We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Thunderbird Beach Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Thunderbird Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,501 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,460: English reviews
carice914
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Used to go here as the SeaCastle, it shows closed but Thunderbird took it over. the remodel of the rooms is fantastic. Had a great time, staff was wonderful. Only issue is the toilet ran so we kept the bathroom door closed and the water in the kitchen went from hot to hot as all get out. But, the room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank carice914
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Feola's, and lots of customers at happy hour for the $2.75 cocktails. Some guy ordered a hamburger and it looked too big for him to eat, supposed to be half pound, looked bigger. The Tiki Bar was also popular with the happy hour drinks, with live entertainment. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Everything looked nicely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DotOrlando_Florida
Delaware
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed there from 9/10/16 to 9/16/16. Room was ready when we arrived. We had a king suite on 2nd floor. Room was clean,comfortable and cool. The kitchenette was perfect my for my husband and my myself. Kathy took care of our room everyday. The people at the hotel were very nice and helpful. I understand why people keep coming... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wrestlersmom
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that your first visit to the Thunderbird Beach Resort was enjoyable. Kathy is just one of our amazing staff members who make the guests feel like family. I hope you will plan another stay with us again soon. Susan More 

Brookhaven, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This is a really nice place to stay when in treasure island. It's location is great the rooms are nice but need updating especially the older annex. Nice staff nice pool and out side bar. The only thing that was somewhat a problem it's quite a walk to the beach water from the resort. I stayed at the island Inn... More 

Helpful?
Thank brucenewy0rk
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

I appreciate your kind words about your recent stay at the Thunderbird Beach Resort. We did do some updating to the Thunderbird side and a major remodel on the Suites side last year, but there is unfortunately nothing we can do about the distance from the hotel to the water. I hope you will stay with us again the next... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Is this the Ritz....no. But is it a convenient, clean hotel with a very accommodating staff? Definitely!! The pool was clean and the surroundings lush with green grass and flowers(and not the stinky ones that get your allergies going) The housekeeping team was so helpful and pleasant. So was the staff at their restaurant. The only negative was that about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte Leigh
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about your recent visit to the Thunderbird Beach Resort. We try very hard to make sure our guests enjoy the time they spend with us. We are very lucky to have a wonderful staff who make our guests feel like family. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Second time to treasure island. Quaint little island. Old Florida. Last time we stayed at the bilmar next door and believe me when I say we should have gone back there. Our room was pretty run down. Definitely needed an update. Felt dirty. Our door had such a space that the room stayed rather warm. Wall air conditioner couldn't keep... More 

Helpful?
Thank sherrybrooks
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit to Treasure Island. There is no excuse for the housekeeping problems that you had, that is not our usual standard by any means. After looking into the situation it was discovered that the housekeeper assigned to your section was new and not fully trained. I can... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Our family enjoyed a great visit here this summer. A true throwback hotel which has been upgraded and is kept very clean. Of course the beach is amazing and the hotel offers two swimming pools to help you cool down with the kids after a long relaxing day on the water. The rooms are very comfortable although we spent most... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us and TripAdvisor readers know about your recent visit to the Thunderbird. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere, amenities and location. We really do have it all right here for our guests' enjoyment. I hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Treasure... More 

Winchester, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

This is an older hotel but has been upgraded. You can't beat the price. Our room was nice and our beds were comfy. The staff are very friendly. They have an Italian restaurant and we ate there several times. We had breakfast 1 morning and it was very good. I had an omelet and my aunt order pancakes. They are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tammy P
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for letting TripAdvisor readers know about your visit to the Thunderbird. I couldn't have said it better myself, so I will let your words speak for themselves. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Treasure Island. Susan More 

Franklin, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This was our 5th time staying at the Thunderbird and it was just as enjoyable as our 1st. We usually stay in room with kitchenette and on the 1st floor just a few steps from the pool. Staff is very accommodating. Room was always clean and comfortable thanks to Amelia. All of the housekeeping staff are exceptional. Publix Grocery Store... More 

Helpful?
Thank middies66
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for saying such nice things about your visit to the Thunderbird. I am glad that you enjoyed Amelia and the way she took care of you and your room. We are lucky to have such an amazing staff. Don't forget to mention that you are a V.I.G. when you book for next year! Susan More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights after a long stint at Disney. We had a gulf front room on the first floor. All employees were very nice and accommodating. However, Upon first glance at our room, my husband didn't want to stay. The first smell was old and musty. The room was very old and it seems they tried to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jen D
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent visit to the Thunderbird, but I appreciate you letting other TripAdvisor readers know what you did like about the property and the area. Our summer has stayed as busy as if it was still Spring Break, which has delayed our usual preventive maintenance work until now when we have slowed down... More 

786 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (495)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (100)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (191)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (260)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Gulf Front Room (32)
Viewed
Gulf Front Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool 1 (11)
Viewed
Pool 2 (12)
Viewed
Poolside Effeciency Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Suite (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.5 km away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
474 reviews
0.7 km away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
390 reviews
1.2 km away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
105 reviews
0.3 km away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#4 of 48 in Treasure Island
718 reviews
0.6 km away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#8 of 48 in Treasure Island
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Feola's Italian Ristorante & Lounge
Feola's Italian Ristorante & Lounge
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Price Range: $173 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thunderbird Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Thunderbird Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early!”
 of 5 bubbles mom98wmu, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our personal favorite suite is the Gulf view”
 of 5 bubbles M3505NWdavida, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“First floor is best for me”
 of 5 bubbles 709rital, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The building with suite rooms have their own pool and courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles angelaf148, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the suite area”
 of 5 bubbles marksW8473DM, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay