We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dunes Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Dunes Inn & Suites
Dunes Inn & Suites
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dunes Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 503: English reviews
Wilmore, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Friendly and very customer oriented. GREAT place to stay. Stayed 4 nights and very pleased with everything... JOY was Super nice and attended to all our needs. Location is very convenient and walking distance to shopping and super places to eat. Only across street from beach. This was our first visits and WE will definitely will be back.

Helpful?
Thank clark2016
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Nothing makes me happier than to hear that everything from the service you received to our great location was exactly what you were hoping for. We aren't happy unless our guests are and it sounds like Joy and the rest of the staff really made your stay an excellent one. We can't wait to see you back again! Warm regards,... More 

Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

It's not on the beach. It has no in room coffee. The lobby coffee is awful. Way to expensive off season for what you get. Plain room. Shower heads should be replaced. Small rooms. I wouldn't want to see Tybee island in the summer. Total tourist trap. They tell you 3 bux for a cab ride. It's 3 bux a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David H
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

David, I'm sorry to hear your stay with us didn't blow your expectations out of the water. We want to provide each of our guests with a comfortable and relaxing environment so they can get out and enjoy all Tybee has to offer, and it sounds like we weren't quite what you were looking for. You're only as good as... More 

1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

This is an Awesome place!! Run by Great People Especially Joy!! She is Awesome!! Location is Great!! Our second time here!! Already planning our next trip back!!!! Thank you for the Hospitality!!!!! We hate to leave and can't wait to come back!!! See you soon!!

Helpful?
Thank Doc L
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I'm over the moon with your kind review, Doc! Nothing makes us happier than to hear that the hospitality you experienced made your vacation an even more pleasant one. I'll surely pass along your kind words to Joy -- it will make her day! We're looking forward to your next trip in -- Happy Anniversary! Best, Sanjay, General Manager More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Hotel staff very friendly, hotel room (one king) a little small for my taste but serviceable for a two-night stay. If I were staying longer than 2 nights I would like a larger room. It is not on the beach but across the street. Easy walk to all the main restaurants and bars...and to the beach. For the money, a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sibley P
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

There's always something to do in Tybee, and we're glad that your stay with us put you in the middle fo the action, Sibley! I'm happy that you felt comfortable and taken care of by the staff during your stay. Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. Looking forward to your next visit, Sanjay Patel,... More 

Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed at the Dunes Inn and Suites over New Years. Like most of the hotels in Tybee Island, the doors for the rooms are on the outside but I always felt very safe. The rooms were clean and quite (well, it was New Year’s Eve). What really makes this hotel great is the staff. Joy and the other staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul N
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Your review had us smiling, Paul. I'm sure Joy and the rest of the team will be doing the same! Your safety and relaxation are of the utmost importance to us, so I'm glad to hear that was your experience. Looking forward to your next stay with us. Until next time, Sanjay, General Manager More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Location was great for all of the New Year celebration. You get what you pay for. Clean and comfortable, right on the main drag. Free parking. Joy at the front desk was awesome. She gave us great recommendations of where to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Mfug
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks for ringing in the new year with us! Our goal is for you to feel at home so you can get out and enjoy the island. It sounds like we did our job. I'm glad your stay with us was easy and comfortable -- I'll be sure to pass along to Joy that you appreciated her recommendations! Take care,... More 

Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2015

If you're looking for a vacation hotel and don't want to pay a premium to stay on Tybee, this place offers a really nice deal. The rooms are clean and come with air conditioning, and the hotel is right next to 16th Avenue. Joy did an exceptional job helping us check in and out, and overall, we had a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Vacation should be about relaxation, and I'm glad to hear we did our part to make that your experience while on Tybee. Quality service and accommodations at a fair price are key to success, so thanks for letting us know we're on track -- I'll be sure to pass along your kind words to Joy! Looking forward to your next... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2015

We were on a Girl Scout trip and since we were going to the Tybee Island Lighthouse the day after historic Savannah, we decided to spend the night on Tybee Island. The drive from historic Savannah to Tybee Island was short and easy. It was late, so it was very dark when we arrived. We had no real concept of... More 

Helpful?
Thank rvstauff
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear you had such a lovely stay with us! We certainly have an ideal location for just about anything you want to do on Tybee -- glad you appreciate that. Things definitely slow down during the off-season, but there is plenty to keep us busy. Having said that, thank you for this wonderful review and I hope... More 

Commerce, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

Joy was very sweet and helpful...enjoyed our room...thanks! The weather was perfect low 70's...not too crowded. Never been on Thanksgiving..was happy to find Dunes Inn and Suites open! This was my first stay here because for 15 years I have stayed elsewhere...they were closed Thanksgiving Day.

Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Valerie, I'm so glad you were able to join us over the Thanksgiving holiday! Joy is such a wonderful member of our team and I'm happy to hear she could make your stay that much better. Thank you for taking the time to leave this excellent review and I hope we'll be seeing you again the next time you make... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Great Place to visit, room was clean and well maintained. Super friendly staff. We will be staying here again soon. :) Super friendly staff that made sure we were always happy. House keeping brought extra towels. We will be staying here as a family again soon. Would highly suggest this motel.

Helpful?
Thank halo2riddick
Sanjay P, Owner at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thrilled you could pay us a visit! We're always more than happy to make any special accommodations and I'm happy to hear the team could deliver for you in the regard. Having said that, thank you so much for this fantastic review and we look forward seeing you again the next time you make it to Tybee! Best, Sanjay Patel,... More 

365 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (302)
Viewed
Beach (68)
Viewed
Mini Suite (59)
Viewed
Pool (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.8 km away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 9 in Tybee Island
994 reviews
0.1 km away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 9 in Tybee Island
65 reviews
0.2 km away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#8 of 9 in Tybee Island
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 km away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 9 in Tybee Island
577 reviews
0.3 km away
Atlantis Inn
Atlantis Inn
#6 of 8 in Tybee Island
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With pleasant relaxation being our specialty at Dunes Inn & Suites, we are a family owned business dedicated to providing our guests with the most comfortable accommodations possible at an affordable price. The only pet friendly hotel on Tybee Island, here you can enjoy luxurious, spacious rooms with a variety of features to accommodate your needs and budget.We feature a total of 54 luxurious rooms including poolside kitchenette rooms, nice big 2 bedroom apartments, annex rooms, and more.We are located on beautiful Tybee Island, Georgia approximately 100 yards from the beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dunes Inn & Suites

Address: 1409 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Price Range: $93 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Dunes Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn And Suites
Dunes Hotel Tybee Island
Dunes Motel Tybee Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dunes Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Macon, Georgia
over a year ago
2 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Dunes Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room with a balcony. Rooms on 2nd floor provide private balconies. Keep in mind that this hotel has no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles commercialdoorsoluti, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't ever book a room there.”
 of 5 bubbles marianl131, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get an upstairs room, as they have balconies”
 of 5 bubbles Tatortott, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are suites available and would recommend those if you needed to have more room.”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms better!”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay