We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dunes Inn & Suites

Booking.comUS$101*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Dunes Inn & Suites
Dunes Inn & Suites
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

523 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 518: English reviews
Start your review of Dunes Inn & Suites
 Click to rate
Independence, Ohio
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Took our family to Tybee Island for our family vacation. It was our first time visiting Tybee and we stayed at The Dunes Inn as a recommendation of friends and wow we were not disappointed. We booked a first floor kitchenette suite which included a microwave, stove, and refrigerator. It was all we needed to get through a week with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasryb16
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I'm delighted we had the chance to host you and your family for y'all's first visit to Tybee. What's more, I'm happy to know your friends recommend you to us, and that your family found your accommodations exceptional. The team's going to be delighted after I pass your kind words along regarding their friendly and attentive demeanor, too. Hopefully, whenever...

Dublin, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I originally booked at Sky Suites, but changed my mind when I arrived. I was concerned that I wouldn't be able to find another room on Tybee Island. A friend told me to try The Dunes, so I decided to try it. The guy who checked me in on night shift and the lady who checked me out the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucyAshley1
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Lucy, glad your friend was able to recommend us to you! It's also nice knowing you found the staff so cordial and helpful. Anytime you're visiting Tybee again, we'd love to host you. Till then, please take care! -Sanjay Patel, General Manager

LaFayette, Ga. 30728
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the worst place EVER...we are leaving early tomorrow morning and if this night hadn't already been paid for I would have left this morning...this is supposed to be no smoking but there is a cigarette burn in the bedspread...we had no cleaning service today so my husband went to the office for towels but we didn't get washcloths...the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SheilaW09
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Sheila, sorry you felt this way about your accommodations, especially since it seems like whoever was manning the desk made an attempt to help rectify your concerns. While there might've been a mix-up with your room, I'm sorry that you felt like we didn't do enough to help you address your concerns. We adhere to all health and safety standards...

Ringgold, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only saw 2 employees in 2 days... Both desk managers... No cleaning staff which probably explains the reason our room (in the Annex) never got cleaned... Had to go to front desk for replacement linens and was asked to bring the dirty linens back - not my job... I have stayed in many motels and hotels in my (almost) 63...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdecomp
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I can assure you that we have cleaning staff handy. However, I'm sorry you felt this way about your last visit here, especially since it sounds like you weren't content with the condition your room was in. We adhere to all health and safety standards here, but had we known you weren't completely satisfied with your accommodations, we would've been...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The worst, nastiest motel I have ever seen...my daughter and I were both bitten by bed bugs...we are an itchy mess and have had to buy special products to prevent them spreading into our house! When we started to go to bed, I pulled back the comforter and the bottom sheet was covered in disgusting hair (and pubic hairs)! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamBookReader
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

As you can imagine, it's really disappointing to read about your experience. We do our best to ensure each room is sparkling clean before another guest checks in, but it seems we let you down here. I'll keep this in mind, and I hope we'll have another chance to fully impress someday. All the best, Sanjay Patel, General Manager

Talladega, Alabama, United States
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We stayed one night and that was enough. The cost was high (over 200$) The noise from the children jumping up and down at 12:30 to 2:30am came through loud and clear through the paper thin walls and ceiling. We called the front desk twice and they offered no help. PS. You should bring your own towels and wash rags,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Leslie, sorry you felt this way about your recent stay here. Would you mind getting touch with me at (912) 786-4591, as I'd like to hear more about your recent interactions with the staff when you called for assistance. Sincerely, Sanjay Patel, General Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Great location, but that is all I would give it. It was one of the dirtiest places we have ever stayed. Very old dirty, rusted rooms. I realized it was a beach motel, but we didn't realize how bad and old it was. Tybee Island was great, just watch what is advertised.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt this way about your accommodations! Had we known you felt they didn't meet your standards, we would've done all we could to move you into a room that was more to your liking. I want to assure you that we follow all health and safety standards here, and that we're constantly renovating to address any concerns...

Rice VA
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We were traveling through from FL and decided to spend the night at Tybee and have a meal at Sundae's. We usually stay for a week at a rental cottage when visiting Tybee and this was our first hotel stay. It was a pretty bare bones kind of place. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom could have been cleaner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank love2RiceVA
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words regarding our accommodations! Hopefully, the next time you're in Tybee, you'll stay a couple nights with us again. Till then, please take care! Sincerely, Sanjay Patel, General Manager

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a weekend getaway to Tybee Island and he reserved a room for us at Dunes Inn & Suites because of the location and great rates. The old saying "you get what you pay for" definitely applies in this instance. The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is that it is in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emily C
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Emily, I'm sorry you didn't feel our accommodations met your standards. We've been under constant renovation here, and I want to assure you that we adhere to all health and safety standards for all our rooms. However, if you'd brought up your concerns to us in person, we could've addressed your qualms then and there, or at the very least,...

Rome, Georgia
Reviewed 12 February 2017

I've stayed here the last 3 years in a row. The staff here is great Joy is always there for you during the day and the guys on the night crew are great too. I had trouble getting my free wifi connection going and they were super helpful with that. The room is not fancy but was clean & comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff C
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Jeff, it's been a pleasure hosting you these past three years! Thank you so much for the kind words regarding Joy and the night crew's help, as well -- they're going to be delighted after I pass along your praise. I'm glad you're such a fan of our amenities, and I truly hope we'll catch you around in the near...

369 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (302)
Viewed
Beach (68)
Viewed
Mini Suite (59)
Viewed
Pool (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.8 km away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,094 reviews
0.3 km away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
298 reviews
0.1 km away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 km away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
647 reviews
0.4 km away
Atlantis Inn
Atlantis Inn
#6 of 8 in Tybee Island
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With pleasant relaxation being our specialty at Dunes Inn & Suites, we are a family owned business dedicated to providing our guests with the most comfortable accommodations possible at an affordable price. The only pet friendly hotel on Tybee Island, here you can enjoy luxurious, spacious rooms with a variety of features to accommodate your needs and budget.We feature a total of 54 luxurious rooms including poolside kitchenette rooms, nice big 2 bedroom apartments, annex rooms, and more.We are located on beautiful Tybee Island, Georgia approximately 100 yards from the beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dunes Inn & Suites

Address: 1409 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Price Range: $118 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dunes Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn And Suites
Dunes Hotel Tybee Island
Dunes Motel Tybee Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dunes Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Macon, Georgia
over a year ago
Pennsylvania
Shelby, North Carolina
2 months ago
7 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Dunes Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room near the courtyard was very quiet.”
LucyAshley1, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Just don't stay here”
  • This was supposed to be a non smoking room....but this is a burn in the bedspread.
SheilaW09, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If they say they are putting you in the annex... Say no thank you or pick up ear plugs for your stay.”
LeslieW257, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We asked for a non-smoking king and were given a room right on the front by the parking lot. Fine for March - probably not for high season.”
love2RiceVA, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 136 and the one above it! I would probably be safe to say avoid the annex building.”
543miriams, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$101* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$101
Orbitz.comUS$112
Expedia.comUS$112
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates