beach Resort is a cherished gulf-front retreat for nature lovers - shell collectors and those who enjoy outdoor recreation mixed with great shopping and dining. Guests enjoy private beach access as well as an outdoor pool and sundeck bike rentals tennis courts hammocks and lounge chairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanibel Island Beach Resort

Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6729 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sanibel Island)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $234 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sanibel Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanibel Island Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Sanibel Island Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the west side were just fine.”
DeborahDale, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“The Resort is pretty small and all rooms would probably be okay!”
lindsayg608, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“I you can, go somewhere else for breakfast rather than using the restaurant at the hotel.”
hakbr, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for a room with a view because you are still 1000 feet away from the water.”
gms58, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a pool/ocean view. Otherwise you're looking at a parking lot.”
patriciabZ5456KS, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$154* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$159
Orbitz.comUS$154
Expedia.comUS$154
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates