We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Historic Banning Mills

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Historic Banning Mills
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Historic Banning Mills
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Douglasville, United States
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

My 9 yr old Grandson and I did the zip line yestrerday. I am 56 years old and have to tell you this was one of the most fun things I have ever done. The crew is just incredible. We are for sure going back soon. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reid U
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Had an excellent time. The tree house was awesome. The zipline was absolutely off the chain... Thanks to the office staff and our zipline guides Alex, Joey and Carson.. they were awesome and not to mention kept us laughing all the way... You guys were great!!! We will be back with our crew the next visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chiquita S
Donna H, Manager at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this review

Glad you guys got a chance to check out the very cool tree houses. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you guys again very soon! Thanks for taking time to write about your stay with us!

Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Had some family that came into town for a visit. I've been wanting to check out banning mills for a while and we all decided to do it. We did the zip lining for beginners and our group was really fun. Plus the instructors made it easy and safe. We stayed overnight in the treehouse which was very nice. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank X7677CPjulied
Donna H, Manager at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this review

So glad you guys came and checked us out! We appreciate you taking time to write about the stay and yes, the Tree Houses are a fun and different experience!

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I booked a cottage at Banning Mill during a weekend visiting relatives in the area. The property is on a creek and was the previous location of several mills, hence the name. There are remnants of the old mills and associated buildings on the grounds. The cabins are very basic but clean and pretty comfortable. Don't go there for 400...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneyC56
Donna H, Manager at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this review

Thanks for "getting away" with us! So glad you had a great stay and wow, what some beautiful weather you had for the zipline canopy tours. Hope to see you back soon for the higher level tours. Way worth it. Don't forget the Flight of the Falcon and the Free Fall!

Columbus, Georgia
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

The treehouse and jacuzzi was romantic and relaxing. We enjoyed a 1 hour horseback ride and level 1 zip line. Cassie ,at the front desk, is very friendly and informative. Josh, the night manager, is friendly, welcoming and goes out of his way to make your time there special. Definitely one of Georgia's best kept secrets. We are wanting to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtante
Donna H, Manager at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this review

Happy Birthday. We appreciate your review and hope to see you around Christmas time. Maybe check out level 2 and 3!

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

It's very hard to take time off from our intensely hectic schedules, but my husband and I stayed in cabin 19 from Friday through Sunday and checked out Monday morning. We were celebrating our second wedding anniversary. I absolutely fell in love with this place and the atmosphere. The check in process was very easy. Our cabin was just as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rikki G
Donna H, Manager at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this review

Rikki Thank you for writing about your experience at our facility. We are honored that you would come to visit and try us out. So glad you had a great time and hope that you will come back again soon. Maybe try out the Free Fall? Scary Fun

Moyock, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Initially had planned to vacation on the East Coast and then Hurricane Matthew made us cancel those plans. This was the best Plan B vacation we ever took! We stayed in one of the small cabins that overlooked the woods. The view was amazing and I loved hearing the zip liners go by laughing and cheering. The website make sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dschassie
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I recently went for the all day rush and it was "cool cool cool guys". ;) Our guides Wade and Nick made us feel comfortable as first timers and were fun to be around. We didnt want to miss doing anything, so we went all out and totally dont regret our decision. Would definitely recommend to someone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erika T
Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I booked this weekend getaway as my restaurant Manager husband happened to be off for 4 days in a row which is a rare occurrence. We opted out of the zip line courses as we did the Lake Lanier zips a few months ago. We really wanted to test out the new fishing gear at the catch and release Lake....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caligirlAtlanta_GA
Donna H, Manager at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this review

So glad you guys came out to visit with us. We actually do have some big fish but sometimes they can be elusive. Hope you will come back and try our unique, Guinness world record holder zipline course. Lots of fun!

Marietta, Georgia
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Our experience at Banning Mills was average, at best. The cabin we stayed smelled moldy. It didn't affect me as much as my wife and daughter. I should have complained after the first night, but I figured it wasn't worth the effort of moving our family of 5 to another cabin. Also, the other cabins (all empty) didn't look much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 932greg
Donna H, Owner at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this review

We are very sad that the stay was not what was expected. I would like to make a few points: *The family stayed two nights and three days and checked out after 12 on the third day. They never once complained about the cabin being old or musty smelling. *We did not find out about any complaints until AFTER they...

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitesburg
12.6 km away
Fairfield Plantation
Fairfield Plantation
#1 of 6 in Villa Rica
74 reviews
14.4 km away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 9 in Carrollton
313 reviews
13.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Carrollton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 km away
Wyndham Peachtree City Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the middle of 1200 wooded, preserved acres in the beautiful Snake Creek Gorge, this Country Inn and Retreat Center is known for the world's largest,longest continuous zip line canopy tours, adventure and team building treks, Day Spa, history museum and on site chef. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Historic Banning Mills

Address: 205 Horseshoe Dam Rd, Banning Mills, Whitesburg, GA 30185-2560
Region: United States > Georgia > Whitesburg
Price Range: $139 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Historic Banning Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Banning Mills Hotel Whitesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Historic Banning Mills staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Historic Banning Mills staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call to ask. They make great recommendations based on your preferences.”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if you don't mind walking choose a tree house.”
 of 5 bubbles triciao235, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tree house on end has a crows nest, & more privacy on balcony or Choose a River front lodge, for a bargain, they have Jacuzzi rooms too.”
 of 5 bubbles Angelic2u, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for the treehouse!!”
 of 5 bubbles AmyB358, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Many options to choose from. Next time I will stay in a tree house.”
 of 5 bubbles DeeDeeS_12, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5