We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 323: English reviews
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

2nd time here, really good sleep, nice room, clean and tidy. A special mention to the guys in reception when we arrived, asked if we needed a hand with our luggage, really nice thanks. A mention for the night shift guys, gave us more coffee sachet's and milk, told us what buses to get and other bits of info. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopher B
Karen K, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am so happy my team looked after you so well, its always nice to hear from our guests after they leave us and I know how much it will mean to my team as well. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Easy to find just off the A90 before Aberdeen. A great welcome , discreet about giving my room number in front of another guest checking in. Large, clean room. Bathroom clean, good hot powerful shower. Only minor complaint is the hairdryer. It was like a 90 year old woman with asthma blowing on my head. Other than that no complaints...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Verne A
Karen K, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it is always great to hear from our guests. Here at Premier Inn our guest security is very important to us and we pride ourselves in ensuring all our team take this very seriousely. I am sorry, our hairdryer was not powerful enough for you but I am glad...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times in the past 4 months whilst working in Aberdeen. Can't fault the rooms and the reception staff. On the other hand the restaurant is poor to say the least. My friend and I have the following complaint over the past 2 weeks. I have reserved a table for 6.30 pm all last week and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Karen K, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback and am very happy to hear my team in the hotel, looked after you for the two weeks you stayed with us. I am very sorry to hear about the bad experience you have recieved from the Brewers Fayre restaurant next door. I will be speaking the the restaurant...

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Stayed here twice in December, both in the main building and in the annex, the premier inn is lovely. Both rooms were really clean had everything we needed we had a very good sleep. However our whole experience was overshadowed by the brewer’s fayre next door. So much so that we had booked for 2 nights over new year and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarinersTours
Karen K, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review

Its always nice to hear from our guests and I am so sorry your stay with us was ruined by the restaurant next door. I am pleased to hear your rooms and service from my team was a pleasant one. However, it appears you did not have as good a service from our restaurant next door, I meet with the...

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Great service - comfortable clean room Easy to get to Asda right across from hotel Restaurant was busy but we were served quickly and the food was good. There was lots of parking available right in front of the hotel so not a far distance to walk.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
Karen K, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Its always lovely to hear from our guests and find out how there stay was with us. We want all of our guests to feel they are staying with friends and aim to always provide the best service possible. I am so pleased your stay with us was a...

Glasgow
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Really can't fault this place at all. Bedroom and bathroom were beautifully presented and immaculate. Really comfy bed and generally delighted with our stay. Room was valeted each day and fresh towels were provided too daily. No complaints at all.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KKIRKP
Karen K, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to hear your stay with us was a great one. We want all our guests to feel they are being looked after by family and anything they need is supplied without you having to ask for it. I know my team will be happy to hear...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed here recently as we were spending new year going to see the fireball parade at stonehaven. Our check in was so simple and staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was nice and clean and bed was extremely comfortable. The cost of our stay was very good value for money. Hotel easy to access from motorway. Would...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shamrock1703
Karen K, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am so pleased to hear, your stay with us was a pleasant one and I hope you enjoyed the fireballs in Stonehaven, they are an amazing spectacle. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Clackmannanshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

You will be let down as they scrimp on staff on public holidays. They need to fix long standing drain problems. However, lovely location, staff did their best that were there on the day. Let's hope they improve for nect New year.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret C
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Margaret, Thanks for your review. It's a shame that you were unimpressed with your recent visit to the Aberdeen South hotel over the New Year. We hope all guests can enjoy a high standard of service and I apologise that you were let down. Your comments will be passed onto the Hotel Management Team for their review and so...

Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Nicely located Premier Inn. Everything you would expect from a Premier Inn. Stayed at this one several times and always have an enjoyable stay. Nice restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
Karen K, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, its always lovely to hear from one of our regular guests. Its hard to stay away from home so much, and so we want all our guests, especially our regular guests to feel they are staying with friends, rather than a cold hotel room atmosphere. I am pleased to hear we have succeeded...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights over New Year. While the staff were hard working, the facilities were tired (bathroom fan too loud to have on, dripping tap) we could excuse that but the food was pretty well inedible - both evening meal and breakfast. We thought this might be a problem with this chain until we went to the same chain...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen B
Karen K, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We aim to provide all our guests with the highest standards possible and I am sorry to hear on this occassion, you did not recieve the high standards we aim for. Some of our older rooms are regularly being maintained, I am sorry the facilities let us down in...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlethen
5.0 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
5.8 km away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
12.2 km away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
5.9 km away
Macdonald Hotels
Macdonald Hotels
#15 of 64 in Aberdeen
637 reviews
12.6 km away
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Decisions, decisions. Do you spend time exploring the scenery of North East Scotland, or do you head straight into Aberdeen for all the shopping, leisure and business facilities it has to offer? Premier Inn Hotel Aberdeen South (Portlethen) puts you within easy reach of whatever you decide to do. See where the crown jewels were hidden from Cromwell with a visit to the ruined medieval fortress of Dunnottar Castle. Or visit a real gem for garden lovers, Duthie Park and the exotic plants of the Winter Gardens. And don't miss the precious stone of Aberdeen itself, with the shimmering silver of the granite buildings and landmarks. Mouth-watering food awaits you back at the hotel, courtesy of our Brewers Fayre restaurant, as well as extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: On A90, take 2nd exit for Portlethen from either direction and follow signposts for Badentoy Park. The hotel is on the right. Next to the Mains of Balquharn Brewers Fayre. Sat nav postcode: AB12 4YD Transport and local information: Portlethen & Stonehaven Golf Course Aberdeen Shopping Sunset Boulevard Beach Portlethen Train Station 2 miles Aberdeen Airport 12 miles Aberdeen Ferry 10 miles ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel

Address: Mains of Balquharn, Portlethen AB12 4QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Portlethen
Price Range: $79 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Aberdeen South Hotel Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for ground floor room for handiness for breakfast”
arabone, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are similar”
202alison23, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet at rear of reception block”
597sandyn, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floor in main building”
WilliamA10, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If travelling with heavy luggage consider requesting a ground floor room as there is no lift.”
dtc101, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5