We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Castle Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helen
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Castle Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Castle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We had a wonderful time Deb was amazing and treated us like family. The hotel is on the Second floor so 2 flights of stairs which wasn't a problem for us and when we got up the stairs we had to enter a code to get in so very safe and private. When we got to our room you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kayla B
CastleInnHelen, Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us here at The Castle Inn, I am very pleased to find that your stay has been a great one. We hope you will stay with us many more times. Thank you Deb More 

Elberton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2016

clean clean not only looked clean smelled clean. not cover up clean. location great. view of river sat long time just watching people in water. felt safe. was not noise one bed was pently of room and bath too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
CastleInnHelen, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We greatly appreciate each and every one of our guests and strive to be the best. Please come back and see us soon! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2016

the hotel was great, clean and convenient. But our experience at the Troll Tavern was horrible!!! The 4 of us ordered steak dinners of which 3 were undercooked and mine was so full of gristle I was having to spit out each bite. In trying not to ruin and delay everyone else's meal I just ate the salad and DRY... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula B
CastleInnHelen, Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We truly appreciate all of our guests and strive to be the best. About The Troll Tavern: Our inn is in the same building as The Troll Tavern but we have separate management. We are not affiliated with them. We are sorry about your experience there. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay..had a great time. Just beware if you have arthritis, there is no elevator...lost count how many times we went and down those stairs of 2 fights, but felt like 5 by Sunday evening.. we had a queen over the creek and we sat outside on balcony and watched everyone go down the river...room was clean, a... More 

Helpful?
Thank kenny0112
CastleInnHelen, Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us here at The Castle Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Deb More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay. Bed was very comfortable and the room nice. We could look out over the town from the balcony. Reminded my husband of New Orleans minus the beads. You don't need to drive once you are there you can walk to anything you could want.

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
CastleInnHelen, Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit to The Castle Inn. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again in the future. Thanks Deb More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The room had 4 air fresheners in it. We had to unplug them and sit them outside and let the room air out by leaving the sliding door open. It showed up as a B&B but it is a hotel. Room was clean and in a great location.

Helpful?
Thank 1928Minnie
CastleInnHelen, Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit to The Castle Inn, we do hope that you will come and stay with us again. It is our goal here at The Castle Inn to try to make our guest happy with their stay. Thanks Deb More 

Orlando
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2016

You cannot ask for a better location for your stay. The hotel is right in town and within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. Our room was very clean and comfortable and we had a view of the river from our balcony. The staff were friendly and very helpful and even went as far as to mail us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
CastleInnHelen, Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here at The Castle Inn. We are very pleased to have had you as a guest and hope to see you again. Thanks Deb More 

Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2016

My husband and I stayed in one of the riverview rooms for a birthday getaway and really enjoyed the location. It's in the middle of town, above the Troll Tavern and a couple other shops, and our room had a balcony looking out over the water. We felt like we picked just the right time to come - middle of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TavePB
CastleInnHelen, Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at The Castle Inn. I am pleased that your stay was a good one. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks Deb More 

USA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2016

This hotel represents one of the absolutes in traveling - location dictates many, if not most, things. This hotel is like the Times Square in New York City on New Years Eve - it's in the heart of the action! We stayed on a Sunday night, so we had the discount rate. Obviously, this same hotel on a Friday or... More 

Helpful?
Thank TrentFL
CastleInnHelen, Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here at The Castle Inn, we are sorry that you where not pleased with your stay. Our goal here at The Castle Inn is for every guest to enjoy their stay and to be well taken care of. We do have the best location and try our best to have clean and maintained rooms. I am... More 

Hobe Sound, FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2016

This hotel is very outdated and our room and stairways had a bad odor, they finally spayed our room with something. The carpets were dirty, and one of the pillows was losing it's stuffing. We tried to enjoy the balcony we had overlooking the parking lot and view of the river,but no ceiling fan so it was hot and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MikeBHobeSound_FL
CastleInnHelen, Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us here at The Castle Inn. We are so sorry that you didn't find your stay enjoyable. If we had known during your stay you where unhappy we would have done anything possible to make your stay the best it could be. Our staff has been made aware of the problems you had and have... More 

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.4 km away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 20 in Helen
313 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 20 in Helen
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen
0.6 km away
Red Roof Inn Helen
Red Roof Inn Helen
#9 of 20 in Helen
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bavarian style building with magnificent views! This Hotel is located in the heart of Alpine Helen on the banks of the Chattahoochee River with fantastic views of the mountains. Enjoy the comfort of our rooms after a full day of; trout fishing on the Chattahoochee River, the action packed family fun of Helen's Main Street attractions, or endless hours of browsing and shopping the most unique shops in the Georgia Mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 8580 Main St, PO box 209, Helen, GA 30545
Region: United States > Georgia > Helen
Price Range: $127 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Helen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
7 months ago
Birmingham, Alabama

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the front.”
 of 5 bubbles LoriiN, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing Main Street so you can sit on balcony and enjoy festivities”
 of 5 bubbles 631stevee, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You want a room with Main Street balcony”
 of 5 bubbles kmoore1957, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“over looking river.”
 of 5 bubbles 749bobw749, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view room”
 of 5 bubbles 1928Minnie, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5