We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,085: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I spent one night here for a work conference. The location and beach were perfect, the room not so much. The first thing I Noticed was the very musty smell when I entered the room. Furnishings were adequate, but worn. Bed was okay, pillows were decent. The bathroom area was not very clean. I found several hairs throughout the area.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pat D
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will share your comments with our housekeeping department and they will work on the necessary improvements for your room. We appreciate your stay. Tim H More 

Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived on 28th July this summer after Emma at Postcard Inn had recommended this. Victoria in the reception and Larry helping us with luggage and other things made this stay unforgettable for us. We got an exceptional room fronting the beach. We enjoyed the days in the room, on the balcony and on the beach. If you want exceptional... More 

Helpful?
Thank thomashojem
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Emma, Victoria and Larry will be delighted to read that they were able to make a positive difference with your stay. Thank you for your kind words. Tim H More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

By far the worst hotel ever stopped in. Doing a road trip around Florida and this was the worst hotel ever. That bad we went to check out after when the room next door decided to have a party on the evening. Not that they needed to make much noise as every word can be heard through the paper thin... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert E
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Please reach out to me personally so I can make this right. Tim H More 

Travellers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were 'upgraded' at no extra charge to a room with a view of the pool. At 1:50 a.m. we were awakened from a sound sleep by voices poolside. They weren't yelling, though they were talking loudly, but there was no noise buffer, so it sounded like they were right outside our door. In my opinion, the hotel is overpriced... More 

Helpful?
Thank Penny S
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Please reach out to me personally and I will make this right for you! Tim H More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing find. Just moved to Kissimmee in August and took a holiday weekend for our anniversary to Sarasota. We discovered this gem on the way on line. This resort was built in the 60's. it is very well maintained and the staff are so helpful, especially the front desk supervisor, Victoria. She provided us a room with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank GrahamPrix
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have a feeling we will be seeing you again soon as it is not a bad drive from Kissimmee. Please contact me personally and I will be happy to assist you with your next reservation. We are ready to serve and have a passion for Hospitality!! Tim H More 

Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is about the beach and it is unbeatable in that game. One of the few remaining gems like that. It has a huge private beach, many rooms have doors directly opening to the sand. Yes, being on the beach at sea level has consequences: humidity and sand in the rooms - I just can't possibly complain about that.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BeLaZe
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. As obvious you are a returning guest and we really appreciate that. We just began heating our Jr. Olympic pool and will maintain a warm temp for the winter. Thank you for returning and for your next trip, mention you have been here before and take advantage of... More 

Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Great location. Loved being able to walk out the back door onto the beach. Close to restaurants and shops. Also close to Publix if you want to make snacks or meals in your room. You have a small kitchen with oven and microwave. Nice heavy wooden table with 4 chairs. However, it's very dated. It's spotless but in need of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Panach6858
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

We take tremendous pride in the Sandcastle. Landscaping improvements have just been completed, and the grounds are continually monitored. I will have my staff inspect for rusty hinges and other items we can control. I am sorry that we did not catch that before you did. Thank you for your business and please consider a return in the future to... More 

Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

While it does need a bit of a refresh, The Sandcastle is a great place to stay (if not a little pricey). The rooms a clearly a little dated, but clean and accommodating. The pool is large and clean, and the hotel is mere steps from the Gulf (they have their own private beach). Lido beach is very nice.The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank James S
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay. We take customer service to a new level, and I am please to read that we met your expectations with our staff. We thank you for the opportunity to serve you and stand ready should you return in the future. Tim H. More 

Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This is a nice place. The staff is great, especially Ramon who helped us out with the some issues. Our first room had to be changed for lack of a/c. the second room's a/c was not much better. Ramon brought us a fan that helped. Ty comped a breakfast for us for the inconvenience. Our second day, there was some... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NoKiddingman
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have replaced the chiller for the building you stayed in. You will not have that problem going forward. I would also like to thank you for putting up with our balcony repair. Our team is ready to assist you with any need. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return. Tim H. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed here one night prior to checking into our timeshare unit. This is an older property, and although some areas have been renovated or room had some flaws.The most significant is that we could hear through the walls, easily. The gentleman in the room next door snored, and we could hear it quite clearly, as well as the low... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for recognizing our efforts to do what we could with a difficult situation. Red Tide is now gone and our beaches are ready to provide amazing sunsets this time of year! Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future. Tim H. More 

662 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (638)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (146)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (117)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (187)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.8 km away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 48 in Sarasota
856 reviews
7.2 km away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 48 in Sarasota
1,751 reviews
7.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
6.8 km away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Price Range: $261 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Sandcastle Resort At Lido Beach Sarasota, Florida
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles CharlesR510, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for an upper room with a ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles bryancrawford54, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor rooms could be better as ground floor rooms can be noisy from people above”
 of 5 bubbles RobinS17, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Definitely ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Panach6858, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The court yard view was perfect for when you came out of your room you could see the Gulf. Beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles nitensatin, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay